Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Digital Convection Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1500W

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW is a product that offers great value for its price. Its various functions and accessories are helpful for both newcomers in the kitchen and experienced cooks.

Minimizing inconvenience and the danger of electric shocks, correctly-sized accessories are proof of good design. In addition, this oven comes with a rotisserie kit which is a rare accessory in this price range.

Technically though, it doesn’t excel at anything or offer anything unique.

Things We Like

  • Highly affordable
  • Good value in terms of functionality and accessories
  • Lightweight but sturdy design
  • Easy-to-turn knobs
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable
  • No internal lighting
  • Updated May 12, 2022:

    Review published.

The black stainless steel Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven gives you more bang for your buck. For just around $100 (at the time of writing), you’ve got yourself a well-designed oven with all the necessary cooking functions and accessories.

To support our claims, we performed a series of tests to evaluate the oven’s overall efficiency and practicality. The results display the quality of the design and how well its functions work on a scale of 0 to 10.

We thought we would further reinforce our assessment by presenting actual comparisons. Thus, we ran the same tests on a range of other toaster ovens including the Instant Omni Plus 18 and Cuisinart TOA-60.

With this comprehensive review, our goal is to provide useful information and an honest evaluation so you can confidently purchase your oven of choice. Along the way, we’ll show you some tips to get the best out of this oven and some mistakes to avoid.

Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW did well in all of our performance tests. It also got plus points for the convenient accessories.

7.2

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Toast
On the left: Level 3; In the middle: Level 4; On the right: Level 5

Following the procedures of our Toast test, we determined that level 4—3 minutes 55 seconds on the timer—was the best option with the score of 7.3/10. The level 3 and 5, in addition to being lighter and darker than ideal respectively, had very uneven surface color.

The toast level 4 of the Toshiba produced four pieces with a light golden brown color but a few areas too light. Due to not having the convection fan running, the color was about 80% even and we could only give it an 8/10.

The first batch of toast was nicely crispy while soft and moist inside so we gave it a 7.5/10 for taste. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would be great to go with omelet and eggs benedict, as well as good for sandwiches. Although it may not be particularly good for soup, the second batch was.

The second batch was browner and crispier while still being moist so it got a 6.5/10. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, remember to lower it by one level.

9.1

Toshiba AC25CEW Pizza

The Toshiba baked a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza evenly throughout in terms of doneness and color earning it a 9.1/10.

Even though the Pizza preset of the oven is 450°F for 10 minutes, it only took 5m15s to cook. It was really fast compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label. In comparison to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, it scored a 9.3/10.

The crust wasn’t dry and turned out a beautiful golden brown with some nicely charred spots. It deserved a 9.5/10. The cheese was also nicely melted and caramelized so it got a 9/10. After tasting, our chef gave the pizza an 8.7/10.

7.8

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Whole Roasted Chicken 1

Even though we chose a 3 lb chicken—in accordance with our Whole Roasted Chicken test—and despite the 4-pound claim on the label, it barely fit. In addition, there wasn’t enough space below to use the drip pan so cleaning up was a hassle.

Luckily, the fat from the chicken didn’t splatter too much inside the oven. Overall, the Toshiba scored a 7.8/10 for this test.

It took the oven 1 hour, the standard amount of time, to roast the chicken to golden brown so we gave it an 8/10.

The smooth rotation caramelized the chicken skin to a superb color while maintaining the juiciness of the meat. However, the skin wasn’t really crispy without convection so we only gave a 7/10.

The rotation also allowed the whole chicken to be thoroughly cooked in 1 hour with no pink spots. The internal temperature, however, was a bit too high at 207°F compared to the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F, so it got a 7.8/10.

Even though the chicken was cooked to slightly well-done, the meat was still moist and tender so our chef gave it an 8 for taste.

6.1

Toshiba AC25CEW Baked French Fries

The Toshiba did an acceptable job of baking 12 oz of french fries earning a 6.1/10.

Compared to other ovens in our Baked French Fries test, we had to cook the fries for 20 minutes so we could only give it a 5/10. Being baked on a tray and not in an air fryer basket, the fries lacked color resulting in a 6/10.

The fries only crisped up a little on the outside and were considerably moist inside so it’s another 6/10. Our chef gave the resulting fries a 6.7/10 for taste.

The Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW boasts a good design that encompasses its accessories. Features that stand out for us are its many ventilation holes, sturdy stands, and lightweight structure.

Toshiba AC25CEW In the Box
  • Model: L series - AC25CEW-BS
  • Warranty: 1 year (US only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Rack Clamp
  • Removable Crumb Tray
  • Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

The packaging keeps all the 5 accessories firmly in place while being easy to unbox and convenient to repack. Besides showing some basic information, it also gives instructions on how to unbox properly.

8.0

Toshiba AC25CEW Exterior

One of the strongest points of the Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Toaster Oven is plenty of air ventilation — on two sides, the back, the bottom, and the top. It also has strong bottom stands and two buffers on the back to prevent the oven from being too close to the wall.

This was one of the few ovens where our measurements and the manufacturer’s completely coincided at 18.98" x 15.59" x 10.78". We do need to point out that we could see the internal circuits through the ventilation holes although we’re not sure if it affects the oven.

Toshiba AC25CEW Control Panel

The control panel consists of an LCD digital display, 3 control knobs for functions, temperature, time, and the stop/start button. The glossy plastic knobs turn smoothly and seem durable.

  • Toast (without convection)
  • Bake (without convection)
  • Broil (without convection)
  • Pizza (with convection)
  • Cookies (with convection)
  • Defrost (without convection)
  • Reheat (with convection)
  • Rotisserie (without convection)
  • Keep warm (without convection)
  • Convection

One may argue that 10 cooking functions are too many but they are helpful for beginners in the kitchen. The Rotisserie and the Keep Warm functions are the two that stand out from the rest.

6.5

Toshiba AC25CEW Interior

Capacity: 23.3 liters - 4 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza - 3-pound chicken

The Toshiba has 4 nichrome heating elements and 3 tray levels which are standard for its size. This oven has a convection system which is always a plus but it doesn’t have an interior light like many other units of the same size. It received an extra point thanks to its rotisserie socket and bracket.

True to the description, it can fit a 12-inch pizza. However, it can’t fit 6 slices of toast or a 4-pound chicken but is big enough for 4 slices of toast or a 3-pound chicken.

We measured the cooking chamber’s volume to be 23.3 which was a bit different from the manufacturer’s provided capacity of 25 liters. However, it could just be a difference in measuring standards.

Toshiba AC25CEW Power Cord

The length of the power cord is roughly 15.7"—ideal for household use. It’s also long enough to wrap firmly around the two back buffer

Toshiba AC25CEW Baking Rack

The shape of the baking rack makes it easier to remove either with gloves or clamps.

Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven Baking Pan

The baking pan has ridges and grooves which can give your food attractive roasting marks and catch the dripping better. However, it’s a little smaller than the oven capacity and has a coating but isn’t completely non-stick.

Toshiba AC25CEW Rack Clamp

The rack clamp fits the baking pan and rack nicely but doesn’t have a good handle. Nonetheless, not all ovens come with a clamp like this so it’s a plus.

Toshiba AC25CEW Removable Crumb Tray

The crumb tray is a useful accessory — crumbs being quite a hassle to clean up. However, some still fell to the bottom of the oven as we removed the tray. Also, upon cleaning the crumb tray after the roasted chicken test, we found it showed signs of oxidation from catching the drippings.

Toshiba AC25CEW Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

The rotisserie kit does a perfect job of securing the chicken thanks to the angle-adjustable 2-pronged forks.

8.0

Toshiba AC25CEW Build Quality

The black stainless steel Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven is quite robust while still relatively light and small. It also has more air ventilation holes than a number of other toaster ovens including the Toshiba and Cuisinart.

Usability

How We Rated

The Toshiba AC25CEW Toaster Oven isn’t difficult to use but it’s not particularly convenient either. The accessories show signs of attention to detail but not so much the user interaction.

9.0

The Toshiba has 10 functions to choose from. However, the convection fan isn’t applicable to all of them. Nonetheless, you can always choose Convection, then set the desired temperature and time.

The large and detailed timer from one minute to two hours is a strong point of this oven. It’s also specified by the minute.

5.0

The oven door has a heat-resistant handle and tray-level indicators on the glass. The casing has good heat insulation and only gets too hot to the touch at 450°F.

The Toshiba doesn’t have an automatic preheat phase like many other digital models. The digital display automatically turns off after a period of no interaction. After the oven finishes cooking, you will hear a very clear beep similar to when you’ve just plugged in.

There’s no audio cue when you’re adjusting the knobs. Furthermore, if you need to readjust the setting during cooking, you have to press stop and repeat all the inputs. The only thing you can adjust during cooking is the timer.

It’s hard to keep the door partially open and there’s no internal lighting. Also, this oven doesn’t turn off upon opening the door, unlike some others.

Although the accessories fit well, removing the rotisserie kit from the oven can be a little tricky even with the lifter. With a little practice, however, it’ll become much easier.

8.0

Toshiba Toaster Oven AC25CEW Cleanability

We cleaned the Toshiba following our toaster oven cleaning guide. Thanks to its internal and external coating and lack of difficult nooks and crannies, cleaning was pretty straightforward. In addition, enough space has been left between the heating elements and internal walls to facilitate cleaning.

Roasting a whole chicken with the rotisserie kit left some difficult stains on the ceiling but a paste of baking soda and water did the trick. One minor inconvenience was that some crumbs still fell onto the internal floor and we had to pick them up anyway.

The Toshiba AC25CEW-BS Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

At the same size, the Toshiba AC25CEW-BS was the clear winner over the Hamilton Beach 31127D in every aspect including performance, design, and usability. While the latter was cheaper, the former offered a lot more value in cooking foods and included accessories, for example. This was the reason why we chose the Toshiba as our best value toaster oven.

When compared to a more expensive toaster oven of the same size like the Breville BOV845BSSUSC, the Toshiba didn’t score as high in terms of design and usability. However, the Toshiba prevailed in its cooking performance even though both ovens had the same power output and a convection system.

Even when competing with the Instant Omni Plus 18L—our best air fryer toaster oven, the Toshiba didn’t fall too far behind when it came to cooking foods. At a cheaper price, the Toshiba didn’t have as many features of design and usability as the Instant.

Toshiba AC25CEW-BS FAQs

Length: 12.60 inches

Width: 12.20 inches

Height: 9.25 inches

No, the Toshiba AC25CEW doesn’t have internal lighting. Yes, the stay-on function of this oven is Keep Warm with a timer of 2 hours.

The Toshiba AC25CEW uses 1500 Watts of power. The exterior only gets too hot to the touch at 450°F, especially after cooking for around an hour.

No, the Toshiba AC25CEW doesn’t have a non-stick coating so it’s free of PFOA. Nonetheless, it’s still easy to clean.

Yes, it has a removable crumb tray. A removable crumb tray is an accessory whether the removable oven-bottom tray is part of the oven’s construction and the oven won’t run when the tray isn’t in place.

The digital display automatically turns off after a period of no interaction and you don’t need to turn it off manually. No, the Toshiba AC25CEW doesn’t have a turn-on timer.