Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Combo Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1800W

The Instant Omni Plus 18L 140-4002-01 Air Fryer Toaster Oven paves the way for an easy feast with a status bar, automatic reminders, and an app featuring instructional recipes. It’s suitable for people who are all about convenience, smart technologies, and overall efficiency at a good price.

As proof of good design, the accessories fit perfectly minimizing inconvenience and the danger of electric shocks. The oven comes with a rotisserie kit and an air fryer basket covering all the cooking methods an oven can provide.

However, in trying to increase convenience, it succumbs to minor weaknesses in its technology.

Things We Like

  • Informative and eye-catching package
  • Smart Programs and cooking status bar
  • Electrical safety feature for the door
  • Convenient removable oven bottom tray
  • Safeguards for all heating elements
  • Complimentary app with detailed instructions and numerous recipes
  • Helpful toggles
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior

Things We Don’t Like

  • Touchscreen digital displays need more contrast
  • The master-control knob can be confusing
  • Updated Jul 08, 2022:

    Review published.

The silver stainless steel Instant Omni Plus 18L 140-4002-01 Air Fryer Toaster Oven is an ideal smart kitchen gadget to add to your cooking arsenal. The oven features a clever design, smart programs, and all the necessary cooking functions (and more) at a price of around $250 (at the time of writing).

As proof of our claims, we put this oven through a series of tests to assess its practicality and efficiency in detail. The results show, on a scale of 0 to 10, the quality of the design and its functionality.

We also performed similar tests on a range of other toaster ovens including the Toshiba AC25CEW-BS and Cuisinart TOA-60. They serve as direct comparisons and add to the credibility of our evaluation.

This comprehensive review aims to present a fair assessment and bring you some helpful information for making a good purchase decision. Moreover, we’ll share some tips on what you should and shouldn’t do to get the most out of this oven.

Instant Omni Plus 18L Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

The performance of the Instant Omni Plus 18L 140-4002-01 Air Fryer Toaster Oven is consistently great. In particular, it’s excellent at roasting a whole chicken and baking french fries. This is thanks to its great design, useful accessories, and strong convection system.

7.3

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Toast
On the left: Level 1; In the middle: Level 2; On the right: Level 3

Using the steps of our Toast test, we determined that level 2—5 minutes 25 seconds on the timer—was the best option scoring a 7.3/10. In comparison, the level 1 and 3 had a more uneven while being lighter and darker surface color respectively.

The Toast Level 2 of the Instant Omni Plus 18L produced four pieces with an 85% even golden brown color. Since the fan couldn’t be deployed, the toast had some darker spots and lighter areas resulting in a 6/10.

The first batch of toast was nicely crispy while still soft and moist inside and we gave it an 8/10 for taste. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined it would be excellent with omelet and eggs benedict but not so good for sandwiches or soup.

This is one of the few ovens with a smart program that automatically deducts time to reach certain temperatures when the oven’s already hot. Thus, the surface color of the toasts was quite consistent throughout multiple batches. In addition, due to its extra crispiness, the second batch was determined to be good enough for soup.

If you want the second batch to be similar to the first, remember to lower it by one level. Overall, the score for consecutive usability was 7/10.

8.6

Instant Omni Plus 18L Pizza

The Instant Omni Plus, having a very strong convection system, did not seem ideal for baking a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza resulting in an 8.6/10.

A cooking time of only 3m 50s was extremely fast compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label. After comparing it to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, it was more than enough for a 10/10.

The crust, although golden brown, was a little soft with some lighter and darker areas due to the short cooking time plus strong fan. It got an 8/10.

The entire surface was a little too dry due to all the convection. In addition, while the cheese was nicely melted, caramelization wasn’t even due to the short cooking time. Thus, the final score for the toppings was 8.2/10.

Our chef gave the pizza an 8.5/10 for taste.

8.4

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Whole Roasted Chicken 1

Following our Whole Roasted Chicken test, we chose a 3 lb chicken and it fit without a problem scoring an 8.4/10.

However, cleaning up was a big hassle as there wasn’t enough space below to use the drip pan. Worse still, during cooking fat splashed everywhere inside the oven causing the heating elements to smoke.

The roasting time was 50 minutes which was shorter than average and worthy of a 9/10.

The rotisserie kit and high convection together produced perfectly golden brown crispy skin deserving a 9.8/10. One thing to note is that due to the meat being considerably moist, the skin lost its crispiness in a relatively short time span.

The smooth rotation and high convection also allowed the whole chicken to be thoroughly cooked without any pink spots in just 50 minutes. The internal temperature was only a little higher than the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F at 178-190°F, so it got a 9/10.

The meat was almost fall-off-the-bone. Unfortunately, with it being so moist—to the point of softening the skin, our chef could only give it a 7 for taste.

9.3

Instant Omni Plus 18L Baked French Fries

The Instant Omni Plus was excellent at baking 12 oz of french fries with a score of 9.3/10.

After performing our Baked French Fries test on different toaster ovens, we came to the conclusion that the ideal cooking time for baked french fries was 15 minutes. However, it wasn’t the fastest one on our list so it scored a 9/10.

The strong convection combined with the air fryer basket produced evenly golden fries worthy of a 9.8/10 for color.

What helped the color also baked perfectly crispy fries while retaining a nice amount of moisture. This earned the oven another 9.8/10 for the texture of baked french fries.

Our chef gave the fries a 9/10 for taste.

The design of the Instant Omni Plus 18L 140-4002-01 Air Fryer Toaster Oven shows attention to detail and makes use of modern technology. While not perfect, its strong points are more than enough to make up for the minor drawbacks

Instant Omni Plus In the Box
  • Model: 140-4002-01
  • Warranty: 1 year (US and Canada only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Rotisserie Kit and Lifter
  • Air Fryer Basket

You can quickly access the download page for the Instant Pot App thanks to the QR code on the package and the user manual. Their website provides the full manual, how-to videos, FAQs, and more. You’ll also need to go there to register your product and activate your warranty.

9.5

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Exterior

An example of the Instant Omni Plus 18L’s clever design is the slide-out crumb tray not to mention its two strong base stands as well as air ventilation on two sides and the back. For safety, it has two buffers on the back to prevent the oven from sitting too close to the wall and a cool-touch door handle.

To accommodate its many cooking functions, there are tray-level indicators on the glass door. Our measurements of the oven’s footprint of 16.54" x 15.75" x 13.90" were quite different from the manufacturer’s 12" x 12" x 13.89" in terms of length and width.

We could explain that the difference in width was because we also took the dial and the back buffers into account but not the difference in length. Nonetheless, we didn’t find this to be a problem.

Instant Omni Plus Control Panel

This oven has a black LCD digital touchscreen and one master-control knob. The display includes the cooking status bar, functions, and toggles for Light, Convection, and Rotation. Besides the automatic oven preheat feature, it features an audio cue to turn food halfway through the input cooking time.

Audio cues include the beeps when you plug in the oven, select a function as well as adjust time and temperature, and when the oven finishes cooking. According to some reviews we’ve seen, they can be a bit loud, especially for households with children and/or pets. However, they can be turned off by pressing and holding the control knobs for 5 seconds until the screen displays S OFF.

  • Air fry (180°F - 450°F)
  • Broil (350°F - 450°F)
  • Bake (180°F - 450°F)
  • Roast (180°F - 450°F)
  • Dehydrate (85°F - 175°F)
  • Reheat (120°F - 360°F)
  • Warm (170°F - 300°F)
  • Toast (level 1-5)

Even though there’s no Rotisserie function, the oven comes with a tailored rotisserie kit and a Rotation Toggle. Besides making dried fruits, herbs, and meat jerky, the Dehydrate function is also ideal for proofing bread dough at 85°F and Low Convect.

9.5

Instant Omni Plus 18L Interior

Capacity: 24 liters - 6 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza - 4-pound chicken

The Instant Omni Plus has four golden quartz heating elements. These pipes use infrared light to cook, which produces more heat and also cools down faster.

They are also easier to clean and more energy-efficient but don’t last as long in terms of durability. However, if grease splashes onto the heating elements while cooking, it’ll leave permanent stains.

Featuring safety guards, the heating elements are kept out of direct contact with baking pans and trays. The oven even includes a coil nichrome heating element at the top, specifically for broiling.

To top it off, this oven has a powerful and not noisy convection system as an interior light. In addition to 4 tray levels, you can make use of the baking rack with its rack-up and down positions.

We measured the cooking chamber’s volume to be roughly 24.6 liters—a lot different from the manufacturer’s provided capacity of 18 liters. However, this could be because we measured from the cooking chamber’s walls to walls whereas the manufacturer stopped before reaching the heating elements.

Instant Omni Plus Power Cord

The power cord is roughly 33.46"—more than long enough for household use. However, the cord can’t fully wrap around the two back stands as they are too high up.

Instant Omni Plus Baking Rack

The rack fits perfectly with the guide which helps prevent accidents when placing your food in the oven.

Instant Omni Plus Baking Pan

Thanks to its perfect size, the baking pan does a great job of catching the meat juice and drippings from the air fryer basket. Thus, it helps prevent making a mess and avoid the danger of fire from dirty heating elements. Keep in mind that the dishwasher can damage the enamel coating.

Instant Omni Plus Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

The rotisserie kit does a perfect job of securing a chicken thanks to the 4-pronged forks with adjustable angles.

Instant Omni Plus Air Fryer Basket

The air fryer basket has a good elevation to help with heat circulation around the bottom of the food.

9.0

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Build Quality

The Instant Omni Plus 18L is a well-built and intricate piece of equipment, to say the least. It provides a helpful cooking status bar, smart programs, and automatic features. The oven does consume a lot of electricity so make sure your outlet can provide and handle 1800 W.

The meticulous design shows in the bottom tray, safeguards for heating elements, and cooling fan for its mainboard. However, the bottom tray can easily slide out if you tilt the oven. Also, during our roasting of a whole chicken, the hot drippings created some oxidation on the crumb tray.

Usability

How We Rated

The Instant Omni Plus 18L 140-4002-01 Air Fryer Toaster Oven maximizes its ease of use but that leads to some weak points in and of itself. The same goes for its user control.

9.9

The Instant Omni Plus 18L has 8 settings to choose from but can serve more than 10 functions. Although the LCD display could be improved with better contrast, it’s not a big problem.

The master-control knob can be confusing for first-timers but it should take little effort to get familiarized with it. The temperature can be adjusted in 1°F increments by turning the knob slowly and in 10°F increments by turning the knob fast. Also, the timer is specified by the minute.

If you want to readjust the setting during cooking, simply tap the feature and adjust it with the knob. Don’t tap Cancel as it will reset your inputs and repeat the automatic preheating.

The convection setting is applicable to almost all except for toast. One thing to note from the manual is that most recipes recommend reducing the temperature by 25°F when convection is on.

The convection fan speeds can toggle between high and low which is not very common for ovens, especially at the same price range. The two exceptions are Air Fry which always uses High Convect and Warm using Low Convect.

8.0

When you adjust temperature and time for a function, the Instant Omni Plus saves your setting for next time use. After the oven finishes cooking, it will beep and automatically switch to Keep Warm mode until the display shows End.

After a period of no interaction, the digital display will show the word OFF similar to when you’ve just plugged it in. You’ll then need to push the knob once to turn it on. It’s advised to unplug the oven after you finish using it.

The light automatically turns off after 30 seconds of no interaction and turns on 30 seconds before finishing cooking. Opening the oven door pauses the cooking but the light stays on for another 30 seconds. Closing the oven door resumes the cooking but it will go into stand-by mode resetting all inputs after 5m30s.

Taking the rotisserie kit out of the oven can be a bit tricky even with the lifter. However, with a bit of practice, it’ll be no problem at all. The oven has good heat insulation, so the casing doesn’t get too hot to the touch at 350°F and 400°F but be careful at 450°F.

7.0

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Cleanability

We cleaned the Instant Omni Plus 18L following our toaster oven cleaning guide. Despite having an internal and external coating, it still wasn’t easy to clean due to some very tricky nooks and crannies. The small gaps between the heating elements and internal walls didn’t help either.

Most of the mess came from the considerable fat splatter from roasting a whole chicken. It left difficult stains on the heating elements and their safeguards which were already tricky to clean.

With the removable oven-bottom tray, cleaning up the crumbs was extremely easy but we still had to tilt the oven to get all of the crumbs out. On the bright side, having thought it would be difficult to clean caramelized bits of food from the air fryer basket due to the fishnet design, we were happy to find this wasn’t the case.

The Instant Omni Plus 18L Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

As a medium-sized toaster oven, the Instant Omni Plus 18L—our best air fryer toaster oven— tied with our best large toaster oven—the Ninja DT201 in their overall scores. Interestingly, looking closer at the performance tests, the former had more consistent scores. With the size difference, the Instant was cheaper than the Ninja.

The battle with the Cosori CO130-AO—our best-to-buy toaster oven—was a close one in every aspect including performance, design, and usability. The Instant got a slight edge thanks to its ability to air fryer foods better.

At roughly the same score, the Cuisinart TOA-60—our best convection toaster oven— and the Instant were basically two opposites. The former was simplistic and completely analog while the latter was digital and incorporated smart technologies.

Instant Omni Plus 18L FAQs

Length: 13.77 inches

Width: 12.59 inches

Height: 8.66 inches

Yes, the Instant Omni Plus 18L has internal lighting. Yes, the stay-on function of this oven is Warm with a timer of 60 minutes.

The Instant Omni Plus 18L uses 1800 W. The oven doesn’t get too hot to the touch at 350°F and 400°F but be careful at 450°F, especially during a long cooking time.

The Instant Omni Plus 18L doesn’t have a non-stick coating so it’s free of PFOA. Nonetheless, it’s still easy to clean.

After a period of no interaction, the digital display will show the word OFF similar to when you’ve just plugged it in. It’s advised to unplug the oven after you finish using it. No, the Instant Omni Plus 18L doesn’t have a turn-on timer.