Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1500W

Overall Verdict

7.4
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    7.7/10
  • Usability (25%)
    6.8/10
  • Design (25%)
    7.5/10

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW is a product that offers great value for its price. Its various functions and accessories are helpful for both newcomers in the kitchen and experienced cooks.

Minimizing inconvenience and the danger of electric shocks, correctly-sized accessories are proof of good design. In addition, this oven comes with a rotisserie kit which is a rare accessory in this price range.

Technically though, it doesn’t excel at anything or offer anything unique.

Things We Like

  • Highly affordable
  • Good value in terms of functionality and accessories
  • Small size and lightweight but sturdy design
  • Easy-to-turn knobs
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable
  • No internal lighting

The black stainless steel Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven gives you more bang for your buck. For just around $100 (at the time of writing), you’ve got yourself a well-designed oven with all the necessary cooking functions and accessories.

To support our claims, we performed a series of tests to evaluate the oven’s overall efficiency and practicality. The results display the quality of the design and how well its functions work on a scale of 0 to 10.

We thought we would further reinforce our assessment by presenting actual comparisons. Thus, we ran the same tests on a range of other toaster ovens including the Instant Omni Plus 18 and Cuisinart TOA-60.

With this comprehensive review, our goal is to provide useful information and an honest evaluation so you can confidently purchase your oven of choice. Along the way, we’ll show you some tips to get the best out of this oven and some mistakes to avoid.

Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
7.7
Performance Scores
  • Toast (40%)
    7.2/10
  • Pizza (25%)
    9.1/10
  • Whole Roasted Chicken (25%)
    7.9/10
  • Baked French Fries (10%)
    6.1/10

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW did well in all of our performance tests. It also got plus points for the convenient accessories.

7.2

Toast

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Toast
On the left: Level 3; In the middle: Level 4; On the right: Level 5
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Toast 1
Best level: Level 4
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Toast 2
The first batch vs the second batch
Taste Test: 7.5
50% * 7.5 = 3.8
Even Surface Color: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Consecutive Usability: 6.2
30% * 6.2 = 1.9
  • Function: Toast
  • Number Of Slices: 4
  • Toast Level: 4/6
  • Cooking Time: 3m 55s (fixed)
  • Second Batch: 3m 55s (fixed)
  • Convection: No

Following the procedures of our Toast test, we determined that level 4 was the best option with the score of 7.2/10. The level 3 and 5, in addition to being lighter and darker than ideal respectively, had very uneven surface color.

Even Surface Color

The toast level 4 of the Toshiba produced 4 pieces with a light golden brown color but a few areas too light. Due to not having the convection fan running, the color was about 80% even and we could only give it an 8/10.

Consecutive Usability

The second batch was browner and crispier while still being moist so it got a 5.5/10 for color. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, remember to lower it by one level.

Taste

The first batch of toast was nicely crispy while soft and moist inside. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would be great to go with omelet and eggs benedict, as well as good for sandwiches. Although it may not be particularly good for soup, the second batch was.

For the taste, our chef gave a 7.5/10 to the first batch and 6.8/10 to the second batch.

9.1

Pizza

Toshiba AC25CEW Pizza
Toshiba AC25CEW Pizza Crust
Toshiba AC25CEW Pizza Toppings
Toshiba AC25CEW Pizza Crust Test
Cooking Time: 9.3
20% * 9.3 = 1.9
Crust: 9.5
20% * 9.5 = 1.9
Toppings: 9
30% * 9 = 2.7
Taste Test: 8.7
30% * 8.7 = 2.6
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 450°F
  • Cooking Time: 5m15s
  • Convection: Yes

The Toshiba baked a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza evenly throughout in terms of doneness and color earning it a 9.1/10.

Cooking Time

Even though the Pizza preset of the oven is 450°F for 10 minutes, it only took 5m15s to cook. It was really fast compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label. In comparison to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, it scored a 9.3/10.

Crust

The crust wasn’t dry and turned out a beautiful golden brown with some nicely charred spots. It deserved a 9.5/10.

Toppings

The cheese was also nicely melted and caramelized so it got a 9/10.

Taste

After tasting, our chef gave it an 8.7/10.

7.9

Whole Roasted Chicken

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Whole Roasted Chicken 1
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Whole Roasted Chicken 2
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Whole Roasted Chicken 3
Cooking Time: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Skin: 7.5
20% * 7.5 = 1.5
Doneness: 7.8
20% * 7.8 = 1.6
Taste Test: 8
40% * 8 = 3.2
  • Function: Rotisserie
  • Temperature Range: 350°F
  • Cooking Time: 1h
  • Convection: No

Even though we chose a 3 lb chicken — in accordance with our Whole Roasted Chicken test — and despite the 4-pound claim on the label, it barely fit. In addition, there wasn’t enough space below to use the drip pan so cleaning up was a hassle.

Luckily, the fat from the chicken didn’t splatter too much inside the oven. Overall, the Toshiba scored a 7.9/10 for this test.

Cooking Time

It took the oven 1 hour, the standard amount of time, to roast the chicken to golden brown so we gave it an 8/10.

Skin

The smooth rotation caramelized the chicken skin to a superb color while maintaining the juiciness of the meat. However, the skin wasn’t really crispy without convection so we only gave a 7.5/10.

Doneness

The rotation also allowed the whole chicken to be thoroughly cooked in 1 hour with no pink spots. The internal temperature, however, was a bit too high at 207°F so it got a 7.8/10.

Taste

Even though the chicken was cooked to slightly well-done, the meat was still moist and tender so our chef gave it an 8 for taste.

6.1

Baked French Fries

Toshiba AC25CEW Baked French Fries
Toshiba AC25CEW Baked French Fries 2
Toshiba AC25CEW Baked French Fries 3
Cooking Time: 5
20% * 5 = 1.0
Color: 6
20% * 6 = 1.2
Texture: 6
20% * 6 = 1.2
Taste Test: 6.7
40% * 6.7 = 2.7
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 400°F
  • Cooking Time: 20m
  • Convection: Yes

The Toshiba did an acceptable job of baking 12 oz of french fries earning a 6.1/10.

Cooking Time

Compared to other ovens in our Baked French Fries test, we had to cook the fries for 20 minutes so we could only give it a 5/10.

Color

Being baked on a tray and not in an air fryer basket, the fries lacked color resulting in a 6/10.

Texture

The fries only crisped up a little on the outside and were considerably moist inside so it’s another 6/10.

Taste

Our chef gave the resulting fries a 6.7/10 for taste.

7.5
design Scores
  • Exterior (20%)
    8.0/10
  • Interior (30%)
    6.5/10
  • Build Quality (50%)
    8.0/10

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW boasts a good design that encompasses its accessories. Features that stand out for us are its many ventilation holes, sturdy stands, and lightweight structure.

In the Box

Toshiba AC25CEW In the Box
  • Model: L series - AC25CEW-BS
  • Warranty: 1 year (US only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Rack Clamp
  • Removable Crumb Tray
  • Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

The packaging keeps all the 5 accessories firmly in place while being easy to unbox and convenient to repack. Besides showing some basic information, it also gives instructions on how to unbox properly.

8.0

Exterior

Toshiba AC25CEW Exterior
Toshiba AC25CEW Exterior 1
Toshiba AC25CEW Exterior 2
Toshiba AC25CEW Exterior 3
  • Weight:
    16.2 lbs (7.4 kg)
  • Length:
    19.0" (48.2 cm)
  • Width:
    15.6" (39.6 cm)
  • Height:
    10.8" (27.4 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Color:
    Black
  • Door Handle:
    cool-touch
  • Tray Level Indicators:
    Yes
  • Removable Bottom Tray:
    No

One of the strongest points of the Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven is plenty of air ventilation — on two sides, the back, the bottom, and the top. It also has strong bottom stands and two buffers on the back to prevent the oven from being too close to the wall.

Control Panel

Toshiba AC25CEW Control Panel
  • Type:
    LCD display + 3 control knobs + Stop/Start button
  • Temperature Setting:
    150°F - 450°F
  • Timer:
    1 minute - 2 hours
  • On Indicator Light:
    No
  • Cooking Status Bar:
    No
  • Light Toggle:
    No
  • Convection Toggle:
    No
  • Rotation Toggle:
    No
  • Automatic Oven Preheat:
    No
  • Audio Reminder To Turn Food:
    No

The control panel consists of an LCD digital display, 3 control knobs for functions, temperature, time, and the stop/start button. The glossy plastic knobs turn smoothly and seem durable.

Cooking Functions

Play video
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Cooking Functions
  • Toast (without convection)
  • Bake (without convection)
  • Broil (without convection)
  • Pizza (with convection)
  • Cookies (with convection)
  • Defrost (without convection)
  • Reheat (with convection)
  • Rotisserie (without convection)
  • Keep warm (without convection)
  • Convection

One may argue that 10 cooking functions are too many but they are helpful for beginners in the kitchen. The Rotisserie and the Keep Warm functions are the two that stand out from the rest.

6.5

Interior

Toshiba AC25CEW Interior
Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven Interior
  • Number Of Heating Elements:
    4 nichrome
  • Convection Fan:
    Yes
  • Lighting:
    No
  • Tray Levels:
    3
  • Rotisserie Socket And Bracket:
    Yes
  • Safety Hook:
    Tray Level 2

Capacity: 25 liters - 4 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza - 3-pound chicken

The oven has 4 nichrome heating elements and 3 tray levels which are standard for its size. True to the description, it can fit a 12-inch pizza. However, it can’t fit 6 slices of toast or a 4-pound chicken but is big enough for 4 slices of toast or a 3-pound chicken.

Power Cord

Toshiba AC25CEW Power Cord
  • Length:
    15.7 inches (40 cm)
  • Type
    :
    3-prong plug
  • Power:
    1500
  • Rated Output:
    120

The length of the power cord is ideal for household use. It’s also long enough to wrap firmly around the two back buffers.

Accessories: Baking Rack

Toshiba AC25CEW Baking Rack
  • Length:
    12.60 inches
  • Width:
    11.29 inches
  • Height:
    N/a
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The shape of the baking rack makes it easier to remove either with gloves or clamps.

Accessories: Baking Pan

Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven Baking Pan
  • Length:
    11.7" (29.8 cm)
  • Width:
    9.4" (23.9 cm)
  • Height:
    0.9" (2.4 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The baking pan has ridges and grooves which can give your food attractive roasting marks and catch the dripping better. However, it’s a little smaller than the oven capacity and has a coating but isn’t completely non-stick.

Accessories: Rack Clamp

Toshiba AC25CEW Rack Clamp
  • Length:
    7.5" (19.2 cm)
  • Width:
    2.2" (5.5 cm)
  • Height:
    N/a
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The rack clamp fits the baking pan and rack nicely but doesn’t have a good handle. Nonetheless, not all ovens come with a clamp like this so it’s a plus.

Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray

Toshiba AC25CEW Removable Crumb Tray
Toshiba AC25CEW Removable Crumb Tray 1
  • Length:
    12.6" (32.0 cm)
  • Width:
    11.0" (27.9 cm)
  • Height:
    1.2" (3.1 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Not advisable

The crumb tray is a useful accessory — crumbs being quite a hassle to clean up. However, some still fell to the bottom of the oven as we removed the tray. Also, upon cleaning the crumb tray after the roasted chicken test, we found it showed signs of oxidation from catching the drippings.

Accessories: Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

Toshiba AC25CEW Rotisserie Kit and Lifter
Toshiba AC25CEW Rotisserie Kit and Lifter 1
  • Length:
    12.6" (32.0 cm)
  • Width:
    9.8" (25.0 cm)
  • Height:
    N/A
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The rotisserie kit does a perfect job of securing the chicken thanks to the angle-adjustable 2-pronged forks.

8.0

Build Quality

Toshiba AC25CEW Build Quality

The black stainless steel Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven is quite robust while still relatively light and small. It also has more air ventilation holes than a number of other toaster ovens including the Toshiba and Cuisinart.

Usability

How We Rated
6.8
usability Scores
  • User Control (30%)
    9.0/10
  • Ease of Use (50%)
    5.0/10
  • Cleanability (20%)
    8.0/10

The Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven isn’t difficult to use but it’s not particularly convenient either. The accessories show signs of attention to detail but not so much the user interaction.

9.0

User Control

Play video
Toshiba AC25CEW User Control

The Toshiba has 10 functions to choose from. However, the convection fan isn’t applicable to all of them. Nonetheless, you can always choose Convection, then set the desired temperature and time.

The large and detailed timer from one minute to two hours is a strong point of this oven. It’s also specified by the minute.

5.0

Ease of Use

Play video
Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Ease of Use
Play video
Toshiba AC25CEW Ease of Use
Toshiba AC25CEW Ease of Use

The oven door has a heat-resistant handle and tray-level indicators on the glass.  In addition, the exterior only gets too hot to the touch at 450°F. However, it’s hard to keep the door partially open and there’s no internal lighting.

Furthermore, if you need to readjust the setting during cooking, you have to press stop and repeat all the inputs. Also, this oven doesn’t turn off upon opening the door, unlike some others.

Although the accessories fit well, removing the rotisserie kit from the oven can be a little tricky even with the lifter. With a little practice, however, it’ll become much easier.

8.0

Cleanability

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Cleanability
Toshiba AC25CEW Cleanability 1
Toshiba AC25CEW Cleanability 2

Regular cleaning will help to ensure smooth operation and increase the oven’s lifetime. Cleaning the Toshiba was pretty straightforward thanks to its internal and external coating plus the lack of difficult nooks and crannies.

We removed all accessories from inside the oven and washed them in warm soapy water. It may be difficult to clean the caramelized bits if stuck to the crumb tray though. Then we wiped the outside and inside of the oven with a damp cloth or sponge to avoid damage.

If you encounter stubborn stains, check out our toaster oven cleaning tips.

Prior to First Time Use

If you’re using the Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven for the first time, don’t forget to follow these few pieces of advice:

1. Place the oven on a flat surface with at least 5 inches of space above and around all sides.

2. Make sure your outlet is 120 V - 1500 W.

3. Do not operate the Toshiba on the same circuit with another appliance to avoid electrical problems.

4. Make sure the interior of the oven is dry and clean before use.

5. Burn off the new ovens’ smell from the materials and protective layering. Do this by setting the temperature to max, convection on, and timer to 15 minutes. It’s normal to see smoke during this process for a new oven and it will not last longer than 15 minutes.

Toshiba AC25CEW-BS FAQs