Our recommendations are made independently through Research & Testing. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links.

Black+Decker Convection Toaster Oven (CTO6335S) Review

Our goal in this comprehensive Black And Decker CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven review is to provide you with an assessment and information for choosing a suitable equipment. We’ll also give some tips on the dos and don’ts to get the most out of this toaster oven.

By , , , and ·Updated
Tested Using Methodology v1.0
The front of a closed stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S Countertop Convection Toaster Oven on a white background.

Overall Verdict

The silver stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S Countertop Convection Toaster Oven is a good budget choice if you’re looking for a large unit. In addition, its cooking functions and accessories are useful for not only beginners in the kitchen but also experienced cooks.

Although it produced good test dishes, we thought it could be improved with a higher wattage. The oven offers a simple control panel but not much in terms of overall ease of use. Even though the outer shell is very durable, the door and buttons are not as well thought out.

Things We Like

  • Large capacity
  • Highly affordable
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Sturdy exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Convenient slide-out crumb tray

Things We Don’t Like

  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable
  • No internal lighting
  • Buttons not reliably responsive

The silver stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S is our first choice for a budget large countertop convection toaster oven. For only $89.43 (at the time of writing), it comes with a durable exterior, good accessories, and the necessary cooking functions.

Key Specs

Dimensions
L19.29 x W13.38 x H10.62 inches
Weight
12.9 lbs (5.8 kg)
Control Type
LCD display + 13 buttons
Temperature
200°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 2 hours
Cooking Functions
8

Where to Buy Price at publication $86.01

*You help support HealthyKitchen101's product testing and reviews by purchasing from our retail partners.

Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

Ranking by
Showing: 8/18 Items

Analysis and Test Results

7.0 Performance

The Black+Decker CTO6335S performed quite well in most of our test dishes except for the baked french fries. We speculated that 1500 W wasn’t able to heat the elements fast enough to keep up with the oven’s large capacity.

7.0 Toast

From left to right, 24 pieces of toast for the top and bottom of three toast levels including lighter, medium, and darker.
On the left: Level 3; In the middle: Level 4; On the right: Level 5
From left to right, 24 pieces of toast for the top and bottom of three toast levels including lighter, medium, and darker.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.
On the left are the top and bottom of four pieces of toast from the first batch, and on the right are from the second batch.
Function
Toast
Number of Slices
4
Toast Level
4/7
Cooking Time
5m 10s
Second Batch
3m
Convection
No

With our Toast test, we were able to determine that level 4—5 minutes 10 seconds on the timer—was the best option scoring a 7/10. Levels 3 and 5 respectively had a lighter and darker than ideal, although even, surface color.

The toast level 4 of the Black+Decker scored a 7/10 for color. The four pieces had areas of different colors ranging from golden brown to just slightly golden. This was probably due to uneven heating of the elements and the convection fan not running.

Despite the color, the first batch was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside so we gave it a 7.5/10 for taste. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would go great with eggs benedict and omelet.

Even with the automatic toast time adjustment feature, the quality of the second batch was reduced in every aspect. The color was lighter and the texture was less crispy so we had to give it a 6/10 for consecutive usability. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, lower the toast level by one.

6.8 Pizza

A toaster oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top inside a baking pan.
A toaster oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top inside a baking pan.
Two slices of oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top of one another.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with melty cheese, meat, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
Function
Bake
Temperature
450°F
Cooking Time
7m 30s
Convection
Yes

The Black+Decker did an ok job of baking a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza earning it a 6.8/10.

Compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label, it took 7m 30s to bake the pizza, which was fairly solid. However, after comparing it to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, we could only give it a 7.5/10.

The crust had a good golden brown color but was soft and a little dry — possibly due to the longer cooking time. Thus, it could only get a 7/10.

The toppings were mostly dry with an uneven coloring, plus the cheese wasn’t melty so it got a 6.5/10.

In the end, our chef gave the pizza a 6.5/10 for taste.

7.7 Whole Roasted Chicken

A whole roasted chicken using a toaster oven on a silver broiling rack and baking pan on a white background.
A whole roasted chicken using a toaster oven on a silver broiling rack and baking pan on a white background.
A tray of whole toaster oven roasted chicken. The thermometer has two probes inside the chicken and displays 189°F and 192°F.
Seven pieces of a carved chicken including a carcass, two breasts, two wings, and two thighs on a silver baking pan.
Two hands pulling apart a roasted chicken thigh. In the white background is the rest of the roasted chicken on a baking pan.
Function
Bake
Temperature
350°F
Cooking Time
1h
Convection
Yes

Following our Whole Roasted Chicken test guidelines, we placed a 3 lb chicken on a broiling rack on a baking pan of the Black+Decker with plenty of space to spare. The abundance of space gave it some advantages over smaller units like the Breville BOV450XL despite a lower power output. Overall, the Black+Decker received a 7.7/10 for this test.

It took the oven 1 hour, the standard amount of time, to roast the chicken to a desirable color so we gave it an 8/10. The skin came out a light golden color but it was uneven despite being flipped after the first 40 minutes. In addition, it was soft, so it got a 6.5/10.

The chicken was thoroughly cooked but the internal temperature was a tad bit high at 189°F-192°F compared to the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F so we gave it an 8.8/10. The meat was very juicy but the lack of roasted aroma and crispy skin resulted in a 7.5/10 for taste from our chef.

5.6 Baked French Fries

Pieces of baked french fries using a toaster oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
Pieces of baked french fries using a toaster oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A close-up of pieces of baked french fries using a toaster oven on a silver baking pan.
Six pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries on a silver baking pan.
Function
Bake
Temperature
400°F.
Cooking Time
25m 50s
Convection
Yes

With a score of 5.6/10, the Black+Decker left a lot to be desired in the Baked French Fries test. In comparison, the same-sized Cosori CO130-AO did a much better job with its higher power output and air fry basket.

This oven took 25m 50s to bake 12 oz of fries which was just a bit too long over the limit of our Baked French Fries test. Thus, it failed our cooking time section. Coloring was uneven among the fries ranging from nicely golden to almost none so they could only get a 7/10.

The textures were also uneven and, worse, none was particularly good. The golden fries were only a little crispy and the ones that lacked color were soft. Overall, it was a 6.8/10 for this test.

Our chef gave the resulting fries a 7/10 for taste.

6.6 Design

The Black+Decker CTO6335S has a sturdy construction. Standouts for us were the baking pan plus broiling rack combo and the quartz heating elements.

In the Box

An oven rack, a user manual, the BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven, a box, a baking pan, and a broiling rack.
  • Model: CTO6335S
  • Warranty: 2-year limited (not applicable in Latin America)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Broiling Rack

The packaging has some eye-catching illustrations and information as well as was able to keep the oven and its three accessories in place. However, there are only two foam pads on the sides to cushion the oven while the accessories are positioned with duct tape.

5.0 Exterior

A closed front of the Black+Decker CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
A closed front of the Black+Decker CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
The front of a closed Black+Decker CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven has a control panel and the right has ventilation holes.
The back and left sides of the Black+Decker CTO6335S Toaster Oven. The back has air ventilation holes and two black buffers.
Weight
12.9 lbs (5.8 kg)
Length
19.3" (49.0 cm)
Width
13.4" (34.0 cm)
Height
10.6" (27.0 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Color
Silver
Door Handle
cool-touch
Tray Indicators
No
Crumb Tray
Slide-out

Despite its large size, the Black+Decker only has air ventilation holes around the side where the convection fan is. The two buffers on the back to keep the oven from being too close to the walls are quite sturdy. Also, a slide-out crumb tray is always a nice touch.

Our measurements of the oven’s footprint were 19.29" x 13.38" x 10.62" which were a lot different in terms of length and height compared to the manufacturer’s 22.8" x 13.4" x 15.5".

Control Panel

The BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Toaster Oven’s control panel has an LCD and 13 buttons for 8 cooking functions and 5 features.
Type
LCD display + 13 buttons
Temperature
200°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 2 hours
Indicator Light
Yes
Status Bar
No
Light Toggle
No
Convection Toggle
Yes
Rotation Toggle
No
Automatic Preheat
Yes
Audio Cues
No

The control panel consists of an LCD digital display, two buttons to adjust time and temperature, a timer toggle, a convection toggle, eight buttons for functions, and a start/stop button.

Cooking Functions

The BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S’s cooking functions include Cookies, Pizza, Frozen snacks, Potato, Bake, Broil, Toast, and Bagel.
  • Cookies
  • Pizza
  • Frozen snacks
  • Potato
  • Bake
  • Broil
  • Toast
  • Bagel

The eight cooking functions are useful for beginners and experienced cooks can freely adjust the time and temperature of each to their liking.

7.0 Interior

The BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S’s cooking chamber has 4 quartz heating elements with guards, 2 levels, and a convection fan cavity.
The BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S’s cooking chamber has 4 quartz heating elements with guards, 2 levels, and a convection fan cavity.
The stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven’s cooking chamber has a convection fan cavity on the right.
Heating Elements
4 quartz
Convection Fan
Yes
Lighting
No
Tray Levels
2
Rotisserie
No
Safety Hook
No

The Black+Decker only has two tray levels but you can make use of the flippable rack to effectively create two more levels. The oven has a convection system but no internal lighting—unlike the Ninja DT201—which can be an inconvenience considering the interior is black.

The oven has quartz heating elements that use infrared light to cook. They have their own safety guards to prevent direct contact with baking pans and trays.

Compared to the more common nichrome heating elements, they produce more heat and cool down faster. They are also more energy-efficient and easier to clean but don’t last as long in terms of durability. However, if grease splashes onto the heating elements while cooking, it’ll leave permanent stains.

Capacity

An opened front of the BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven with interior measurements on a white background.
Length
14.2" (36.0 cm)
Width
12.6" (32.0 cm)
Height
7.9" (20.0 cm)

The CTO6335S can comfortably fit 6 slices of toast, a 12-inch pizza, and a 3 lb whole chicken. While the manufacturer didn’t state the oven’s capacity, we measured the cooking chamber’s volume to be around 23 liters.

Power Cord

A three-pronged plug power cord. In the background is the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.
Length
24.8" (63.0 cm)
Type
3-prong plug
Power
1500 W
Rated Output
120 V ~ 60 Hz

Even though the length of 24.8" is enough for household use, the power cord protrudes from the bottom of the oven reducing the usable length. In addition, it’s not long enough to wrap around the two back buffers.

Accessories: Baking Rack

A stainless steel baking rack of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
14.2" (36.0 cm)
Width
10.0" (25.4 cm)
Height
0.9" (2.2 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The baking rack can be placed in the oven either way up, effectively adding two more tray levels for the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

A silver baking pan of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
13.3" (33.8 cm)
Width
10.2" (25.8 cm)
Height
1.2" (3.0 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The baking pan is large and, being 100% compatible with the broiling rack, it catches all the drippings. This prevents any hot mess from dirtying the heating elements thus mitigating that potential fire hazard. However, it’s not 100% non-stick so you may have some stubborn stains to deal with after a heavy roasting session.

Accessories: Broiling Rack

A silver baking rack of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
11.7" (29.7 cm)
Width
8.7" (22.0 cm)
Height
0.7" (1.9 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Not advisable

The broiling rack is designed to fit the baking pan perfectly while the holes are there to help with air circulation around the food. It doesn’t have a coating though so it may be prone to stains, caramelized bits of food, and discoloration.

7.0 Build Quality

The front of an opened BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven with a baking rack, a baking pan, and a broiling rack

The Black+Decker CTO6335S is equipped with a tamper-resistant screw to prevent removal of the outer cover. However, the bottom tray can easily slide out and the door can also open if you tilt the oven.

Throughout our tests, we noticed that the oven’s large capacity is somewhat counteracted by its power output of 1500 W. We speculated on its ability to perform more efficiently if it were 1800 W.

6.1 Usability

The Black+Decker CTO6335S has an easy-to-use control panel. However, it doesn’t have any features that encompass convenience. Even the automatic preheat feature isn’t very useful. In addition, its door and buttons are a bit dodgy.

8.0 User Control

The Black+Decker has 8 functions but the convection toggle is only applicable to Bake. There’s an indicator light for when a function starts and stops — which are two separate buttons on the control panel.

For all functions except Toast and Bagel, you can push the increment and decrement buttons once to change the temperature in increments of 5°F and hold to change in increments of 25°F. After pressing the Timer button, the same goes for cooking time but in increments of 1 minute and 10 minutes. For Toast and Bagel, simply choose a level from 1 to 7.

Unfortunately, even though the label shows a stay-on function, we couldn’t find it in the control panel or the user manual. A small thing we didn’t like about the buttons was that they sometimes didn’t respond well.

5.0 Ease of Use

For all functions except for Toast and Bagel, the Black+Decker has an automatic preheat feature. This will always heat the heating elements to 350°F, which takes around 4m 20s, before starting the actual timer. Then, the internal temperature will gradually stabilize around your input temperature.

One thing to note is that you cannot change the temperature or time during the automatic preheat cycle. You can only do so once the oven reaches the selected temperature.

Keep in mind that the oven’s exterior gets hot to the touch quite quickly. In addition, it doesn’t turn off upon opening the door, unlike some others. The door also can’t be opened partially.

This oven beeps with each push of a button and does so three times when it finishes cooking. The oven always remembers the last selected setting until it’s unplugged. It’s advised to unplug the oven after you finish using it as the digital display doesn’t turn off after a period of no interaction.

6.0 Cleanability

Grease on the broiling rack of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.
Grease on the broiling rack of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.
Grease on the baking pan of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.
The cleaned broiling rack and baking pan of the stainless steel BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Convection Toaster Oven.

We cleaned the Black+Decker following our toaster oven cleaning guide. With the oven having an internal and external coating, cleaning was quite straightforward.

However, even with the slide-out crumb tray, we still had to tilt the oven to get all of the crumbs out. In addition, some of them got stuck inside the heating element safeguards and we had no way of getting them out.

You have 3/3 full reviews left

To access unlimited full product reviews, product prices and other exclusive site features Become a Member