Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection AirFryer Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Lap Vo
Lap Vo
Head of RTR
Tuyet Pham
Tuyet Pham
Professional Chef
Nguyen Ntk
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Reviewed
Our recommendations are made independently through research and testing following our review procedure. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links at no additional costs to you.
Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1800W

The Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer shines in simplicity. It’s suitable for seasoned home cooks who are willing to spend a bit more on a robust, effective, and lasting toaster oven.

Correctly-sized accessories are proof of a good design as they minimize inconvenience and the danger of electric shocks. The oven comes complete with an air fryer basket and a user manual that includes a variety of recipes.

The only thing to be nitpicky about this oven is that it doesn’t offer many convenient features.

Things We Like

  • Simple and straight-to-the-point control knobs
  • Sturdy design and durable material
  • Convection fan is all-applicable
  • Electrical safety feature for the door
  • Convenient slide-out crumb tray
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Plenty of recipes included in the user manual

Things We Don’t Like

  • Opening the door also turns off the light
  • A bit heavier and taller than other same-type ovens
  • Not very budget-friendly
  • Updated Jun 8, 2022:

    Review published.

If you’re all about straightforwardness and simplicity, the silver stainless steel Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer is right for you. It features a sturdy design and durable material. However, the price of around $230 might make you wonder if it’s worth it.

The goal of this comprehensive preview is to provide you with helpful information and authentic test results that will aid your purchase decision. Furthermore, we will give you some advice on the dos and don’ts of using this oven.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested

A big win for the performance of the Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer is its steady and stable temperature. Combined with the fact that the convection fan is always deployed, it consistently produced excellent test dishes.

8.1

Cuisinart TOA-60 Toast
On the left: Light; In the middle: 1/2 to Medium; On the right: Medium

During our Toast test, the Light toast level—around 2 minutes 30 seconds on the timer—gave no color and the Medium one—around 5 minutes on the timer—was too brown even though the color was even. We determined that right in the middle of Medium and Light toast level—around 4 minutes on the timer—was the best option scoring an 8.1/10.

Toasting bread for 4 minutes with the Cuisinart produced 4 pieces with a beautiful golden color throughout thanks to the deployment of the convection fan. This oven was the first one to score a 9/10 for even toast surface color.

The first batch of toast was quite crispy yet very soft inside, worthy of a 9/10. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined they would be great to go with sandwiches, omelet, and eggs benedict. For soup, however, they didn’t cut the mustard but that could be rectified with the extra crispiness of a second batch.

While the second batch had a brown color, it had a few dark spots so it got a 6/10 for consecutive usability. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, remember to lower it down to Light—around 2 minutes 30 seconds.

9.6

Cuisinart TOA-60 Pizza

The Cuisinart baked a very appetizing 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza scoring a 9.6/10.

Compared to the recommended 10 minutes on the label, it only took 3m 30s to bake the pizza which was extremely fast. In comparison to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, it deserved a whopping 10/10.

The crust came out a tempting golden brown with some nicely charred spots—if a little soft due to the short cooking time. Thus, it got a 9.2/10.

The pizza itself also had excellent even coloring all over from the good convection system. Thanks to the high and steady temperature, the melted cheese was also perfectly caramelized earning it a 9.8/10.

After tasting, our chef gave the pizza a 9.5/10.

8.5

Cuisinart TOA-60 Whole Roasted Chicken

Following our Whole Roasted Chicken test, we placed a 3 lb chicken inside an air fryer basket on top of a baking pan and it fit without a problem. Although the air fryer basket had plenty of space, the pan was quite rigid so we had to be extra careful when taking it out to flip the chicken.

Unfortunately, while cooking the chicken, fat splashed everywhere inside the oven leading to some smoking. All things considered, the Cuisinart earned an 8.5/10 for this test.

It took 50 minutes to roast, which is shorter than average and deserving of a 9/10.

Despite not having a rotisserie kit, we were able to achieve adequately crispy skin with an even golden brown color scoring a 9.5/10. We did it by spreading the chicken out and flipping it after the first 40 minutes of cooking.

High convection and flipping helped the chicken to be thoroughly cooked without any pink spots in just 50 minutes. However, the internal temperature was a little too high at 205-207°F compared to the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F, so it got an 8/10.

Due to being spread out, the wings were extremely crispy and deliciously fall-off-the-bone. However, the wings and the breast ended up a little dry so our chef gave the chicken an 8/10 for taste.

9.2

Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Baked French Fries

The Cuisinart baked some excellent french fries scoring a 9.2/10.

It took only 12 minutes to cook 12 oz of french fries which was very fast. In fact, it’s the fastest one throughout our Baked French Fries test so far so it scored a perfect 10/10.

Due to the shorter cooking time than ideal, the color wasn’t entirely even but was good enough for a 9.5/10.

The fries were crispy and golden on the outside while moist on the inside thanks to the strong convection and the air fryer basket. Thus, we gave it a 9.2/10 for texture.

Our chef gave it an 8.7/10 for taste.

Where the Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer shines most is in its simplistic design. Even though it only offers a few features, it does them all justice.

Cuisinart TOA-60 In the Box
  • Model: TOA-60
  • Warranty: 3 years (US and Canada only)
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Air Fryer Basket

The user manual provides numerous recipes with all the ingredient measurements, specific cooking functions, temperatures, and times. The package also comes with a simple instruction to register your Cuisinart for premium customer service, special offers, and more. Within the warranty period, the manufacturer has their own satisfaction guarantee policy.

9.0

Cuisinart TOA-60 Exterior

With its simple design, the slide-out crumb tray of the Cuisinart really stands out. The side handles make it easy to carry. It also has two buffers on the back to prevent the oven from being too close to the wall.

Our measurements of the oven’s footprint of 16.34" x 15.16" x 13.58" pretty much coincided with the manufacturer’s 16" x 15.5" x 14" with marginal differences being less than an inch.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Control Panel

The control panel is completely analog with four control knobs and a light toggle.

Cuisinart TOB-60N Cooking Functions
  • Toast (Light - Medium - Dark)
  • Air fry
  • Bake with low / high convection
  • Broil with low / high convection
  • Warm (200°F)

If you know your way around the kitchen, the bake and broil functions with low or high convection will be all you need.

9.5

Cuisinart TOA-60 Interior

Capacity: 17 liters - 6 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza - 4-pound chicken

The convection fan runs as standard with most cooking functions except for Warm. It runs on the low setting for Non-Convection settings and on a high setting for Convection settings.

In addition, the oven has two heating elements at the bottom and four at the top which allows for more even heat distribution. It also has an interior light that you can turn on and off with a switch.

We measured the cooking chamber’s volume to be roughly 17 liters which coincided with the manufacturer’s provided capacity. It only has two tray levels but you can make use of the rack-up and down positions. This oven is one of the few that actually fits 6 pieces of toast even though just barely.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Power Cord

Even though the power cord length is enough for household use—roughly 29.52", it doesn’t fully wrap around the two back buffers.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Baking Rack

The rack fits perfectly with the guide, which helps prevent accidents when placing your food in the oven.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Baking Pan

The baking pan has a coating but is not completely non-stick. It does, however, easily catch any meat juice and drippings from the air fryer basket. Thus, it prevents mess and avoids any danger of fire from dirty heating elements.

Cuisinart TOA-60 Air Fryer Basket

The air fryer basket’s decent elevation really helps to circulate heat around the bottom of the food.

9.0

Cuisinart TOA-60 Build Quality

The build of the Cuisinart nails simplicity and durability from the materials to the user controls. That does, however, make it a little heavier than some of the ones we’ve tested including the Toshiba and Instant Omni Plus.

It’s also a little taller due to the convection fan being top, rather than side-mounted. Nonetheless, the removable oven-bottom tray and carrying handles show attention to convenience.

Usability

How We Rated

Due to its simplistic approach, the Cuisinart TOA-60 Convection Toaster Oven Air Fryer doesn’t offer many usability features. However, it also doesn’t pose any problems.

7.0

The Cuisinart has seven settings to choose from including both Broil and Bake with high and low convection. The four control knobs for Time, Temperature, Functions, and Toast are as straightforward as possible.

7.0

The safety hook for tray level 2 allows you to partially slide out the baking rack or tray to reposition the food during cooking. However, this feature makes it quite tricky to remove the tray or rack.

Although the oven has good heat insulation, the casing can still get quite hot to the touch after 400°F, especially after a long cooking time. After the oven finishes cooking, you will hear a very clear ding.

Opening the oven door stops it from cooking while also turning off the light but doesn’t stop the timer. Having no digital display, you can freely leave this oven plugged in and not worry about power consumption.

7.5

Cuisinart TOA-60 Cleanability

We cleaned the Cuisinart following our toaster oven cleaning guide. The internal and external coating of the oven made it easy to clean. It does have some tricky nooks and crannies but all in all, they’re not too difficult.

Cleaning up the crumbs was extremely easy thanks to the slide-out crumb tray but we still had to tilt the oven to remove all the crumbs. We thought the fishnet design of the air fryer basket might make it difficult to clean any caramelized bits of food but that didn’t happen.

During the roasting of a whole chicken, fat splattered everywhere inside the oven. It left some stubborn stains on the insulators at the ends of the heating elements. Even with a paste of baking soda and water, we weren’t able to remove them.

Fortunately, there were no drippings on the crumb tray so no worries of oxidation. In addition, we’re happy to report that the gaps between the heating elements and internal walls were large enough to clean.

The Cuisinart TOA-60 Compared to Other Toaster Ovens

The Cuisinart TOA-60—our best convection toaster oven—actually tied in its overall score with our best-to-buy toaster oven—the Cosori CO130-AO. Moreover, most of the former’s performance scores are higher than the latter’s. The only exception was our Whole Roasted Chicken test as the Cosori had the rotisserie kit.

The Cuisinart and the Instant Omni Plus 18L—our best air fryer toaster oven—had roughly the same size and score. However, they were basically two opposites with the former being simplistic and completely analog while the latter being digital and incorporating smart technologies.

The Cuisinart also went toe-to-toe with our best large toaster oven—the Ninja DT201 and it actually had a higher performance score. At a lower price, its usability score wasn’t as high as the Ninja which had a more intricate and convenient control panel.

Cuisinart TOA-60 FAQs

Length: 12.59 inches

Width: 11.4 inches

Height: 7.08 inches

Yes, the Cuisinart TOA-60 has internal lighting. Yes, the stay-on function of this oven is Warm with a timer of 60 minutes.

The Cuisinart TOA-60 uses 1800 Watts of power. The oven can be quite hot to the touch after 400°F, especially after a long cooking time.

The Cuisinart TOA-60 doesn’t have a non-stick coating so it’s free of PFOA. Nonetheless, it’s still easy to clean.

Yes, it has a removable oven-bottom tray. A removable crumb tray is an accessory whether the removable oven-bottom tray is part of the oven’s construction and the oven won’t run when the tray isn’t in place.

The Cuisinart TOA-60 completely stops after it finishes cooking/ the timer runs out. Having no digital display, you can freely leave this oven plugged in and not worry about power consumption. No, this oven doesn’t have a turn-on timer.