Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1800W

The silver stainless steel Cosori Air Fryer toaster oven made its way to the list of our top selections with the value it provided. Look no further if you’re looking for an excellent large toaster oven whether you’re a beginner or an experienced cook.

With 1800 W of power, four nichrome heating elements, and a powerful convection system, the oven consistently provided great performances cooking the foods in our test. With handy accessories like the rotisserie kit and air fryer basket, it came in prepared for any cooking task thrown at it.

In addition, the cooking process is made worry-free with a well-designed LED display, cooking functions, feature toggles, and an automatic preheat phase.

Of course, the oven wasn’t without some flaws though minor. While the cooking chamber was spacious, it didn’t have a non-stick coating to help with the cleaning.

Things We Like

  • Great value in terms of functionality and accessories
  • Straightforward user control
  • Useful toggles
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Sturdy construction
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Spacious cooking chamber

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable
  • Updated Oct 29, 2022:

    Review published.

The silver stainless steel Cosori CO130-AO Countertop Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven offers tremendous value with its price of 199.99$ (at the time of writing). The oven has a straightforward control panel that includes useful toggles and well-thought-out cooking functions. Its handy accessories also accommodate the spacious cooking chamber very well.

This in-depth review aims to provide a fair evaluation to help you make an informed buying decision. In addition, we'll give you some advice on what to do and what not to do to get the most out of this oven.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

The Cosori CO130-AO, on average, performed great throughout all of our tests. It was able to fully utilize its high power output of 1800 W and powerful convection system thanks to its included accessories. To us, these were some of the main grounds to establish the product’s value for money.

7.6

We started our Toast test with four pieces of white bread on toast level 3 and the results were good, but the color was a bit too brown to be ideal. After examining the outcome of the toast level 2, it was clear that it was the best option scoring a 7.6/10 in total. We also tried the toast level 1, which resulted in lightly toasted bread, for reference.

At level 2—5 minutes 49 seconds on the timer—, the four pieces of toast mostly had a beautiful golden brown color. However, the existence of the lighter areas, especially on the bottom side, kept it from being perfect but still worthy of an 8/10 for even surface color.

The taste deserved another 8/10 thanks to the toast’s crispy outside and soft, moist inside. Our head chef, Tuyet Pham, determined the toast would greatly complement pretty much everything including sandwiches, omelets, eggs benedict, and soup.

After the first batch of toast, we immediately placed the second batch in the oven. The toast level 2 automatically deducted the time to 3 minutes 50 seconds.

However, this seemed like too big of a time decrease as the toast came out mostly lacking in color. Thus, it wasn’t very crispy either, so we could only give the oven a 6.8/10 for consecutive usability.

7.6

The Cosori’s ability to maintain a high temperature really shined through getting it a 7.6/10 in our Pizza test.

With a high power output and powerful convection system, it only took 3 minutes 30 seconds to cook a bake a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza placed on tray level 2. Compared to many other toaster ovens, this was extremely fast and deserving of a 10/10.

However, the short cooking time resulted in unevenness in the pizza crust and toppings.

While the bottom right quarter of the crust was golden brown, the rest didn’t have much color. Of course, only that part was crispy while the rest was soft, so we gave the crust a 7/10.

The same happened to the toppings where the bottom right quarter had a lot of caramelization, to the point of charring the onions, while the rest was only mildly caramelized. In addition, the cheese wasn’t very melty, so we gave the toppings a 7/10 as well.

Taste-wise, our chef said it could be better if it weren’t for the slight bitterness from the charred onions and gave the pizza another 7/10.

8.9

Throughout the many times we’ve conducted our Whole Roasted Chicken test, the Cosori wasn’t the only one with a high power output and powerful convection system. What set it apart was its rotisserie kit and function.

In addition, the large cooking chamber had more than enough space for a 3 lb chicken to be rotated smoothly and a baking pan below to catch the drippings. Everything together scored a whopping 8.9/10.

The oven took only 40 minutes to roast the chicken to a beautiful color which was the fastest time we’ve had so far earning it the highest score of 10/10. The skin was mostly golden with some appetizing golden brown color at the wings and the tips.

However, it seemed like the skin was cooked a bit too quickly and the fat wasn’t fully rendered, so the skin wasn’t very crispy. Nonetheless, the skin still deserved an 8.5/10.

What impressed us the most was the near-perfect doneness—9.9/10— in such a short amount of time. The chicken had no pink spots throughout with an internal temperature of 178°F-181°F which was nigh spot-on to the USDA’s recommended 165°F-180°F.

Unfortunately, for some reason, the meat wasn’t as juicy as we had expected. Combined with the fact that the skin lacked crispiness, our chef couldn’t give the chicken a higher score than an 8/10 after tasting the chicken.

8.1

The Cosori took on our Baked French Fries test with its air fryer basket and scored an 8.1/10.

It took 17 minutes to bake 12 oz of frozen fries on tray level 2 which was quite fast. After comparing it with other unites from our data, we gave it an 8.4/10 for cooking time.

The fries mostly had a great golden color and some thinner pieces even had a better golden brown color. However, some thicker pieces weren’t as golden, so we gave the fries an 8/10 for color.

The same can be said about the texture of the fries which earned another 8/10. Most of the fries were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside but the thinner ones were a bit dry and the thicker ones weren’t as crispy.

Overall, though imperfect, the fries were delicious enough to get one final 8/10 for taste from our chef.

The Cosori CO130-AO has a lot of design features, all of which are of high build quality. Stood out to us were the clear LED display, powerful convection system, large cooking space, and handy accessories like the rotisserie kit and air fryer basket.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven In the Box
  • Model: CO130-AO
  • Warranty: 1 year
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Broiling Rack
  • Removable Crumb Tray
  • Rotisserie Kit and Lifter
  • Air Fryer Basket

The Cosori toaster oven is positioned with two foam pads while all the six accessories are wrapped in carton sheets and duct-taped to the oven. Everything comes in a pleasantly aesthetic box with not much information on it.

All the documents you’ll need are inside a nice envelope including a user manual, a recipe book, and some quick references. You’ll also find a QR code leading you to the manufacturer’s website where you can register your product to extend your warranty by an additional year.

9.0

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Exterior

During our assessment, a prominent aspect of the Cosori is the air ventilation holes on all sides of the casing to accommodate its powerful convection system. In addition, the glass door has indicators corresponding to the oven’s three tray levels and twelve cooking functions.

The oven doesn’t have carrying handles but it’s not heavy for its size so it’s not a big problem. Our measurements of 19.96" x 17.32" x 12.6" pretty much aligned with the manufacturer’s 20.1" x 16.5" x 12.5" with marginal differences being less than one inch. The difference in width is probably because we took the door handle into account.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Control Panel

The Cosori has 2 control dials, one for functions and one for both timer and temperature. It also has 3 buttons, one for both the interior light and the temperature conversion, one to deploy the convection system, and one Start/Cancel button which lights up when the oven is running.

The LED screen will display ‘E1’ when there’s an open circuit in the temperature monitor and ‘E2’ for a short circuit.

  • Toast (level 1-7)
  • Bagel (level 1-7)
  • Pizza (150°F - 450°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Bake (150°F - 450°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Roast (150°F - 400°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Air Fry (150°F - 400°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Broil (150°F - 450°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Cookies (150°F - 450°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Rotisserie (150°F - 400°F, 1 minute - 6 hours)
  • Dehydrate (100°F - 180°F, 30 minute - 24 hours)
  • Ferment (80°F - 110°F, 30 minute - 12 hours)
  • Warm (140°F - 230°F, 1 minute - 12 hours)

Besides the basic cooking functions, which already have a wide time and temperature range, the Cosori also has various practical additional cooking functions allowing for even wider time and temperature ranges.

The ones that impressed us the most were Warm, Dehydrate, and Ferment which can maintain the oven at as low as 140°F, 100°F, and 80°F respectively. Looking at a number of recipes, these temperatures fit their intended purpose, which means this oven can act as a family-sized dehydrator and dough proofer.

Note that only the bottom heating elements operate during these functions.

9.5

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Interior

Capacity: 31.49 liters - 6 slices of toast - 13-inch pizza - 5-pound chicken

The Cosori has a spacious cooking chamber even for a large oven which can accommodate 6 slices of toast, a 13-inch pizza, or a 5-pound chicken. We measured the volume to be around 31.49 liters compared to the manufacturer’s 30 liters. However, it’s not a big deal and could just be a difference in measuring standards.

The interior features include a convection fan, light, a rotisserie socket and bracket, three tray levels, and four nichrome heating elements. To be nitpicky, it doesn’t have a non-stick coating, so it may be prone to some stubborn stains.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Power Cord

The power cord has plenty of length for household use—roughly 40.94"—even though it protrudes from the bottom of the oven which usually create inconvenient bends.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Rack

The baking rack fits perfectly with the guide to prevent accidents when placing food in the oven. It’s also shaped to maximize the space inside the cooking chamber.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Accessories: Baking Pan

The baking pan also fits the guide rails to fully utilize the cooking space. It has ridges and grooves which can give your food attractive roasting marks and catch the dripping better. Its coating isn’t completely non-stick, so it may be prone to accumulating some stubborn stains though.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray

The crumb tray is a helpful accessory to clean up the pesky falling crumbs and bits. However, some may still fall to the oven’s floor as the tray is removed.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Accessories: Rotisserie Kit and Lifter

With angle-adjustable 2-pronged forks, the rotisserie kit does a fantastic job of securing the chicken. The forks are made from thick steel to avoid bending but don’t have a coating, so they may be subject to permanent stains. The rod and the lifter, however, have a coating so you won’t need to worry about rust.

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Accessories: Air Fryer Basket

Similar to the baking pan and the oven rack, the air fryer basket fits with the guide rail. In this case, however, it’s to provide space and allow for heat circulation around the bottom of the food.

9.5

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Build Quality

The Cosori is made from high-quality and durable 304 stainless steel. The thick casing provides good insulation in addition to a well-thought-out convection system. Thus, the oven rarely gets hot to the touch, only after a long cooking time at a high temperature (>400°F).

As for the control panel, the LED display is very easy to see, the control dials turn smoothly, and the buttons are responsive. The accessories are designed to make the most out of the space inside the cooking chamber.

Usability

How We Rated

In our evaluation, the high usability of the Cosori CO130-AO lies in its well-designed automatic preheat phase, use full toggles, and practical cooking functions. The cooking chamber as well as accessories could have a better coating to make them easier to clean though.

9.5

The convection feature can toggle between normal and high with both settings not making a lot of noise. The fan can be applicable to all functions except Toast and Bagel.

For the time and temperature control dial, you’ll need to press it to switch between one and the other. Temperature can be adjusted in increments of 5°F/2°C-3°C. The timer, however, is adjusted differently from function to function.

For Pizza, Bake, Roast, Air Fry, Broil, Cookies, Rotisserie, and Warm functions, the timer can be adjusted in increments of 1 minute below 60 minutes, in increments of 5 minutes from 1-2 hours, in increments of 10 minutes from 2-3 hours, and in increments of 15 minutes from 2-3 hours. For Dehydrate and Ferment functions, the timer can be adjusted in increments of 30 minutes.

On top of the practical various additional cooking functions, the way of adjusting time and temperature makes this oven, overall, easier to use than many other digital ones. In addition, you can press and hold the time and temperature dial to turn off the display to save energy while keeping the oven plugged in.

8.0

The Cosori has an automatic preheat phase which is applicable to the Pizza, Bake, Roast, Broil, Cookies, and Air Fryer functions. This feature also automatically deducts the time if the oven’s already hot.

This toaster oven is one of the rare units where the automatic preheat phase heats up the oven to an internal temperature equal to the input temperature. Most other toaster ovens simply have a set amount of time for the automatic preheat phase which usually reaches around the same internal temperature every time, regardless of the input temperature.

According to our observation, the Cosori takes around 2-4 minutes to reach 300°F, 3-5 minutes to 325°F, 4-6 minutes to 350°F, and 6-8 minutes to 400°F. When preaheating is finished, the oven will beep several times and the display will flash once every minute. You’ll need to press start to initiate cooking or the cooking function will be canceled after 10 minutes.

Thanks to the light toggle, you can fully decide when to turn the light on and off. Its door can open partially at a 70° angle to allow food to cool inside the oven. Opening the door doesn’t stop the oven or the interior light.

The oven turns off automatically after 30 minutes of no interaction. Nonetheless, it’s still advised to unplug the oven after use for safety reasons.

The Cosori’s EvenRapid Tech™ is advertised to reduce cooking time by 30% thanks to increased heat circulation. Suffice to say, it met our expectations with fast cooking times and even surface caramelization.

7.5

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Cleanability

The Cosori’s exterior and interior are made of stainless steel so they’re easy to clean most of the time. However, the interior doesn’t have a non-stick coating so the grease from our whole roasted chicken test led to some extremely stubborn stains on the cooking chamber’s ceiling.

We couldn’t completely remove them even by brushing them with a paste of baking soda and water. The rotisserie forks and rod as well as the rotisserie bracket and the baking pan also had equally stubborn stains.

The grease on the there other walls was easy to clean though, even around the fan cavity. We were worried that the grease can splash inside the fan cavity though.

On the bright side, it wasn’t difficult to clean caramelized bits of food from the air fryer basket despite the fishnet design.

Cosori Air Fryer Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

The Cosori CO130-AO—our choice for the best-to-buy toaster oven—tied in terms of performance score to our best large toaster oven—the Ninja DT201. However, the scores were more consistent which could be largely contributed to the fact that it better suited the portion size of our tests.

It also went toe-to-toe with our best air fryer toaster oven—the Instant Omni Plus 18L— in every aspect including performance, design, and usability. Nonetheless, it was worth noting that while the Instant had more features of ease of use, the Cosori better executed what it had.

On one hand, the Cosori lost to the Cuisinart TOA-60—our best convection toaster oven— in the cooking battle, though not by much. On the other hand, it won in terms of usability thanks to its practical user control and automatic preheat phase.

Cosori Air Fryer FAQs

Length: 14.17 inches (36 cm)

Width: 13.78 inches (35 cm)

Height: 9.84 inches (25 cm)

Yes, the Cosori CO130-AO has internal lighting. This oven doesn’t have a stay-on function but can keep operating for up to 24 hours.

The Cosori CO130-AO uses 1800 Watts of power. The oven rarely gets hot to the touch, only after a long cooking time at a high temperature (>400°F).

The Cosori CO130-AO doesn’t have a non-stick coating, so it’s free of PFOA . Nonetheless, it’s still relatively easy to clean.

The oven turns off automatically after 30 minutes of no interaction. Nonetheless, it’s still advised to unplug the oven after use for safety reasons. No, the Cosori CO130-AO doesn’t have a turn-on timer.