Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1800W

The brushed stainless steel Breville BOV845BSS Smart Oven Pro Countertop Convection Toaster Oven justify its price with the attention to details. It’s suitable for people who can invest in a toaster oven with a high build quality, an easy-to-operate control panel, and easy-to-clean accessories.

Design-wise, the oven has carrying handles, air ventilation holes, a non-stick interior coating, safety hooks, and a slide-out crumb tray. Usability-wise, the easy-to-use digital display came complete with useful toggles including the interior light, convection, and temperature conversion.

Its overall cooking performance was subpar compared to the investment in the quality and the number of design and usability features but far from bad.

Of course, the oven wasn’t without flaws. Many of its automatic features failed to actually increase convenience and some of its extra cooking functions didn’t prove to be useful.

Things We Like

  • Useful toggles
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Non-stick interior
  • Sturdy construction
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Convenient slide-out crumb tray

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • In need of an additional oven rack
  • Not very budget-friendly
  • Updated Nov 1, 2022:

    Review published.

The brushed stainless steel Breville BOV845BSS Smart Oven Pro Countertop Convection Toaster Oven is a well-constructed unit with a lot of investment in the quality and the number of design and usability features. For 278.45$, you’ll have a toaster oven that’s easy to use and clean while delivering good—though imperfect—cooking performance.

We hope that our thorough toaster oven preview will aid in your buying choice. In our evaluations, we make an effort to be as impartial as possible. We'll provide some dos and don’ts to get the most out of this oven along the way.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

The strong power output of 1800 W didn’t seem to help with the Breville’s performance in our test dishes as much as other toaster ovens with the same power output. It performed the best in roasting a whole chicken but not to an outstanding degree.

This unit is advertised to have the Element iQ System™ which is a smart heating algorithm for improving heat distribution. However, our test results showed no significant increase in the cooking time or evenness of caramelization.

6.8

We began our Toast test by choosing the toast level 4—the middle one out of the 7 options—for 4 pieces which we placed on tray level 2. The four pieces of bread came out only slightly toasted on top. We then chose level 5 and the surface color was more appetizing but less even.

So, we tried again one last time at level 6 but it produced four completely brown pieces of toast which were also a bit dry. In the end, we settled for level 5—5 minutes 13 seconds on the timer—as the best possible option with a score of 6.8/10.

At this level, the toast had a perfect golden brown color around the center of the oven. However, it was lighter the further it got to the rear, so we could only give it a 7/10 for even surface color.

The unevenness also translated to the texture where the toast achieved great crispiness in the golden brown areas but got softer in the lighter areas. This resulted in a 6.5/10 for taste from our chef.

Our head chef, Tuyet Pham, determined they would be good to have with omelets and sandwiches. They may not be the best to go with soups or egg benedict, but can still be served with these foods.

For the second batch, we immediately put in another four pieces of toast after the first one. We chose level 5 again where the oven automatically deducted the timer to 3 minutes 42 seconds.

Because the oven was already hot, the second batch showed an increase in evenness for both surface color and crispiness deserving a 7/10. This batch would be more suitable for soups.

6.8

For our Pizza test, we didn’t use the pizza presets because they didn’t include the correct size for our choice of pizza. This was also a good chance to test out the Breville pizza pan, but we were surprised to find the overall score ended up at 6.8/10.

Thanks to the oven’s strong power output and convection setting, it only took 4 minutes to bake a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza placed on tray level 2. This was extremely fast and deserved a 10/10 according to our data on toaster ovens’ performance.

However, the pizza still had a problem with cooking evenness. A quarter of the entire crust was golden brown but the rest of it lacked color. As you can imagine, the golden brown part was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside while the lighter part was simply soft throughout. Thus, we could only give the crust a 6/10.

The same issue applied to the toppings where they had a nice caramelization where the crust was golden but not much in the remaining area. The cheese was also not quite melty so the toppings also got a 6/10.

Altogether, our chef gave the pizza another 6/10 after tasting it. We chose not to increase the cooking time of the pizza as it could result in burning the part of the crust and toppings that were already properly baked.

7.5

For our Whole Roasted Chicken test, we placed a 3 lb chicken in a belly-up position onto the broiling rack and baking pan combo on tray level 1. The outcome was pretty great scoring a 7.5/10.

The Breville took 1 hour to roast the chicken to a desirable color which was our standard for an 8/10. The skin overall had a golden color, especially at the wings and the tips. However, it still had some very light areas.

In addition, when we flipped the chicken after the first 40 minutes, some of the skin on the back of the chicken got stuck to the broiling rack. This was an indication that the skin was soft and didn’t crisp up much despite having the convection fan deployed. Thus, we gave the skin a 7/10.

The oven was able to maintain a good internal temperature so the chicken was cooked all the way through leaving behind no pink spots. However, the cooking time was a little long, so the chicken’s internal temperature ended up at 198°F which was higher than the recommended 180°F by the USDA. We gave the doneness of this chicken an 8.6/10.

Nonetheless, the meat wasn’t dry combining with the skin was enough to get a 7/10 for taste from our chef.

6.1

Despite the power draw of 1800 W, the Breville didn’t perform as well in baking french fries as many toaster ovens with the same power output earning a 6.1/10. Our assumption was that the broiling rack wasn’t as optimal for this purpose as an air fryer basket.

For our Baked French Fries test, we didn’t turn on the Frozen Foods toggle because we needed to keep track of the exact cooking time. The oven took 24 minutes to bake 12 oz of frozen fries on tray level 2 which wasn’t very fast. Compared to many toaster ovens, it could only get a 6/10 for cooking time.

Even though we gave the fries a toss after the first 10 minutes, they still came out with uneven coloring scoring a 6.5/10. Most of the thinner fries had a pretty good golden color while most of the thicker ones had a much lighter color.

To the same degree, the fries had different textures throughout earning it a 6/10. The pieces with a golden color were crispy outside and soft inside while the lighter ones were mostly just soft all the way through.

With all of that in mind, our chef couldn’t give a score higher than 6/10 after tasting the fries.

The Breville showed a lot of investment in its design from the exterior and interior to the accessories. For example, its carrying handles, interior safety hooks, convection system, internal lighting, feature toggles, and additional cooking functions. It does have some room for improvement, however.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven In The Box
  • Model: BOV845BSSUSC
  • Warranty: 1 year (US only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Broiling Rack
  • Pizza Pan

The Breville toaster oven came in an eye-catching box but it’s only secured with two foam pads. On the bright side, its accessories including a baking rack, baking pan, broiling rack, and pizza pan are neatly placed in a fitting carton box.

The oven’s user manual explains in detail how each oven function works and includes a number of recipes. To elevate your pizza party, you can opt for the optional pizza crisper, pizza stone, and bamboo cutting board.

9.5

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Exterior

An exterior feature that stood out to us in the Breville is its carrying handles on the side which double up as air ventilation holes for the convection system. Another one is indicators on the glass door to accommodate its three tray levels and many cooking functions.

The Breville has an interesting automatic eject feature for when the oven rack is in the middle guide rail. This is achieved thanks to a magnet in the corresponding position on the oven door.

Further attention to the design shows in the convenient slide-out crumb tray and strong base stands. The oven’s door handle is cool-touch and provides a good grip. Unfortunately, the back buffers are not long enough to create ample space between the back of the oven and the wall.

Our measurements of 18.39" x 15.94" x 10.78" for the oven pretty much coincided with the dimensions provided by the manufacturer—18.5" x 14.5" x 11". The 1.5-inch difference in width is probably because we took the door handle into account.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Control Panel

The Breville has 3 control knobs for function, temperature, and timer. Its five buttons include four toggles for temperature conversion, interior light, convection fan, and Defrost feature. The Start/Cancel button and the digital display both shine red when the oven’s cooking.

The LCD screen will display ‘E01’, ‘E02’, or ‘E05’ when there is a non-resettable issue with the appliance. When this happens, immediately unplug the cord from the wall outlet and call the Breville Customer Service Center.

The ‘E03’ shows up when the oven temperature exceeds its design limit. Should this occur, unplug your oven, allow it to cool for 15 minutes, then plug it back in.

The ‘E04’ appears when the room temperature is below the set minimum. If this happens, unplug the oven and move it to a warmer area.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Cooking Functions
  • Toast (level 1-7)
  • Bagel (level 1-7)
  • Bake (1 minute - 10 hours)
  • Roast (1 minute - 2 hours)
  • Broil (300°F, 400°F, 500°F; 1 minute - 20 minutes)
  • Pizza (6″-13″; Fresh/Frozen)
  • Cookies (1 minute - 1 hour)
  • Reheat (1 minute - 2 hours)
  • Warm (1 minute - 2 hours)
  • Slow Cook (2 hours - 10 hours)

The Breville has 10 cooking functions which make full use of its wide timer and temperature ranges. Functions that allow for the full adjustment of temperature— 120°F - 450°F—include Bake, Roast, Cookies, Reheat, and Warm.

The Toast and Bagel functions have 1-7 levels which include predetermined timers for 1-6 slices. This toaster oven went the extra mile as most others don’t take the number of slices into account.

Meanwhile, the pizza function include presets for sizes ranging from 6" to 13" plus whether the pizza is fresh or frozen. The Broil function has three pre-set temperatures including 500°F, 400°F, and 300°F for up to 20 minutes.

The Slow Cook function has two settings: ‘LO’ with a timer of 4-10 hours and ‘HI’ 2-8 hours; and you can further adjust the timer up and down while cooking. After the Slow Cook cycle finishes, this function automatically turns to Keep Warm at 175°F for up to another 2 hours.

9.5

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Interior

Capacity: 25 liters - 6 slices of toast - 13-inch pizza

The Breville’s cooking chamber has a capacity of 25 liters which is quite common among large toaster ovens. Many large units can also fit 6 slices of toast but not all can fit a 13-inch pizza like the Breville. This oven can also fit a 9-cup muffin tray or a 4.16-liter Dutch oven.

Each of the three tray levels has a safety hook to prevent the oven rack from accidently sliding all the way out. However, only the bottom one is positioned further in properly for this purpose. The convection system is quite powerful while not making a lot of noise.

This unit has a non-stick interior coating which explains the black color. The black interior isn’t a problem though, thanks to the oven’s interior light. When necessary, you can remove the glass cover to change the interior light bulb which is a G9 type, 25 W, 120 V.

The Breville has five quartz heating elements which use infrared light to cook. Compared to the more common nichrome heating elements, these heat up and cool down faster while also being easier to clean and more energy-efficient but don’t last as long in terms of durability.

For this unit, each heating element has a safety guard to prevent direct contact with baking pans and trays. However, if grease splashes onto the heating elements while cooking, it’ll leave permanent stains.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Power Cord

The power cord is roughly 39.37"—plenty of length for household use even though it protrudes from the bottom of the oven which usually create inconvenient bends.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Rack

The baking rack fits perfectly with the guide to prevent accidents when placing food in the oven and has a pattern to keep the baking pan on top of it in place.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Pan

The baking pan has an enamel coating which is non-stick. However, it’s not big enough to fit into the guide rails which means it can’t fully utilize the capacity of the cooking chamber.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Accessories: Broiling Rack

The broiling rack also has an enamel coating similar to the baking pan of which it fits perfectly on top. It has grooves and ridges to allow for air circulation around the food as well as holes to allow the grease from the food to drip onto the pan below.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Accessories: Pizza Pan

Similar to the two above, the pizza pan has an enamel coating and can accommodate a pizza of up to 13 inches. It won’t be as effective as a proper pizza stone (which you can purchase) but is still a nice included accessory.

9.0

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Build Quality

The Breville has a sturdy build and is made from durable stainless steel. The oven has good heat insulation and a good convection system so the casing rarely gets hot to the touch, only after a long cooking time at a high temperature (>400°F).

Its LCD display has a good color contrast, the control dials turn smoothly, and the buttons have good responsiveness. On another note, this unit doesn’t provide enough oven racks to make full use of the three tray levels and additional accessories.

Note: This product adheres to the California Proposition 65.

Usability

How We Rated

The Breville also shows investment in features of usability including the toggles and extra cooking functions in the user control as well as automatic mechanisms to increase ease of use. However, the actual delivery left a few things to be desired.

9.5

The timer of the Breville is specified by the minute. The temperature can be adjusted in 5°F/5°C increments by turning the knob slowly and in 10°F/10°C increments by turning the knob fast.

You can freely adjust the time and temperature while the oven is running but will need to press Cancel to change the cooking function. Keep in mind that this may repeat the automatic preheat phase if the temperature is lower than the manufacturer’s set point.

Regarding the extra unique features, the Temperature Conversion button is a nice touch for international users. The convection setting can be applied to almost all cooking functions except for Toast, Bagel, and Broil.

The Frozen Foods button adds a predetermined amount of time only to the Toast, Bagel, Pizza and Cookies functions. However, we didn’t find it very helpful since cooking time depends heavily on the food quantity and personal preference.

As for the extra cooking functions, the Pizza presets, with predetermined timers, aren’t very useful as they allow for temperature adjustment but don’t take the current temperature into account. The same goes for the Slow Cook function that has a predetermined temperature which isn’t stated in the manual.

According to our observation, the oven reaches and maintains at 325°F on both Low and High so we didn’t get the point of having two settings. In addition, these temperatures are quite high compared to common slow cookers’ which are around 200°F on low and 300°F on high.

If you want to adjust the temperature for slow cooking in this oven, you can choose the Bake function of which timer also reaches ten hours.

7.0

The Breville has an automatic preheat phase for functions that allow for temperature adjustment as mentioned above. According to the manufacturer, this feature will preheat the oven to 75% of the input temperature before sounding an alert. However, our observation showed that it would always preheat to around 300°F taking about 4m 55s regardless of the input temperature.

Due to the eject feature mentioned above, keep in mind to open the door slowly to prevent the rack from sliding too far outward. The door can be kept partially open at an 80° angle to let food cool inside the oven. Doing this doesn’t stop the oven, unlike some others. Be careful as the door can slam shut if you slip while closing.

When the automatic preheat phase or the cooking cycle ends, the interior light will turn on and then turn off after 30 seconds, similar to when you press the light switch. Unfortunately, there’s no way to keep the light on indefinitely.

If not used for 10 minutes, the oven goes into standby mode until you press Start again. Nonetheless, it’s still advised to unplug the oven after use. Your customized setting will remain in the memory of the oven until changed or the oven is unplugged from the power outlet.

8.0

Breville Smart Oven Pro Toaster Oven Cleanability

Cleaning the Breville was extremely easy thanks to its stainless steel exterior and non-stick interior. There were some tricky nooks and crannies in the cooking chamber but luckily, there was minimal grease splashing after all of our tests.

The enamel baking pan and broiling rack had some stubborn stains from the roasted chicken after we washed them with dish soap. Nonetheless, we took care of them without a problem by brushing them with a paste of baking soda and water.

The slide-out crumb tray was also helpful for cleaning up the crumbs but we still had to tilt the oven to get all of the crumbs out.

Breville Smart Oven Pro Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

As two medium-sized toaster ovens, the Breville BOV845BSSUSC and the Toshiba AC25CEW—our best budget toaster oven—are close competitors. At a higher price, the Breville offers many more features of design and usability resulting in a slightly higher overall score. However, the Breville’s cooking performance wasn’t as high as the Toshiba.

Compared to the Instant Omni Plus 18L—our best air fryer toaster oven, the Breville had no significant advantage. At roughly the same size and price, the Breville and the Instant had scores in terms of design and usability. However, the Breville didn’t have as high a performance score despite also having a convection system and the same power draw.

Standing next to a simplistic unit like the Cuisinart TOA-60—our best convection toaster oven, the Breville’s performance score could only be deemed subpar. Having a more advanced control panel couldn’t help with the actually cooking of foods.

Breville Smart Oven FAQs

Length: 14.17 inches (36 cm)

Width: 13 inches (33 cm)

Height: 8.27 inches (21 cm)

Yes, the Breville BOV845BSSUSC has internal lighting. This oven doesn’t have a stay-on function but can keep operating for up to 10 hours.

The Breville BOV845BSSUSC uses 1800 Watts of power. The casing rarely gets hot to the touch, only after a long cooking time at a high temperature (>400°F)

The Breville BOV845BSSUSC has a non-stick coating that is free of PFOA which makes it very easy to clean.

If not used for 10 minutes, the oven goes into standby mode until you press Start again. Nonetheless, it’s still advised to unplug the oven after use. No, the Breville BOV845BSSUSC doesn’t have a turn-on timer.