Black+Decker CTO6335S Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S
Power: 1500W

Overall Verdict

6.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    6.9/10
  • Usability (25%)
    6.1/10
  • Design (25%)
    6.6/10

The silver stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S Countertop Convection Toaster Oven is a good budget choice if you’re looking for a large unit. In addition, its function and accessories are useful for not only beginners in the kitchen but also experienced cooks.

Although it produced good test dishes, we thought it could be improved with a higher wattage. The oven offers a simple control panel but not much in terms of overall ease of use. Even though the tamper-resistant outer shell is a nice touch, the door and buttons are not as well thought out.

Things We Like

  • Large capacity
  • Highly affordable
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Sturdy exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Convenient slide-out crumb tray

Things We Don’t Like

  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable
  • No internal lighting
  • Buttons not reliably responsive

The silver stainless steel Black+Decker CTO6335S is our first choice for a budget large countertop convection toaster oven. For only $89.43 (at the time of writing), it comes with a durable exterior, good accessories, and the necessary cooking functions.

Our goal in this comprehensive preview is to provide you with an honest assessment and helpful information for choosing a suitable oven. We’ll also give some tips on the dos and don’ts to get the most out of this oven.

Black+Decker CTO6335S Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
6.9
Performance Scores
  • Toast (40%)
    7.0/10
  • Pizza (25%)
    6.8/10
  • Whole Roasted Chicken (25%)
    7.6/10
  • Baked French Fries (10%)
    5.6/10

The Black+Decker CTO6335S performed quite well in most of our test dishes except for the baked french fries. We speculated that 1500 W wasn’t able to heat the elements fast enough to keep up with the oven’s large capacity.

7.0

Toast

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Toast 1
Best level: Level 4
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Toast 2
The first batch vs the second batch
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Toast
On the left: Level 3; In the middle: Level 4; On the right: Level 5
Taste Test: 7.5
50% * 7.5 = 3.8
Even Surface Color: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Consecutive Usability: 6
30% * 6 = 1.8
  • Function: Toast
  • Number Of Slices: 4
  • Toast Level: 4/7
  • Cooking Time: 5m 10s (fixed)
  • Second Batch: 3m (auto)
  • Convection: No

With our Toast test, we were able to determine that level 4 was the best option scoring a 7.1/10. Levels 3 and 5 respectively had a lighter and darker than ideal, although even, surface color.

Even Surface Color

The toast level 4 of the Black+Decker scored a 7/10 for color. The four pieces had areas of different colors ranging from golden brown to just slightly golden. This was probably due to uneven heating of the elements and the convection fan not running.

Taste

Despite the color, the first batch was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside so we gave it a 7.5/10 for taste. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would go great with eggs benedict and omelet.

Consecutive Usability

Even with the automatic toast time adjustment feature, the quality of the second batch was reduced in every aspect. The color was lighter and the texture was less crispy so we had to give it a 6/10 for consecutive usability.

6.8

Pizza

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Pizza
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Pizza 1
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Pizza 2
Cooking Time: 7.5
20% * 7.5 = 1.5
Crust: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Toppings: 6.5
30% * 6.5 = 1.9
Taste Test: 6.5
30% * 6.5 = 1.9
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 450°F
  • Cooking Time: 7m 30s
  • Convection: Yes

The Black+Decker did an ok job of baking a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza earning it a 6.8/10.

Cooking Time

Compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label, it took 7m 30s to bake the pizza, which was fairly solid. However, after comparing it to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, we could only give it a 7.5/10.

Crust

The crust had a good golden brown color but was soft and a little dry — possibly due to the longer cooking time. Thus, it could only get a 7/10.

Toppings

The toppings were mostly dry with an uneven coloring, plus the cheese wasn’t melty so it got a 6.5/10.

Taste

In the end, our chef gave the pizza a 6.5/10 for taste.

7.6

Whole Roasted Chicken

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Roasted Whole Chicken
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Roasted Whole Chicken 1
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Roasted Whole Chicken 2
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Roasted Whole Chicken 3
Cooking Time: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Skin: 6
20% * 6 = 1.2
Doneness: 8.8
20% * 8.8 = 1.8
Taste Test: 7.5
40% * 7.5 = 3.0
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature Range: 350°F
  • Cooking Time: 1h
  • Convection: Yes

Following our Whole Roasted Chicken test guidelines, we placed a 3 lb chicken on a broiling rack on a baking pan of the Black+Decker with plenty of space to spare. Overall, the Black+Decker received a 7.7/10 for this test.

Cooking Time

It took the oven 1 hour, the standard amount of time, to roast the chicken to a desirable color so we gave it an 8/10.

Skin

The skin came out a light golden color but it was uneven despite being flipped after the first 40 minutes. In addition, it was soft so it got a 6.5/10.

Doneness

The chicken was thoroughly cooked but the internal temperature was a tad bit high at 189-192°F so we gave it an 8.8/10.

Taste

The meat was very juicy but the lack of roasted aroma and crispy skin resulted in a 7.5/10 for taste from our chef.

5.6

Baked French Fries

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Baked French Fries
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Baked French Fries 1
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Baked French Fries 2
Cooking Time: 0
20% * 0 = 0.0
Color: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Texture: 6.8
20% * 6.8 = 1.4
Taste Test: 7
40% * 7 = 2.8
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 400°F.
  • Cooking Time: 25m 50s
  • Convection: Yes

With a score of 5.6/10, the Black+Decker left a lot to be desired in the Baked French Fries test.

Cooking Time

This oven took 25m 50s to bake 12 oz of fries which was just a bit too long over the limit of our Baked French Fries test. Thus, it failed our cooking time section.

Color

Coloring was uneven among the fries ranging from nicely golden to almost none so they could only get a 7/10.

Texture

The textures were also uneven and, worse, none was particularly good. The golden fries were only a little crispy and the ones that lacked color were soft. Overall, it was a 6.8/10 for this test.

Taste

Our chef gave the resulting fries a 7/10 for taste.

6.6
design Scores
  • Exterior (20%)
    5.0/10
  • Interior (30%)
    7.0/10
  • Build Quality (50%)
    7.0/10

The Black+Decker CTO6335S has a sturdy construction. Standouts for us were the baking pan plus broiling rack combo and the quartz heating elements.

In the Box

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S In the Box
  • Model: CTO6335S
  • Warranty: 2-year limited (not applicable in Latin America)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Broiling Rack

The packaging has some eye-catching illustrations and information

as well as was able to

keep the oven and its three3 accessories in place. However, there are only two foam pads on the sides to cushion the oven while the accessories are positioned with duct tape.

5.0

Exterior

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Exterior
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Exterior 1
  • Weight:
    12.89 lbs (5.85 kg)
  • Length:
    19.29 inches (49 cm)
  • Width:
    13.38 inches (34 cm)
  • Height:
    10.62 inches (27 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Color:
    Silver
  • Door Handle:
    cool-touch
  • Tray Level Indicators:
    No
  • Removable Bottom Tray:
    Slide-out

Despite its large size, the Black+Decker only has air ventilation holes around the side where the convection fan is. The two buffers on the back to keep the oven from being too close to the walls are quite sturdy. Also, a slide-out crumb tray is always a nice touch.

Control Panel

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Control Panel
  • Type:
    LCD display + 13 buttons
  • Temperature Setting:
    200°F - 450°F
  • Timer:
    1 minute - 2 hours
  • On Indicator Light:
    Yes
  • Cooking Status Bar:
    No
  • Light Toggle:
    No
  • Convection Toggle:
    Yes
  • Rotation Toggle:
    No
  • Automatic Oven Preheat:
    Yes
  • Audio Reminder To Turn Food:
    No

The control panel consists of an LCD digital display, two buttons to adjust time and temperature, a timer toggle, a convection toggle, eight buttons for functions, and a start/stop button.

Cooking Functions

Black+Decker CTO6335S Cooking Functions
  • Cookies
  • Pizza
  • Frozen snacks
  • Potato
  • Bake
  • Broil
  • Toast
  • Bagel

The 8 cooking functions are useful for beginners and experienced cooks can freely adjust the time and temperature of each to their liking.

7.0

Interior

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Interior
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Interior 1
  • Number Of Heating Elements:
    4 quartz
  • Convection Fan:
    Yes
  • Lighting:
    No
  • Tray Levels:
    2
  • Rotisserie Socket And Bracket:
    No
  • Safety Hook:
    No

Capacity: 23 liters - 6 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza

The Black+Decker only has two tray levels but you can make use of the flippable rack to effectively create two more levels. The oven has quartz heating elements that use infrared light to cook. They have their own safety guards to prevent direct contact with baking pans and trays.

Compared to the more common nichrome heating elements, they produce more heat and cool down faster. They are also more energy-efficient and easier to clean but don’t last as long in terms of durability.

Power Cord

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Power Cord
  • Length:
    24.8 inches (63 cm)
  • Type
    :
    3-prong plug
  • Power:
    1500 W
  • Rated Output:
    120 V ~ 60 Hz

Even though the length of the power cord is enough for household use, it protrudes from the bottom of the oven reducing the usable length. In addition, it’s not long enough to wrap around the two back buffers.

Accessories: Baking Rack

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Accessories: Baking Rack
  • Length:
    14.17 inches (36 cm)
  • Width:
    10 inches (25.5 cm)
  • Height:
    0.86 inches (2.2 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The baking rack can be placed in the oven either way up, effectively adding two more tray levels for the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Accessories: Baking Pan
  • Length:
    13.3 inches (33.8 cm)
  • Width:
    10.15 inches (25.8 cm)
  • Height:
    1.18 inches (3 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The baking pan is large and, being 100% compatible with the broiling rack, it catches all the drippings. This prevents any hot mess from dirtying the heating elements thus mitigating that potential fire hazard. However, it’s not 100% non-stick so you may have some stubborn stains to deal with after a heavy roasting session.

Accessories: Broiling Rack

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Accessories: Broiling Rack
  • Length:
    11.69 inches (29.7 cm)
  • Width:
    8.66 inches (22 cm)
  • Height:
    0.74 inches (1.9 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Not advisable

The broiling rack is designed to fit the baking pan perfectly while the holes are there to help with air circulation around the food. It doesn’t have a coating though so it may be prone to stains, caramelized bits of food, and discoloration.

7.0

Build Quality

Black+Decker CTO6335S Build Quality

The Black+Decker CTO6335S is equipped with a tamper-resistant screw to prevent removal of the outer cover. However, the bottom tray can easily slide out and the door can also open if you tilt the oven.

Throughout our tests, we noticed that the oven’s large capacity is somewhat counteracted by its power output of 1500 W. We speculated on its ability to perform more efficiently if it were 1800 W.

Usability

How We Rated
6.1
usability Scores
  • User Control (30%)
    8.0/10
  • Ease of Use (50%)
    5.0/10
  • Cleanability (20%)
    6.0/10

The Black+Decker CTO6335S has an easy-to-use control panel. However, it doesn’t have any features that encompass convenience. Even the automatic preheat feature isn’t very useful. In addition, its door and buttons are a bit dodgy.

8.0

User Control

Play video
Black+Decker CTO6335S User Control Video

The Black+Decker has 8 functions but the convection toggle is only applicable to Bake. There’s an indicator light for when a function starts and stops — which are two separate buttons on the control panel.

For all functions except Toast and Bagel, you can push the increment buttons once to change the temperature in increments of 5°F and hold to change in increments of 25°F. After pressing the Timer button, the same goes for cooking time but in increments of 1 minute and 10 minutes. For Toast and Bagel, simply choose a level from 1 to 7.

Unfortunately, even though the label shows a stay-on function, we couldn’t find it in the control panel or the user manual. A small thing we didn’t like about the buttons was that they sometimes didn’t respond well.

5.0

Ease of Use

Play video
Black+Decker CTO6335S Ease of Use Video

For all functions except for Toast and Bagel, the Black+Decker has an automatic preheat feature. This will always heat the heating elements to 350°F, which takes around 4m 20s, before starting the actual timer. Then, the internal temperature will gradually stabilize around your input temperature.

One thing to note is that you cannot change the temperature or time during the automatic preheat cycle. You can only do so once the oven reaches the selected temperature.

Keep in mind that the oven’s exterior gets hot to the touch quite quickly. In addition, it doesn’t turn off upon opening the door, unlike some others. The door also can’t be opened partially.

This oven beeps with each push of a button and does so three times when it finishes cooking. The oven always remembers the last selected setting until it’s unplugged. It’s advised to unplug the oven after you finish using it as the digital display doesn’t turn off after a period of no interaction.

6.0

Cleanability

BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Cleanability
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Cleanability 1
BLACK+DECKER CTO6335S Cleanability 2

We cleaned the Black+Decker following our toaster oven cleaning guide. With the oven having an internal and external coating, cleaning was quite straightforward.

However, even with the slide-out crumb tray, we still had to tilt the oven to get all of the crumbs out. In addition, some of them got stuck inside the heating element safeguards and we had no way of getting them out.

Prior to First Time Use

If you’re using the Black+Decker CTO6335S Countertop Convection Toaster Oven for the first time, don’t forget to follow these few pieces of advice:

1. Place the oven on a flat surface with at least 5 inches of space above and around all sides.

2. Make sure your outlet is 120 V - 1500 W.

3. Do not operate the Black+Decker on the same circuit with another appliance to avoid electrical problems.

4. Make sure the interior of the oven is dry and clean before use.

5. Burn off the new ovens’ smell from the materials and protective layering. Do this by setting the temperature to max, convection on, and timer to 15 minutes. It’s normal to see smoke during this process for a new oven and it will not last longer than 15 minutes.

Black+Decker CTO6335S FAQs