Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Black and Decker 4 Slice Convection Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1150W

The Black+Decker TO1760SS is a simple and small-sized countertop toaster oven. Despite being inexpensive, it has a sturdy build made from stainless steel. It’s suitable for consumers looking for a unit to save space on the kitchen counter, serve its function, and not use a lot of energy.

Of course, it has the common limits of a small toaster oven. For example, the lack of design and usability features as well as a low power output. While a power output of 1150 W combined with quartz heating element minimizes energy consumption, it may affect foods that require a constant high temperature.

Things We Like

  • Lightweight and small size
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Simple control knobs
  • Stay-on feature
  • Quartz heating elements have safeguards
  • Energy-saving

Things We Don’t Like

  • No convection fan
  • No internal lighting
  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Updated Nov 1, 2022:

    Review published.

The polished stainless steel Black+Decker TO1760SS 4-Slice Natural Convection Countertop Toaster Oven is a lightweight and small-sized unit at an inexpensive price of 49.99$. In addition to being easy to use and clean, it saves energy thanks to its two quartz heating elements and low power output. Its performance varies depending on the foods but it is to be expected of small toaster ovens.

Through this in-depth analysis, we want to offer a fair assessment and useful information for selecting your new toaster oven. We'll provide some advice along the way on what you should and shouldn't do to get the most out of this oven.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Convection Countertop Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

The Black+Decker TO1760SS performed to various degrees throughout our four tests. It was at its best toasting bread despite a minor inconvenience from the timer. With baking pizza, french fries, and roasting a whole chicken, however, the oven’s low power output affected the results by quite a lot.

7.1

At the beginning of our Toast test, we turned the toast knob to the Medium Toast icon/setting—around 4 minutes 10 seconds on the timer— which resulted in four slightly burnt pieces of bread. We then chose the setting between Medium and Light which was around 3 minutes 25 seconds on the timer but that wasn’t enough time to get an even surface color.

Finally, we figured that around 4 minutes on the timer would yield the best possible option with a total score of 7.1/10. Due to the analog control knob, it was quite tricky to correct chose 4 minutes so we had to use an external timer.

On this setting, the Black+Decker produced four pieces of toast with a brown color on top. However, the bottom was slightly charred in some areas and lacked color in others so we gave the toast a 6.5/10 for even surface color.

Fortunately, the toast was crispy on the outside while still soft and moist on the inside, deserving a 7.5/10 for taste. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would go great with omelets and eggs benedict but not so much soup or sandwiches.

For some reason, despite the similar toasting time, the second batch came out with a more uneven surface color than the first. The toast had a slightly darker color and crispier texture more suitable for soup and scored a 6.8/10 for consecutive usability.

5.6

The low power output of the Black+Decker held it back in our Pizza test where a high temperature of 450°F was required and it scored a 5.6/10. The oven took 13 minutes to bake a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza which was longer than our time limit of 10 minutes resulting in a 0/10.

Fortunately, the other aspects were quite solid even though the oven’s internal temperature couldn’t maintain at as high as 450°F. The crust had a nice golden color but was a bit soft, so it got a 7/10.

The toppings had quite even caramelization throughout and the cheese was slightly melted, enough to score another 7/10. Taking the crust and toppings into account, after tasting, our chef gave the pizza one last 7/10.

6.1

During our Whole Roasted Chicken test, our 3 lb chicken touched the upper heating element’s guard. This made the middle area of the chicken heavily seared and made a mess inside the cooking chamber. If you were to roast a chicken with this oven, we recommend cutting open the chicken or chopping it into pieces beforehand.

Looking at the score of 6.1/10, we speculated that the oven’s lower output also hindered the performance of this test even though the required temperature was only 350°F. The Black+Decker took 1 hour 20 minutes to roast the chicken compared to the standard one hour, so it got a 6/10.

The skin basically had no color, except for the areas near the upper heating element, and was still very soft, so we could only give it a 5/10. With that said, increasing the cooking time further would reduce the score in said department and risk overcooking the chicken.

The only upside to the long cooking time and low oven temperature was the doneness of the chicken. The meat had no pink spots and the chicken’s internal temperature was 185°F-187°F which was very close to the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F.

This partially helped maintain the juiciness of the meat but the unappetizing skin gave our chef no choice but to give the chicken a 5/10 for taste.

3.2

Through our Baked French Fries test, the Black+Decker’s weakness in maintaining a high temperature was made all the more apparent, scoring a 3.2/10.

To start things off, it took 30 minutes to bake 12 oz of frozen fries which was way longer than our limit of 25 minutes and scored a 0/10. Even with that amount of time, the fries basically had no color on them so we could only give it a 4/10.

The same can be said for the texture of the fries which had no crispiness, earning it another 4/10. Overall, the fries were more similar to being boiled than oven-baked so our chef could only give it one last 4/10 for the taste.

With a standard design for a small toaster oven, the Black+Decker TO1760SS has all the basic features without any noticeable strengths and weaknesses. The quartz heating elements may win your favor if you’re into energy efficiency though.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven In the Box
  • Model: TO1760SS
  • Warranty: 2 years (US and Canada only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Removable Crumb Tray

The Black+Decker toaster oven is simply positioned with two foam pads inside the packaging. To the same degree, its two pieces of accessories are wrapped in a carton sheet and duct-taped to the oven. Inside the box is also a simple user manual.

4.0

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Exterior

The Black+Decker has a basic stainless steel casing and a back buffer to prevent the oven from being too close to the wall. Our measurements of 15.55" x 11.61" x 8.86" showed slight differences in the length and height of the oven compared to the manufacturer’s 16.9" x 11.63" x 9.07" but that wasn’t an issue. The cool-touch door handle is large which provides a good grip.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Control Panel

The Black+Decker has 3 control dials for temperature, functions, and timer. The oven will start running when you turn the timer dial and the indicator light glows red.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Cooking Functions
  • Toast
  • Bake
  • Broil
  • Warm

If you know your way around the kitchen, the bake and broil functions will be all you need. The temperature knob has a Min setting which can act as Keep Warm and maintain the oven at around 100°F.

1.0

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Interior

Capacity: 10.28 liters - 4 slices of toast - 9-inch pizza

The Black+Decker has a standard capacity for a small oven—10 liters, 4 slices of toast, a 9-inch pizza, and barely enough for a 3 lb chicken. However, it only has one tray level while most other same-sized units have at least two. Moreover, it doesn’t have an interior light or a convection system, two common weaknesses of small toaster ovens.

The oven has two quartz heating elements which may not distribute heat as evenly as four or more. Nonetheless, they are easier to clean and more energy-efficient than the more common nichrome variety. However, if grease splashes onto the heating elements while cooking, it’ll leave permanent stains.

They use infrared light to cook which makes the process faster. Also, they cool down faster but are not as durable.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Power Cord

The power cord has a good length for household use—roughly 25.59". However, the oven doesn’t have any storage space for it.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Rack

The baking rack fits perfectly with the guide, which helps prevent accidents when placing your food in the oven.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Pan

The baking pan rests on the supports of the baking rack which saves a bit of space in the cooking chamber. However, that means the pan will have less length than the rack in this case.

The pan does the job of catching any meat juice and drippings which helps prevent any mess and the risk of fire from dirty heating elements. However, it doesn’t have a good coating and thus sustained some stubborn stains after our Whole Roasted Chicken test.

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray

Crumbs can be quite a hassle to clean up but the removable crumb tray makes it easier to remove them from the oven’s floor. Nonetheless, be careful as some may still fall to the bottom of the oven as you take out the tray.

7.0

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Build Quality

The Black+Decker has a sturdy build and is made using durable stainless steel. The dials turn smoothly and are polished for aesthetics and easy cleaning.

The oven is equipped with a tamper-resistant screw to prevent removal of the outer cover and contains no user-serviceable parts. This means you need to refer service to qualified service personnel if an issue comes up and not attempt self-repair.

Usability

How We Rated

Due to its small size, the Black+Decker has some clear limitations when it comes to features of usability. For example, it has no non-stick coating to help with cleaning and the control panel has a lot of room for errors. In addition, its advertised advanced technologies are more misses than hits.

6.0

There are a few things to keep in mind when it comes to the Black+Decker’s three simple control knobs. For the timer knob, when setting it to less than 10 minutes, always rotate past 10 minutes and then rotate back to the desired time.

It’s also tricky to precisely adjust time and temperature. Normally, you can use an oven thermometer and an external timer to get around this. However, the temperature knob of this unit if off by around 50°F looking at its pointer. Evidently, when we set the temperature to 450°F for our pizza test, the oven only heated up to around 405°F.

5.0

The manufacturer claims the Black+Decker has the EvenToast Technology™ toasting bread 30% more even, and we didn’t notice an increase in evenness in our Toast test. Their Natural Convection technology certainly didn’t change the fact that this unit doesn’t have a convection fan and its advantages.

With three control knobs, it’s very simple to readjust cooking settings. The cooking cycle finishes when the timer reaches O (off). When this happens, the oven will ding once and shut off.

As it has no digital display, you can freely leave this oven plugged in without worrying about power consumption.

It’s easy to keep the door partially open to let food cool down but be careful as the door can slide all the way down on rare occasions when the oven is tilted. Opening the door doesn’t stop the oven, unlike some others.

6.0

Black and Decker 4 Slice Toaster Oven Cleanability

While the interior of the Black+Decker didn’t have a non-stick coating, it was easy to clean due to not having any tricky nooks and crannies. The removable crumb tray made it easy to clean up the crumbs, though we still had to tilt the oven to get the last of them.

During our Whole Roasted Chicken test, the chicken touched the upper heating element’s guard and left some permanent discoloration there after we cleaned up the burnt bits. There were also some permanent stains on the cooking chamber’s ceiling.

Luckily, the heating element itself wasn’t affected. The baking pan also accumulated some stubborn stains but we were able to remove them with a paste of baking soda and water, unlike the ceiling.

The Black and Decker 4 Slice Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

The Black+Decker TO1760SS costs only slightly higher than our cheapest small toaster oven—the COMFEE CFO-BB101. Although the Black+Decker’s overall score wasn’t higher by a lot, the better build quality and cooking performance made its price more worthwhile.

Compared with another inexpensive but large unit of the same brand—the Black+Decker CTO6335S, the TO1760SS has fewer features of design and usability. The CTO6335S also had a more consistent and better cooking performance thanks to its convection system and higher power draw. However, it still can’t compare to the best toaster ovens on our list.

Standing next to the Breville BOV450XL—our best small toaster oven, the weaknesses of the Black+Decker TO1760SS became all the more apparent. Despite being much cheaper, the Black+Decker has lower scores in all aspects including performance, design, and usability.

Black and Decker 4 Slice FAQs

Length: 10.83 inches

Width: 8.66 inches

Height: 6.69 inches

No, the Black+Decker TO1760SS doesn’t have internal lighting. Yes, it has a stay-on function.

The Black+Decker TO1760SS uses 1150 Watts of power. The exterior gets hot to the touch quite quickly.

This oven doesn’t have a non-stick coating, so it’s free of PFOA. Nonetheless, it’s still easy to clean.

When the cooking cycle finishes and the timer reaches O (off), the oven will ding once and shut off. It’s not necessary to unplug the oven after use. No, the Black+Decker TO1760SS doesn’t have a turn-on timer.