Our recommendations are made independently through Research & Testing. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links.

Hamilton Beach 31127D Small Countertop Toaster Oven Review

We hope that our in-depth Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy-Reach Roll-Top Toaster Oven review will help you make an informed decision about which product to buy. In order to get the most out of this oven, we'll also give you some advice on what you should and shouldn't do.

By , , , and ·Updated
Tested Using Methodology v1.0
The front of a closed silver Hamilton Beach 31344DA 4-Slice Easy Reach with Roll Top Door Toaster Oven on a white background.

Overall Verdict

The brushed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D Countertop Toaster Oven is suitable for anyone looking for a sturdy, inexpensive, medium-sized unit made of durable material. The oven has a simple control panel and no convection system.

The design is simple and robust so it doesn’t have many features of convenience. We did think the roll-top door was a nice touch, though.

Throughout our tests, the oven didn’t perform very well on dishes that require long cooking times and/or high temperatures. This was probably because the power rating is a bit low for its capacity, a problem that our best products don’t have.

Things We Like

  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Roll-top door
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Simple control knobs
  • Stay-on feature
  • Spacious interior

Things We Don’t Like

  • No convection fan
  • No internal lighting
  • No safety mechanism for the door

The brushed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D Countertop Toaster Oven is an inexpensive, medium-sized unit. It’s sturdy and made of durable material. Among its stand-out features are a neat roll-top door and a stay-on function. For only $75.99 (at the time of writing), you’ll also get the necessary accessories and cooking functions.

Key Specs

Dimensions
L18.5 x W15.56 x H9.41 inches
Weight
9.3 lbs (4.2 kg)
Control Type
3 control knobs
Temperature
100°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 30 minutes + stay-on
Cooking Functions
3

Where to Buy Price at publication $76.70

*You help support HealthyKitchen101's product testing and reviews by purchasing from our retail partners.

Compared to Other Toaster Ovens


Analysis and Test Results

6.7 Performance: Needs More Power

The Hamilton Beach 31127D did a good job at making toast but struggled with french fries. We suspect its 1400 W power draw isn’t sufficient for its capacity, so it couldn’t quite maintain high temperatures. Of course, the lack of a convection system didn’t help either. A more preferable but still affordable choice could be the Toshiba AC25CEW-BS.

7.3 Toast

From left to right, 24 pieces of toast for the top and bottom of three toast levels including lighter, medium, and darker.
On the left: 1m 55s; In the middle: 3m 30s; On the right: 4m 15s
From left to right, 24 pieces of toast for the top and bottom of three toast levels including lighter, medium, and darker.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Toaster Oven.
On the left are the top and bottom of four pieces of toast from the first batch, and on the right are from the second batch.
Function
Toast
Number of Slices
4
Toast Level
3/4 to Medium
Cooking Time
3m 30s
Second Batch
3m 30s
Convection
No

We initially set the toast knob to Medium—right at the Toast icon—for our Toast test. The bread came away very dark on the bottom but barely toasted on top. Then, the halfway point to Medium gave the toast no color.

Eventually, we settled on a point 3/4 the way to Medium—around 3 minutes 30 seconds on the timer—as the best option, and awarded it a score of 7.3/10.

At our optimal toasting setting, the Hamilton Beach produced 4 pieces with a great, slightly golden-brown color. Though the oven doesn’t have a convection fan, the color distribution was about 80% even so we gave the toast an 8/10.

The first batch of toast was crispy on the outside while still soft and moist on the inside, so we gave it an 8/10 for taste. Our head chef, Tuyet Pham, said it would go very well with everything including sandwiches, soup, omelets, and eggs benedict.

The second batch represented a significant decrease in performance, scoring only 5.5/10 for consecutive usability. The toast had an uneven, dark brown color plus a burnt flavor. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, remember to only turn the knob halfway to Medium—around 1 minute 55 seconds on the timer.

6.6 Pizza

A toaster oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top inside a baking pan.
A toaster oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top inside a baking pan.
Two slices of oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top of one another.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with melty cheese, meat, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
Function
Bake
Temperature
450°F
Cooking Time
9m 10s
Convection
No

This oven left a bit to be desired when we tried baking a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza. We gave it a score of 6.6/10.

It took 9 minutes and 10 seconds to bake a pizza which was slightly faster than the recommended 10 minutes on the label. It only garnered a score of 5.8/10 after being compared to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, though.

The crust had a good golden brown color but was soft, so we could only give it a 7/10. The toppings were caramelized unevenly and some areas of cheese got darkened. On the bright side, the toppings weren’t dry, so they got a 7/10. After tasting, our chef gave it a 6.5/10.

6.3 Whole Roasted Chicken

A whole roasted chicken using the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A whole roasted chicken using the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A tray of whole toaster oven roasted chicken. The thermometer has two probes inside the chicken and displays 165°F and 176°F.
Seven pieces of a carved chicken including a carcass, two breasts, two wings, and two thighs on a silver baking pan.
The pink spots near the bone of the chicken. In the white background is the rest of the roasted chicken on a baking pan.
Function
Bake
Temperature
350°F
Cooking Time
1h
Convection
No

Even though the Hamilton Beach could comfortably fit a 3 lb chicken for our Whole Roasted Chicken test, its performance was far from perfect, scoring only 6.3/10.

The oven took 1 hour—our standard for this test—to cook the chicken to a desirable color, so we gave it an 8/10.

After roasting, the skin took on an even golden color on top but only a very light caramelization on the bottom — although that was also even. Unfortunately, the skin was very soft, so we could only give it a 5.5/10.

The chicken reached an internal temperature of 165-176°F which was very close to the USDA recommendation. However, there were pink spots near the bone so we could only give it a 6/10.

The meat was acceptable in terms of texture and juiciness, but didn’t stand out as remarkable. Our chef gave the chicken a 6/10 for taste.

5.1 Baked French Fries

Pieces of baked french fries using the Hamilton Beach 31127D Toaster Oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
Pieces of baked french fries using the Hamilton Beach 31127D Toaster Oven on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A close-up of pieces of baked french fries using the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven on a silver baking pan.
Eight pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries on a silver baking pan.
Function
Bake
Temperature
400°F.
Cooking Time
27m 15s
Convection
No

Baking 12 oz of french fries clearly wasn’t the Hamilton Beach oven’s forte, and it came away with a score of 5.1/10.

This oven took 27 minutes and 15 seconds to put some color into the french fries. That exceeded our time limit of 25 minutes, though, so it failed the cooking time criterion of our Baked French Fries test.

Even though the fries had some golden ends, most of them basically had no color. We gave them a 6.5/10.

Despite being spread out on the baking pan, the fries didn’t crisp up, so they got a 6/10. Our chef gave the fries a 6.5/10 for taste.

5.2 Design: No Lighting or Convection

The design of the Hamilton Beach 31127D is basic with a simple stainless steel exterior. The oven has a similar capacity as other medium-sized toaster ovens, with greater length and width but less height. Its roll-top door is a unique feature that we found useful.

In the Box

An oven rack, a user manual, the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Toaster Oven, a box, and a baking pan.
  • Model: 31127D
  • Warranty: 1-year limited in the US and 5-year limited in Canada
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Removable Crumb Tray

Aside from the Hamilton Beach oven itself, the box also contained a baking pan, a baking rack, a removable crumb tray, and a basic user manual.

7.0 Exterior

A closed front of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Roll Top Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
A closed front of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Roll Top Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
The front of an opened Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Roll Top Toaster Oven has a control panel and the right side has holes.
The back and left sides of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven have holes. The back has a power cord and a buffer.
The top of the stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Door Toaster Oven on a grey background.
On a grey background, the bottom of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Toaster Oven has four stands and holes.
Weight
9.3 lbs (4.2 kg)
Length
18.5" (47.0 cm)
Width
14.6" (37.0 cm)
Height
9.4" (24.0 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Color
Silver
Door Handle
cool-touch
Tray Indicators
No
Crumb Tray
Removable

The Hamilton Beach has a stainless steel exterior. Our measurements of the oven’s footprint were 18.5" x 15.56" x 9.41"—marginally different from the manufacturer’s provided 18.74" x 15.24" x 9.41".

What stands out most is the roll-top door with a cool-touch handle. It moves up and out of the way, giving you safe and easy access to your food before, during, and after cooking.

The oven has a back buffer to prevent it from being pushed too close to the wall. Unlike many other toaster ovens, though, you can’t wrap the power cord around the buffer.

Control Panel

The control panel of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven has 3 control knobs for temperature, function, and timer.
Type
3 control knobs
Temperature
100°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 30 minutes + stay-on
Indicator Light
Yes
Status Bar
No
Light Toggle
No
Convection Toggle
No
Rotation Toggle
No
Automatic Preheat
No
Audio Cues
No

The Hamilton beach has three contoured control knobs labeled Temperature, Function, and Timer which are durable and easy to grip. While the timer only runs from 1 minute to 30 minutes, the knob has a stay-on position as well.

Cooking Functions

The function knob of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven has 3 cooking functions including Bake, Broil, and Toast.
  • Toast
  • Bake
  • Broil

The bake and broil functions will be all you need if you know your way around the kitchen. The temperature knob also includes a Min setting which, at 100°F, can act as a ‘keep warm’ option.

1.0 Interior

The Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Roll Top Toaster Oven’s cooking chamber has 4 nichrome heating elements and 2 guide rails.
Heating Elements
4 nichrome
Convection Fan
No
Lighting
No
Tray Levels
2
Rotisserie
No
Safety Hook
No

Unfortunately, the 31127D doesn’t have any interior features worth mentioning, not even internal lighting or a convection system like the Cuisinart TOA-60. The only thing it has is four nichrome heating elements.

Capacity

An opened front of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Roll Top Toaster Oven with interior measurements on a white background.
Length
13.0" (33.0 cm)
Width
12.2" (31.0 cm)
Height
7.7" (19.5 cm)

The Hamilton Beach has enough capacity for 6 slices of toast, a 3 lb chicken, or a 12-inch pizza.

We measured the cooking chamber’s volume to be around 19.92 liters which was vastly different from the manufacturer’s stated capacity of 10 liters. However, this could be because we measured from the cooking chamber’s walls to walls whereas the manufacturer stopped before reaching the heating elements.

Power Cord

A two-pronged plug power cord. In the background is the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Door Toaster Oven.
Length
35.0" (88.9 cm)
Type
2-prong plug
Power
1400 W
Rated Output
120 V ~ 60 Hz

The power cord protrudes from the bottom of the oven which can create some inconvenient bends. Nonetheless, roughly 35" is plenty of cord length for household use. However, the oven doesn’t have a storage place for the cord.

Accessories: Baking Rack

A stainless steel baking rack of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
13.0" (33.0 cm)
Width
11.9" (30.2 cm)
Height
1.0" (2.5 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The rack fits perfectly into the guide rails, reducing the chance of an accident when placing your food in the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

A silver baking pan of the stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
11.3" (28.8 cm)
Width
9.4" (23.8 cm)
Height
0.7" (1.8 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The baking pan is correctly sized to keep messy food from dripping directly onto the heating elements. It slides into the brackets on the baking rack’s underside, so it’s a perfect fit. Unfortunately, though it has a coating, it isn’t completely non-stick so it can accumulate some stains after a tough roasting mission.

Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray

A silver removable crumb tray of the stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D Easy Reach Toaster Oven on a grey background.
Length
12.9" (32.8 cm)
Width
10.0" (25.4 cm)
Height
0.7" (1.8 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Not advisable

The removable crumb tray makes it easier to remove crumbs and other debris from the oven’s floor. However, some may still fall to the bottom of the oven as you take out the tray.

7.0 Build Quality

The front of an opened Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Toaster Oven with a removable crumb tray, baking pan, and oven rack.

The Hamilton Beach is well-constructed out of durable stainless steel. Its contoured knobs turn smoothly and are a nice simple touch.

6.4 Usability: No Noticable Problems

Although the Hamilton Beach 31127D doesn’t invest much in convenience, it also doesn't pose any problems. You may not be able to select an exact time and temperature with the analog control knobs, but realistically, you don’t lose much precision.

6.0 User Control

The Hamilton Beach only has three simple control knobs but there are a few things to pay attention to. If you wish to set the timer knob for less than 10 minutes, you must first turn it beyond the 10-minute mark (to start the heating) and then roll it back to the setting you want.

Precisely adjusting time and temperature can be a bit difficult but it’s not a major problem. If you’re concerned, use an external timer and an oven thermometer for more accurate measurements.

6.0 Ease of Use

The simple analog control panel makes it very easy to adjust settings on the fly. Once the timer counts down to the Off position, you’ll hear a chime and the oven will shut itself off. Since there’s no digital display, the oven won’t draw any more power even if you leave it plugged in.

The oven’s exterior only gets hot to the touch after a long cooking time at a high temperature. The door can be kept partially open at many degrees but keep in mind that it doesn’t switch the oven off.

8.0 Cleanability

Grease on the glass door of a closed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Door Toaster Oven.
Grease on the glass door of a closed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Door Toaster Oven.
Grease on the left wall of the stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Toaster Oven’s cooking chamber.
Caramelized meat juice and grease on the silver baking pan of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Toaster Oven.
The cleaned silver baking pan of the Hamilton Beach 31127D 6-Slice Easy Reach Roll Top Toaster Oven with some discoloration.

We cleaned the Hamilton Beach in accordance with our toaster oven cleaning guide. The oven was easy to clean thanks to its surface coatings and the fact that it has no tricky nooks and crannies.

The removable crumb tray made it easy to clean up the crumbs, though we still had to tilt the oven to get the last of them. Unfortunately, after our Whole Roasted Chicken test, the baking pan accumulated some discoloration that we weren’t able to remove even with a paste of baking soda and water.

Hamilton Beach 31127D FAQs

Does this oven have internal lighting? Does this oven have a stay-on function?

No, the Hamilton Beach doesn’t have internal lighting. Yes, it has a stay-on function.

What is this oven’s power rating? Does the exterior get warm or hot during use?

The Hamilton Beach uses 1400 Watts of power. The oven’s exterior only gets hot to the touch after a long time of cooking at a high temperature.

Does this oven have a non-stick interior?

This oven doesn’t have a non-stick coating, so it’s free of PFOA. Nonetheless, it’s still easy to clean.

How do I turn the oven off after I'm done using it? Can I turn this oven off manually? Can this oven turn itself on with a timer?

The cooking cycle finishes when the timer reaches the Off position. At that point, the oven will chime once and shut off. This oven does not have a digital display, so you may keep it plugged in without worrying about energy consumption. It cannot be set to turn itself on without manual input.

You have 3/3 full reviews left

To access unlimited full product reviews, product prices and other exclusive site features Become a Member