Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links. Learn more.

The Best Air Fryer Toaster Ovens in 2023 Buyer’s Guide & Reviews

Read on for our list of the best air fryer toaster ovens in 2023. A good air fryer toaster oven can satisfy your craving for french fries with a healthier air-fried alternative, without the need for a separate product.

By Alan Nguyen and Nguyen Ntk
Updated
4 best air fryer toaster ovens: Instant Omni Plus 18L, Ninja DT201, Cuisinart TOA-60, Cosori CO130-AO.

If you love french fries but try to avoid deep-fried foods as much as possible, a good air fry toaster oven can satisfy your craving. To be an air fryer toaster oven, the machine first needs to be a convection toaster oven—having a built-in fan (a convection system) to help with the air circulation inside the cooking chamber. This helps the cooking process faster and more even.

Then, it needs to have an air fryer basket, which maximizes heat circulation around the food and drains the excess fat during cooking. A separate ‘air fry’ function is not as important as long as the two prior conditions are met.

Nonetheless, there are still countless air fryer toaster oven models on the market that you need to choose from. This is why we selected, purchased, and review a number of highly-rated and popular air fryer toaster ovens to help with your purchase decision.

Check out our picks for the best air fryer toaster ovens in 2023 and some exclusive shopping tips from us.

When Should You Buy An Air Fryer Toaster Oven?

First of all, air fryer toaster ovens have all the benefits of convection toaster ovens, like faster cooking time and less energy consumption than conventional ovens. They also come in various shapes, sizes, and price ranges.

Air fryer toaster ovens elevate some of the dishes that convection toaster ovens can make, thanks to the additional cooking utility of an air fryer, but without the need for a separate product. They also tend to have higher build quality than their conventional counterpart since their additional features already require the investment.

Of course, they are more expensive than a conventional toaster oven or an air fryer. However, you also get a lot more utility value with their cooking functions and accompanying accessories, not just an air fryer basket.

If these qualities are on your list, there is no need to hesitate further and get yourself an air fryer toaster oven. These benefits are the main reasons why most of our best air fryer toaster oven candidates are also present in our list of best toaster ovens of 2023.

1. Reduce Fat from Deep Frying

Air fryer toaster ovens have all the strength of convection toaster ovens when it comes to savory dishes like baked pizza and roasted meat. Moreover, their best qualities shine through in making foods that usually require frying or deep frying.

Air-frying foods require much less fat than frying and deep-frying specifically but have similar surface coloring and internal moisture. It does result in less crispiness and requires a longer cooking time than deep-frying though.

Some brands claim that using an air fryer instead of a deep fryer can help cut the foods’ fat content by up to 75%, which can be arbitrary since there’s no concrete data. What we do know is that the oil content of carbohydrate-rich foods increases significantly after being deep-fried.

This is because deep-frying requires submerging the foods in fat (up to 750 ml or more, depending on the fryer) which provides more fat to be absorbed into the foods. Meanwhile, for air-frying, you only need to lightly coat the foods in fat (about 10 ml for 24 oz of fries).

2. Health Benefits

You can use a variety of fat for frying and deep frying—including melted butter, lard, or plant-based oil like coconut oil, avocado oil, or grapeseed oil—to varying results. Whatever the variety, fat still has 9 calories per gram, protein and carbs have 4, and fiber has 2.

In other words, you need less fat to meet your energy needs and more to fill your stomach than protein, carbs, or fiber. Thus, by reducing the fat content, air fryer toaster ovens can serve to help you create healthier eating habits and avoid gaining excess body fat (a caloric surplus of 3500 = 1 lb of stored body fat).

Air frying foods can also reduce the amount of potentially harmful compounds formed with high-heat cooking like acrylamide. It’s a compound formed in carbohydrate-rich foods during high-heat cooking methods like frying, which has been linked to increased cancer risks. Aldehydes, heterocyclic amines, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons are other examples.

3. Quick and Crispy Convection Cooking

A tray of whole toaster oven roasted chicken. The thermometer has two probes inside the chicken and displays 205°F and 207°F.

One of the most prominent strengths of air fryer toaster ovens is faster cooking times than conventional toaster ovens that are already twice as fast as traditional wall ovens. This is mainly due to the convection system which circulates air inside the oven’s cooking chamber during the cooking process.

Moreover, air fryer baskets in toaster ovens usually have a fishnet design which further increases heat circulation around the foods. Of course, air fryer baskets only work with solid foods like whole chickens and turkeys, cuts of meat, or fries.

These two components are the reasons why air-frying foods can achieve similar surface coloring and internal moisture as frying or deep-frying. However, air-fried foods won’t be as crispy and require a longer cooking time. This is partially because oil is a better heat-transfer medium than air.

Nonetheless, there are methods to increase the crispiness of foods. For example, coating the food in batter and/or breadcrumbs. Doing so may create a mess though, so be careful and place a baking pan below to catch any falling food particles.

4. More Versatile Than Air Fryers

Compared to the common pod-shaped air fryers which are best for 1-2 people servings, air fryer toaster ovens can deliver the same, if not better, performances for 3-4 people servings and more. The portion size advantage also applies to the other cooking functions like toasting bread, baking, broiling, or dehydrating that some of the premium models can provide.

Overall, air fryer toaster ovens are an excellent option if you want to air fry foods in large quantities and not waste space by having a separate air fryer, toaster, and oven. These combo models are one of the best solutions for effectively managing your space constraints and designing your kitchen.

Things to Keep In Mind For Buying the Best Air Fryer Toaster Ovens

To have enough space for the investment of a convection system and possibly other features, air fryer toaster ovens rarely come in small sizes but from medium-sized to large and extra large.

We recommend units with a power draw of 1800 W to accommodate the oven’s capacity. This can also help to ensure sufficient heating at high temperatures (≥ 400°F), especially for common air-fried foods like frozen fries.

Looking at our collected data, we suggest looking for air fryer toaster ovens with nichrome heating elements or even a combination of quartz and nichrome varieties for better surface browning.

The convection setting may not be ideal for baking sweets as explained in our ‘convection toaster ovens’ article, but most convection ovens can toggle between on and off to fit the requirements of your recipe.

Usually, digital air fryer toaster ovens have higher ease of use in terms of control, like the Instant Omni Plus 18L, Ninja DT201, or Cosori CO130-AO. However, there are analog units that have as accurate and flexible controls, including the Cuisinart TOA-60 on our list.

How We Test Air Fryer Toaster Ovens

On a white background, 35 pieces of toast with four pieces broken in halves and 3 pink stickers with toaster ovens’ names.
One test day’s worth of toast

Our testing procedures were designed with the inclusion of air fryer toaster ovens in mind so no changes had to be made. Nonetheless, there were a few things that should be pointed out.

For all of our performance tests, we deployed the strongest convection setting possible including if the said setting is only applicable to certain cooking functions.

We don’t use air fryer baskets for toasting bread since most ovens don’t operate the convection fan while toasting, so there should be no difference. Moreover, air fryer baskets are usually smaller than oven racks, so we won’t be able to make full use of the oven’s capacity.

There are, however, benefits to baking french fries or roasting whole chickens inside air fryer baskets compared to doing so on baking pans. These benefits can be reflected in the foods’ surface color as well as texture and taste. Thus, we don’t evaluate the air fryer basket in the ‘design’ section of the toaster oven.

When cooking with an air fryer basket, you’ll always need to place a baking pan below to catch any debris and drippings. Therefore, whether the cooking chamber has enough space can greatly affect the oven’s cleanability.

Most of our tested air fryer toaster ovens also had comparatively short cooking times. However, they can be attributed to many reasons, including the capacity, convection system, heating elements, and power draw.

How well everything works in unison is reflected and evaluated in the performance tests. Meanwhile, how easy and convenient it is to use the oven is evaluated in the usability section.

How We Pick the Best Air Fryer Toaster Ovens

Our hands-on experience combined with knowledge from different experts allowed us to be thorough when designing our test. We also consulted user reviews to find out which features matter to most consumers and applied them to our scoring table.

Thus, rest assured that only the candidates with the highest score in every aspect can become our pick for the all-around best convection toaster oven. According to our results so far, the Instant Omni Plus 18L has an ideal balance of performance, design, and usability—our scoring criteria.

Why Trust Us?

Our team of three people is writing the scores for a baked pizza using a toaster oven on a sheet of paper using a pen. The background is grey, with two lights on the sides.

What separates us from other product reviewing platforms is that our basis revolves around hands-on experimentation as a team. Our testing criteria prioritize user experience with all kinds of toaster ovens. Based on the authentic appraisal and helpful information from our reviews, you can confidently decide how good a toaster oven is for you.

With the culinary expertise of our head chef, we developed our performance tests through the most commonly cooked foods in a toaster oven. Simultaneously, the Research, Testing, and Review (RTR) team scored the features of design and usability through our interactions with the toaster ovens during use.

In our How We Tested Toaster Ovens article, you can follow our tests step by step and see how we were able to finalize the scores which you see in our reviews. Seeing is believing, so our entire testing process is illustrated with original videos and photographs. Our tests are to be performed the same way on every toaster oven which means you can reliably replicate them as well.

After being tested, the toaster ovens are employed in the kitchen of Healthy Recipes 101 for intensive and extensive use. This is how we maintain a constant flow of feedback on the quality and performance of the toaster ovens as well as the do’s and don’ts when using them.

Review of the Best Air Fryer Toaster Ovens in 2023

We've now covered the criteria to consider when making a purchase. Let's go right to the point and discuss the most crucial factor that brought us together today: the list of the best air fryer toaster ovens for 2023.

1. Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven — Best to Buy Air Fryer Toaster Oven

The front of a closed stainless steel Instant Omni Plus 18L 10-in-1 Countertop Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven.
The front of a closed stainless steel Instant Omni Plus 18L 10-in-1 Countertop Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the Instant Omni Plus 18L 10-in-1 Air Fryer Toaster Oven.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with melty cheese, meat, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
The close-up of a pulled-apart roasted chicken thigh. In the background is the rest of the roasted chicken on a tray.
Ten pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries inside an air fryer basket.

Things We Like

  • Informative and eye-catching package
  • Smart Programs and cooking status bar
  • Electrical safety feature for the door
  • Convenient removable oven bottom tray
  • Safeguards for bottom heating elements
  • Complimentary app with detailed instructions and numerous recipes
  • Helpful toggles
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior

Things We Don’t Like

  • Touchscreen digital displays need more contrast
  • The master-control knob can be confusing

Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven Combo Test Results

8.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.1/10
  • Design (25%)
    9.7/10
  • Usability (25%)
    8.4/10

The silver stainless steel Instant Omni Plus 18L Air Fryer Toaster Oven has an outstanding air frying capability shown in our performance tests. In fact, it was one of the main reasons why it became our choice for the best air fryer toaster oven.

Moreover, the oven comes complete with smart programs, automatic reminders, a status bar, and recipe app to suit people who are all about convenience, smart technologies, and overall efficiency.

Excellent in Air-Frying French Fries

The Instant Omni Plus was exceptional at baking french fries—currently having the highest score on the test. In just 15 minutes, the oven baked evenly golden fries thanks to its powerful convection setting combined with the air fryer basket.

These advantages also helped retain a nice amount of interior moisture in perfectly crispy fries. After tasting the fries, our chef gave equal praise to both their colors and texture. The oven’s status as our best air fryer toaster oven was further established with these test results.

Great for Roasting a Whole Chicken

The Instant Omni Plus is not confined to air frying and can handle any cooking method, including rotisserie. Using a rotisserie kit, the oven required 50 minutes to roast a 3 lb whole chicken, which was quicker than average.

Together, the rotisserie kit and powerful convection produced crispy, golden-brown skin. Due to the meat's high moisture content, however, the skin lost its crispiness in a relatively short amount of time.

Moreover, the entire chicken was cooked entirely without pink spots and to an internal temperature near spot-on to the USDA standard. The meat was practically falling off the bone. Unfortunately, our chef did not give it a particularly high score for taste because the moisture from the meat actually softened the skin significantly.

Easy-to-Operate User Control

The Instant Omni Plus features a digital LCD touchscreen in black and a single master-control knob. The display contains the cooking status bar, functions, and Light, Convection, Rotation toggles. In addition to an automatic preheating function, it has an audible signal to turn food halfway through the specified cooking time.

Audio cues include beeps when the oven is plugged in, a function is selected, time and temperature are adjusted, and cooking is complete. According to several reviews we've read, they can be quite loud, particularly in homes with children and/or animals. However, they can be deactivated by pressing and holding the control knobs for five seconds, until the display reads S OFF.

2. Ninja DT201 Foodi XL Pro Air Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven — Best Large Air Fryer Toaster Oven

The front of a closed stainless steel Ninja DT201 Foodi XL Pro Air Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven on a white background.
The front of a closed stainless steel Ninja DT201 Foodi XL Pro Air Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven on a white background.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the Ninja DT201 Foodi XL Pro Air Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with cheese, meat, onions, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
A hand holding a pulled-apart roasted chicken thigh. In the background are an air fryer basket and baking pan.
Four pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries inside an air fryer basket.

Things We Like

  • Straightforward and informative control panel
  • Tailored cooking functions
  • Family-sized capacity
  • Tray-level suggestions
  • Sturdy construction
  • Well-designed accessories
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Faulty interior light in the unit we received

Ninja Foodi XL Pro Air Fryer Toaster Oven Test Results

8.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.0/10
  • Design (25%)
    8.8/10
  • Usability (25%)
    9.5/10

Though not excellent at baking french fries, the stainless steel Ninja DT201 Foodi XL Pro Air Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven still had one of the highest overall scores among our tested units. Having also one of the largest capacities, its performance shines all the more when it comes to large feasts with its 2-level even cooking feature. Being an excellent family-sized unit, the Ninja was chosen as our best large air fryer toaster oven.

Excellent for Roasting a Whole Chicken

When roasting a 3 lb whole chicken in an air fryer basket, the Ninja's strengths earned it one of our highest scores to date. Although this oven was not designed to accommodate a rotisserie kit, its performance demonstrated that it could achieve the same outcomes.

With our Whole Roasted Chicken test, we were also able to confirm the manufacturer's claim that food did not need to be turned in this oven, particularly when using its air fryer basket.

The chicken was fully cooked and had attractive, crispy skin after only forty minutes in the oven. It was one of the quickest cooking times among our tested toaster ovens.

The chicken skin was uniformly golden from bottom to top. Additionally, the tips of the wings and drumsticks, as well as places with a lot of fat, became nicely crispy.

It appears, however, that the chicken skin cooked too quickly to render out most of the fat. Thus, while the skin's exterior was crisp, the interior was soft.

After carving the chicken, no pink spots were found in the meat. Using a meat thermometer, we determined that the chicken's internal temperature quite exceeded the USDA's standard.

With such a brief cooking time, the meat stayed incredibly succulent. Taking into account the skin's texture, our chef awarded the chicken a top grade for its taste.

Family-Sized Capacity

The Ninja's cooking chamber is the largest of all the toaster ovens we've evaluated thus far, easily handling a 12-pound turkey. By integrating the control panel and door handle, the Ninja maximizes its capacity.

The four rack levels inside are engraved with numbers 1-4 from the bottom up. Utilizing the number of rack levels, the distinctive '2-level' button offers the optimal rack position for cooking two trays of food simultaneously. This even allows you to simultaneously roast a tray of meat and a tray of veggies.

Premium Usability

The Ninja's control panel is anything but basic, yet the digital display shows all the information in an aesthetically beautiful and uncomplicated manner. In addition, its buttons are really intuitive.

Each Ninja cooking function has its specific temperature range that corresponds to its intended use. This model is distinguished by the fact that each function employs a certain convection level and a set number of heating elements, each of which is matched to the recipes in the manual.

When a function is selected, the oven will indicate the appropriate rack position. As you cycle through functions, you’ll find that the optimal tray-level recommendations change accordingly.

3. Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer — Best Analog Air Fryer Toaster Oven

The front of a closed Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer. The control panel is positioned horizontally on the upper front. Below the control panel is the door handle. The glass door is covered with an illustration.
The front of a closed Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer. The control panel is positioned horizontally on the upper front. Below the control panel is the door handle. The glass door is covered with an illustration.
The best four pieces of toast from the Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer. On the left are the top sides, and on the right are the bottom sides of the toast.
Two hands break apart a slice of baked pizza using a toaster oven with melty cheese, meat, and green bell peppers on top. In the background is a pizza on top of a grooved baking tray.
Two fingers holding a juicy chicken thigh roasted in a toaster oven. The skin is golden brown and the meat is thoroughly cooked.
Pieces of golden baked french fries using a toaster oven. Nine pieces of broken-up fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries inside an air fryer basket.

Things We Like

  • Simple and straight-to-the-point control knobs
  • Sturdy design and durable material
  • Convection fan is all-applicable
  • Electrical safety feature for the door
  • Convenient removable oven bottom tray
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Plenty of recipes included in the user manual

Things We Don’t Like

  • Opening the door also turns off the light
  • A bit heavier and taller than other same-type ovens
  • Not very budget-friendly

Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection AirFryer Toaster Oven Test Results

8.4
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.7/10
  • Design (25%)
    9.2/10
  • Usability (25%)
    7.1/10

The silver stainless steel Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer is a 100% analog toaster oven—a category usually doesn’t perform as reliably as digital models. Also, the constant deployment of its convection system led to consistently excellent cooking performances.

Straightforwardness and simplicity make this oven ideal for seasoned home cooks who are willing to spend a bit more on an effective, robust, and lasting toaster oven. Everything together convinced us to choose it as the best analog air fryer toaster oven.

Excellent for Baking French Fries

It only took the Cuisinart 12 minutes to air-fry some delicious french fries—one of the fastest times we’ve had among our tested toaster ovens so far. The fries had very good colors but they weren’t entirely even due to the shorter-than-ideal cooking time.

Thanks to the air fryer basket and powerful convection, the fries were golden and crispy on the outside while remaining moist inside. After tasting the fries, our chef awarded the oven one of the highest grades among our tested units, only slightly lower than the Instant Omni Plus 18L’s.

Excellent for Baking Pizza

The Cuisinart baked a very appetizing 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza—having an appetizing golden brown crust with some nicely charred spots. It only took 3m 30s which was extremely fast but made the crust a little soft. 

The toppings also had excellent even coloring throughout thanks to the good convection system. The high and steady temperature also perfectly melted and caramelized the cheese. Together, these factors passed all the requirements for one of the best-tasting pizzas among the toaster ovens we evaluated.

Great for Roasting a Whole Chicken

The Cuisinart roasted a 3 lb chicken in 50 minutes, which is faster than average. Even without a rotisserie kit, we were able to produce chicken skin that was sufficiently crispy and evenly golden brown. We accomplished this by spreading the chicken out on an air fryer basket and turning it after 40 minutes.

When we finished, the chicken was properly cooked without any pink patches due to being turned and the oven’s powerful convection. However, the interior temperature was slightly over the USDA recommended range of 165°F to 180°F, at 205-207°F.

The wings were incredibly crispy and wonderfully fall-off-the-bone after being spread out. However, our chef judged the wings and breasts to be a bit dry.

4. Cosori CO130-AO Countertop Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven — Best Value Air Fryer Toaster Oven

The front of a closed Cosori CO130-AO 30L 12-In-1 Dehydrator Air Fryer Rotisserie Toaster Oven on a white background.
The front of a closed Cosori CO130-AO 30L 12-In-1 Dehydrator Air Fryer Rotisserie Toaster Oven on a white background.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the Cosori CO130-AO 30L 12-In-1 Dehydrator Air Fryer Toaster Oven.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with cheese, meat, onions, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
Two hands pulling apart a roasted chicken thigh from the carcass. In the white background is the rest of the roasted chicken.
Eight pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries inside an air fryer basket.

Things We Like

  • Great value in terms of functionality and accessories
  • Straightforward controls
  • Useful toggles
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Sturdy construction
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Spacious cooking chamber

Things We Don’t Like

  • No safety mechanism for the door
  • Convection fan isn’t all-applicable

Cosori Air Fryer Toaster Oven Test Results

8.4
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.0/10
  • Design (25%)
    9.4/10
  • Usability (25%)
    8.3/10

The shiny stainless steel Cosori CO130-AO Countertop Convection Air Fryer Toaster Oven has some of the best grades among our tested units and a reasonable price. This extremely user-friendly large toaster oven consistently produced great foods, not just fries. Hence the reasons we chose it as the best-value air fryer toaster oven.

Making Consistently Great Foods

The Cosori didn’t score as high in air-frying fries as the Instant, but it did outperform in roasting a whole chicken. The chicken needed only 40 minutes to achieve a gorgeous color in the oven—our fastest time to date.

The skin was predominantly golden, with a pleasing golden-brown hue on the wings and tips. What really impressed us was the near-perfect doneness achieved in such a short cooking time.

The Cosori also managed to have the upper hand in toasting bread against the Instant, just not with the Ninja DT 201 or the Cuisinart TOA-60. It produced four pieces of toast with a fairly even and beautiful golden brown color. The toast was also crispy on the outside while moist on the inside.

Interestingly, all of the foods made with Cosori achieved top grades, just not the best compared to our other top choices that excelled in some and under-performed in other foods. Nonetheless, that just further reinforced the oven’s place as the best-value air fryer toaster oven.

Well-Designed Automatic Preheat Phase

The Cosori applies an automatic preheating phase for the Pizza, Bake, Roast, Broil, Cookie, and Air Fryer functions. If the oven is already heated, the function will acknowledge this and reduce the preheating time.

This toaster oven is one of the few that truly preheats to the specified temperature. Most others, including those on this list, simply preheat to a fixed, non-adjustable temperature.

Practical Cooking Functions

We were most impressed with the Warm, Dehydrate, and Ferment functions which can keep the oven as low as 140°F, 100°F, and 80°F respectively. According to a number of recipes, these temperatures correspond to their intended use, therefore this oven can serve as a dehydrator and dough-proofer for families.

In addition to its cooking versatility, the ease with which time and temperature can be adjusted makes this oven easier to operate than even some of our other top picks.

All the Toaster Ovens We Have Tested

We’ve performed our series of tests on toaster ovens of different sizes and price points. They include convection and non-convection as well as analog and digital units. Each toaster oven went through the same tests as others for a thorough comparison.