Hamilton Beach 31127D Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Hamilton Beach 31127D Small Countertop Roll-Top Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1400W

Overall Verdict

6.2
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    6.6/10
  • Usability (25%)
    6.4/10
  • Design (25%)
    5.2/10

The brushed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D Countertop Toaster Oven is suitable for anyone looking for a sturdy, inexpensive, medium-sized unit made of durable material. The oven has a simple control panel and no convection system.

The design is simple and robust so it doesn’t have many features of convenience. We did think the roll-top door was a nice touch, though. 

Throughout our tests, the oven didn’t perform very well on dishes that require long cooking times and/or high temperatures. This was probably because the power rating is a bit low for its capacity.

Things We Like

  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Roll-top door
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Simple control knobs
  • Stay-on feature
  • Spacious interior

Things We Don’t Like

  • No convection fan
  • No internal lighting
  • No safety mechanism for the door

The brushed stainless steel Hamilton Beach 31127D Countertop Toaster Oven is an inexpensive,medium-sized unit. It’s sturdy and made of durable material. Among its stand-out features are a neat roll-top door and a stay-on function. For only $75.99 (at the time of writing), you’ll also get the necessary accessories and cooking functions.

We hope that our in-depth review will help you make an informed decision about which toaster oven to buy. In order to get the most out of this oven, we'll also give you some advice on what you should and shouldn't do.

Hamilton Beach 31127D Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
6.6
Performance Scores
  • Toast (40%)
    7.3/10
  • Pizza (25%)
    6.6/10
  • Whole Roasted Chicken (25%)
    6.0/10
  • Baked French Fries (10%)
    5.1/10

The Hamilton Beach 31127D did a good job at making toast but struggled with french fries. We suspect its 1400 W power draw isn’t sufficient for its capacity, so it couldn’t quite maintain high temperatures. Of course, the lack of a convection system didn’t help either.

7.3

Toast

Hamilton Beach 31127D Toast
On the left: 1/2 to Medium; In the middle: 3/4 to Medium; On the right: Medium
Hamilton Beach 31127D Toast 1
Best level: 3/4 to Medium
Hamilton Beach 31127D Toast 2
The first batch vs the second batch
Taste Test: 8
50% * 8 = 4.0
Even Surface Color: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Consecutive Usability: 5.5
30% * 5.5 = 1.6
  • Function: Toast
  • Number Of Slices: 4
  • Toast Level: ¾ to Medium
  • Cooking Time: 3m 30s (adjustable)
  • Second Batch: 3m 30s (adjustable)
  • Convection: No

We initially set the toast knob to Medium — right at the Toast icon — for our Toast test. The bread came away very dark on the bottom but barely toasted on top. Then, the halfway point to Medium gave the toast no color. Eventually, we settled on a point ¾ the way to Medium as the best option, and awarded it a score of 7.3/10.

Even Surface Color

At our optimal toasting setting, the Hamilton Beach produced 4 pieces with a great, slightly golden-brown color. Though the oven doesn’t have a convection fan, the color distribution was about 80% even so we gave the toast an 8/10.

Taste

The first batch of toast was crispy on the outside while still soft and moist on the inside, so we gave it an 8/10 for taste. Our head chef, Tuyet Pham, said it would go very well with everything including sandwiches, soup, omelets, and eggs benedict.

Consecutive Usability

The second batch represented a significant decrease in performance, scoring only 5.5/10 for consecutive usability. The toast had an uneven, dark brown color plus a burnt flavor. If you want the second batch to be the same as the first, remember to only turn the knob halfway to Medium.

6.6

Pizza

Hamilton Beach 31127D Pizza
Hamilton Beach 31127D Pizza 1
Hamilton Beach 31127D Pizza 2
Cooking Time: 5.8
20% * 5.8 = 1.2
Crust: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Toppings: 7
30% * 7 = 2.1
Taste Test: 6.5
30% * 6.5 = 1.9
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 450°F
  • Cooking Time: 9m 10s
  • Convection: No

This oven left a bit to be desired when we tried baking a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza. We gave it a score of 6.6/10.

Cooking Time

It took 9 minutes and 10 seconds to bake a pizza which was slightly faster than the recommended 10 minutes on the label. It only garnered a score of 5.8/10 after being compared to other toaster ovens in our Pizza test, though.

Crust

The crust had a good golden brown color but was soft, so we could only give it a 7/10.

Toppings

The toppings were caramelized unevenly and some areas of cheese got darkened. On the bright side, the toppings weren’t dry, so they got a 7/10.

Taste

After tasting, our chef gave it a 6.5/10.

6.0

Whole Roasted Chicken

Hamilton Beach 31127D Whole Roasted Chicken
Hamilton Beach 31127D Whole Roasted Chicken 1
Hamilton Beach 31127D Whole Roasted Chicken 2
Hamilton Beach 31127D Whole Roasted Chicken 3
Cooking Time: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Skin: 4
20% * 4 = 0.8
Doneness: 6
20% * 6 = 1.2
Taste Test: 6
40% * 6 = 2.4
  • Function: Rotisserie
  • Temperature Range:  350°F.
  • Cooking Time: 1h
  • Convection: No

Even though the Hamilton Beach could comfortably fit a 3 lb chicken for our Whole Roasted Chicken test, its performance was far from perfect, scoring only 6/10.

Cooking Time

The oven took 1 hour — our standard for this test — to cook the chicken to a desirable color, so we gave it an 8/10.

Skin

After roasting, the skin took on an even golden color on top but only a very light caramelization on the bottom — although that was also even. Unfortunately, the skin was very soft, so we could only give it a 4/10.

Doneness

The chicken reached an internal temperature of 165-176°F which was very close to the USDA recommendation. However, there were pink spots near the bone so we could only give it a 6/10.

Taste

The meat was acceptable in terms of texture and juiciness, but didn’t stand out as remarkable. Our chef gave the chicken a 6/10 for taste.

5.1

Baked French Fries

Hamilton Beach 31127D Baked French Fries
Hamilton Beach 31127D Baked French Fries 1
Hamilton Beach 31127D Baked French Fries 2
Cooking Time: 0
20% * 0 = 0.0
Color: 6.5
20% * 6.5 = 1.3
Texture: 6
20% * 6 = 1.2
Taste Test: 6.5
40% * 6.5 = 2.6
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 400°F.
  • Cooking Time: 27m 15s
  • Convection: No

Baking 12 oz of french fries clearly wasn’t the Hamilton Beach oven’s forte, and it came away with a score of 5.1/10.

Cooking Time

This oven took 27 minutes and 15 seconds to put some color into the french fries. That exceeded our time limit of 25 minutes, though, so it failed the cooking time criterion of our Baked French Fries test.

Color

Even though the fries had some golden ends, most of them basically had no color. We gave them a 6.5/10.

Texture

Despite being spread out on the baking pan, the fries didn’t crisp up, so they got a 6/10.

Taste

Our chef gave the fries a 6.5/10 for taste.

5.2
design Scores
  • Exterior (20%)
    7.0/10
  • Interior (30%)
    1.0/10
  • Build Quality (50%)
    7.0/10

The design of the Hamilton Beach 31127D is basic with a simple stainless steel exterior. The oven has a similar capacity as other medium-sized toaster ovens, with greater length and width but less height. Its roll-top door is a unique feature that we found useful.

In the Box

Hamilton Beach 31127D In the Box
  • Model: 31127D
  • Warranty: 1-year limited in the US and 5-year limited in Canada
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan
  • Removable Crumb Tray

Aside from the Hamilton Beach oven itself, the box also contained a baking pan, a baking rack, a removable crumb tray, and a basic user manual.

7.0

Exterior

Hamilton Beach 31127D Exterior
Hamilton Beach 31127D Exterior 1
Hamilton Beach 31127D Exterior 2
Hamilton Beach 31127D Exterior 3
  • Weight:
    9.25 lbs (4.2 kg)
  • Length:
    18.5 inches (47 cm)
  • Width:
    14.56 inches (37 cm)
  • Height:
    9.44 inches (24 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Color:
    Silver
  • Door Handle:
    cool-touch
  • Tray Level Indicators:
    No
  • Removable Bottom Tray:
    Removable

The Hamilton Beach has a stainless steel exterior. What stands out most is the roll-top door with a cool-touch handle. It moves up and out of the way, giving you safe and easy access to your food before, during, and after cooking.

The oven has a back buffer to prevent it from being pushed too close to the wall. Unlike many other toaster ovens, though, you can’t wrap the power cord around the buffer.

Control Panel

Hamilton Beach 31127D Control Panel
  • Type:
    3 control knobs
  • Temperature Setting:
    100°F - 450°F
  • Timer:
    1 minute - 30 minutes + stay-on
  • On Indicator Light:
    Yes
  • Cooking Status Bar:
    No
  • Light Toggle:
    No
  • Convection Toggle:
    No
  • Rotation Toggle:
    No
  • Automatic Oven Preheat:
    No
  • Audio Reminder To Turn Food:
    No

The Hamilton beach has three contoured control knobs labeled Temperature, Function, and Timer which are durable and easy to grip. While the timer only runs from 1 minute to 30 minutes, the knob has a stay-on position as well.

Cooking Functions

Hamilton Beach 31127D Cooking Functions
  • Toast
  • Bake
  • Broil

The bake and broil functions will be all you need if you know your way around the kitchen. The temperature knob also includes a Min setting which, at 100°F, can act as a ‘keep warm’ option.

1.0

Interior

Hamilton Beach 31127D Interior
  • Number Of Heating Elements:
    4 nichrome
  • Convection Fan:
    No
  • Lighting:
    No
  • Tray Levels:
    2
  • Rotisserie Socket And Bracket:
    No
  • Safety Hook:
    No

Capacity: 20 liters - 6 slices of toast - 12-inch pizza

The Hamilton Beach has enough capacity for 6 slices of toast, a 3 lb chicken, or a 12-inch pizza. Unfortunately, it doesn’t have internal lighting or a convection system.

Power Cord

Hamilton Beach 31127D Power Cord
  • Length:
    35 inches (89 cm)
  • Type
    :
    2-prong plug
  • Power:
    1400 W
  • Rated Output:
    120 V ~ 60 Hz

The power cord protrudes from the bottom of the oven. There’s plenty of cord length for household use.

Accessories: Baking Rack

Hamilton Beach 31127D Accessories: Baking Rack
  • Length:
    12.99 inches (33 cm)
  • Width:
    11.88 inches (30.2 cm)
  • Height:
    1 inches (2.6 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The rack fits perfectly into the guide rails, reducing the chance of an accident when placing your food in the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

Hamilton Beach 31127D Accessories: Baking Pan
  • Length:
    11.33 inches (28.8 cm)
  • Width:
    9.37 inches (23.8 cm)
  • Height:
    0.7 inches (1.8 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The baking pan is correctly sized to keep messy food from dripping directly onto the heating elements. It slides into the brackets on the baking rack’s underside, so it’s a perfect fit. Unfortunately, though it has a coating, it isn’t completely non-stick so it can accumulate some stains after a tough roasting mission.

Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray

Hamilton Beach 31127D Accessories: Removable Crumb Tray
  • Length:
    12.91 inches (32.8 cm)
  • Width:
    10 inches (25.4 cm)
  • Height:
    0.7 inches (1.8 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Not advisable

The removable crumb tray makes it easier to remove crumbs and other debris from the oven’s floor. However, some may still fall to the bottom of the oven as you take out the tray.

7.0

Build Quality

Hamilton Beach 31127D Build Quality

The Hamilton Beach is well-constructed out of durable stainless steel. Its contoured knobs turn smoothly and are a nice simple touch.

Usability

How We Rated
6.4
usability Scores
  • User Control (30%)
    6.0/10
  • Ease of Use (50%)
    6.0/10
  • Cleanability (20%)
    8.0/10

Although the Hamilton Beach 31127D doesn’t invest much in convenience, it also doesn't pose any problems. You may not be able to select an exact time and temperature with the analog control knobs, but realistically, you don’t lose much precision.

6.0

User Control

Play video
Hamilton Beach 31127D User Control Video

The Hamilton Beach only has three simple control knobs but there are a few things to pay attention to. If you wish to set the timer knob for less than 10 minutes, you must first turn it beyond the 10-minute mark (to start the heating) and then roll it back to the setting you want.

Precisely adjusting time and temperature can be a bit difficult but it’s not a major problem. If you’re concerned, use an external timer and an oven thermometer for more accurate measurements.

6.0

Ease of Use

Play video
Hamilton Beach 31127D Ease of Use Video

The simple analog control panel makes it very easy to adjust settings on the fly. Once the timer counts down to the Off position, you’ll hear a chime and the oven will shut itself off. Since there’s no digital display, the oven won’t draw any more power even if you leave it plugged in.

The oven’s exterior only gets hot to the touch after a long cooking time at a high temperature. The door can be kept partially open at many degrees but keep in mind that it doesn’t switch the oven off.

8.0

Cleanability

Hamilton Beach 31127D Cleanability
Hamilton Beach 31127D Cleanability 1
Hamilton Beach 31127D Cleanability 2
Hamilton Beach 31127D Cleanability 3

We cleaned the Hamilton Beach in accordance with our toaster oven cleaning guide. The oven was easy to clean thanks to its surface coatings and the fact that it has no tricky nooks and crannies.

The removable crumb tray made it easy to clean up the crumbs, though we still had to tilt the oven to get the last of them. Unfortunately, after our Whole Roasted Chicken test, the baking pan accumulated some discoloration that we weren’t able to remove even with a paste of baking soda and water.

Prior to First Time Use

If you’re using the Hamilton Beach 31127D Countertop Toaster Oven for the first time, don’t forget to follow some basic advice:

1. Place the oven on a flat surface with at least 5 inches of space above and around all sides.

2. Make sure your outlet is 120 V and can handle a 1400 W load.

3. Do not operate the Hamilton Beach on the same circuit with another appliance; it may overload the circuit.

4. Make sure the interior of the oven is dry and clean before use.

5. Burn off the smell caused by manufacturing and protective materials before you use the oven. Do this by setting the temperature to max, and turning the timer to 15 minutes. It’s normal to see a new oven smoke during this process, but it should not last longer than 15 minutes.

Hamilton Beach 31127D FAQs