Our recommendations are made independently through Research & Testing. We may receive commissions from purchases made via our links.

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven In-depth Review

We hope our thorough Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven review will help you make an informed decision about buying a toaster oven by giving you honest test results and information. In addition, we'll share some tips for making the most out of this equipment.

By , , , and ·Updated
Tested Using Methodology v1.0
The front of a closed stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven on a white background.

Overall Verdict

The Mueller MT-175 is suitable for one-person or two-people servings and saving space on your kitchen counter. For a small toaster oven, it cooked the foods for our performance tests very well, especially our Toast, Pizza, and Whole Chicken tests.

In addition, it can save energy with its 1100 W of power and two quartz heating elements. However, this can lead to a lower performance in foods that require a stable and high temperature like baking frozen fries.

The oven has a detachable crumb tray which is useful for cleaning, especially for a unit this size. Other than that, similar to many other units of the same size, it doesn’t have many features of design and usability.

Things We Like

  • Lightweight and small size
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Simple control knobs
  • Stay-on feature
  • Quartz heating elements have safeguards
  • Energy-saving

Things We Don’t Like

  • No convection fan
  • No internal lighting
  • No safety mechanism for the door

The grey stainless steel Mueller MT-175 Small Countertop Toaster Oven is a high-performing model at an inexpensive price. It’s small, lightweight, easy to operate, and energy-efficient thanks to its quartz heating elements and low power output. Its detachable crumb tray for easy cleaning stands out from its basic design.

Key Specs

Dimensions
L14.96 x W11.61 x H8.86 inches
Weight
9.0 lbs (4.1 kg)
Control Type
3 control knobs
Temperature
150°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 30 minutes + stay-on
Cooking Functions
4

Where to Buy Price at publication $64.55

*You help support HealthyKitchen101's product testing and reviews by purchasing from our retail partners.

Compared to Other Toaster Ovens


Analysis and Test Results

7.0 Performance: Good Heat Distribution

The Mueller showed its strength in heat distribution with its score in toasting bread, baking pizza, and roasting a whole chicken. However, baking french fries showed its weakness of low power draw which is common in small toaster ovens.

7.5 Toast

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven Toast Test
From left to right, 24 pieces of toast for the top and bottom of three toast levels including lighter, medium, and darker.
The top and bottom of the best four pieces of toast from the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven.
On the left are the top and bottom of four pieces of toast from the first batch, and on the right are from the second batch.
Function
Toast
Number of Slices
4
Toast Level
⅓ to Dark
Cooking Time
4m
Second Batch
4m
Convection
No

For our Toast test, we started off by trying the Medium Toast setting which was around 3 minutes 5 seconds on the timer. The four pieces of bread on the upper tray level came out only lightly toasted on top except for one golden brown piece. We then cranked it up to the Dark Toast setting—around 4 minutes 50 seconds on the timer—which, unfortunately, burnt the toast a bit.

Finally, we opted for the middle ground which was 4 minutes on the timer—⅓ of the rotation from Medium to Dark. This setting was tricky to get right on the time dial, so we used an external timer. It gave us the best possible toast results from this oven scoring a 7.5/10 in total.

After 4 minutes of toasting, the four pieces of toast had pretty good surface color. However, the colors varied from light golden to golden brown on both the top and the bottom, so we could only give a 7/10.

Luckily, the varied colors partially meant varied textures which were all good and deserving an 8/10. The golden brown areas had a more crispy outside while the light golden areas had a softer inside. Our head chef Tuyet Pham determined that it would go great with omelets, eggs benedict, and sandwiches but not so much with soup.

After taking out the first batch, we immediately put four more pieces inside to test the oven’s consecutive usability which ended up at 7/10. Also under the identical toasting time, the four pieces of bread became brown with an increased evenness from the first batch. While the color was a bit darker than ideal, the extra crispiness made the second batch more suitable for soups.

7.6 Pizza

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven Pizza Test
 Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven PizzaA toaster oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top inside a baking pan.
Two slices of oven baked 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza with cheese, onions, and green bell peppers on top of one another.
Two hands break apart a slice of pizza with cheese, meat, onions, and green bell peppers on top baked using a toaster oven.
Function
Toast
Temperature
450°F
Cooking Time
9m
Convection
No

For its low power draw, the Mueller did pretty well in our Pizza test with a score of 7.6/10.

The oven took 9 minutes to bake a 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza which was slightly faster than the label’s recommended 10 minutes. However, compared to our tested toaster ovens, it could only be a 6/10.

The crust had a golden color all the way through and the inside was still moist. If only the crust was a bit more crispy, it would’ve gotten higher than an 8/10.

The toppings were also caramelized quite evenly from the meat and veggies to the cheese, worthy of another 8/10. The cheese was nicely melted but the areas closer to the back of the cooking chamber were more caramelized compared to the rest.

With both the crust and the toppings being 8/10, our chef had no reason to give the pizza one final 8/10 for taste.

7.0 Whole Roasted Chicken

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven Whole Roasted Chicken Test
A whole roasted chicken using the Mueller MT-175 Toaster Oven backside up on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A whole roasted chicken using the Mueller MT-175 Toaster Oven belly up on a silver baking pan on a white background.
A tray of whole toaster oven roasted chicken. The thermometer has two probes inside the chicken and displays 185°F and 192°F.
Eight pieces of a carved chicken including two carcass halves, two breasts, two wings, and two thighs on a baking pan.
Two hands pulling apart a roasted chicken thigh. In the white background is the rest of the roasted chicken on a baking pan.
Function
Toast
Temperature
350°F
Cooking Time
1h 20m
Convection
No

The Mueller could barely fit a 3 lb chicken for our Whole Roasted Chicken test. Nonetheless, the result was quite decent at 7/10 in total. If you were to purchase this oven and use it to roast a whole chicken, we recommend cutting it open or chopping it into pieces beforehand.

We first placed the chicken backside down on the baking pan. When we slid the pan in, the top of the chicken breast grazed the upper heating element’s guard and was seared.

After the first 40 minutes, we flipped the chicken to find out that parts of the skin on the back got stuck to the baking pan. Then, when we reinsert the pan, the same problem with the breast happened to the back. Luckily, they weren’t burnt.

However, even after 1 hour and 20 minutes, most of the chicken skin still hasn’t reached a desirable color. The chicken, for the most part, looked like it was steamed and not roasted, so we gave the skin a 5.5/10.

Nonetheless, our chef decided to stop the roasting as the color wouldn’t improve anyway and to avoid overcooking the meat. This cooking time was the equivalent of a 6/10 according to our data.

With such a long cooking time, the meat had no pink spots. However, the chicken’s internal temperature was 185°F-192°F, higher than the USDA recommended 165°F-180°F. Thus, we gave it an 8.7/ for doneness.

While not the most appetizing looking, the meat was very juicy. That, combined with the slight caramelization on the skin, was enough for a 7.5/10 for taste from our chef.

3.6 Baked French Fries

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven Baked French Fries Test
Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven Baked French FriesPieces of baked french fries using the Mueller MT-175 Toaster Oven on a grooved silver baking pan on a white background.
A close-up of pieces of baked french fries using the Mueller MT-175 Toaster Oven on a baking pan on a white background.
Ten pieces of broken-up baked french fries are stacked on top of pieces of whole fries on a grooved silver baking pan.
Function
Toast
Temperature
400°F
Cooking Time
27 m
Convection
No

Our Baked French Fries test brought out the Mueller’s weakness of not being able to maintain a high temperature due to its low power draw. Its even heat distribution couldn’t help much if the temperature wasn’t high enough, so the final score was 3.6/10. These problems are less likely to be present in a convection toaster oven.

We stopped the baking after 27 minutes as the fries weren’t getting any more colors. This, nonetheless, was over our time limit of 25 minutes, so it was a 0/10.

The fries had no significant color change and barely enough for a 4.5/10. We ended up with 12 oz of frozen fries that were more similar to being dried in an oven than being baked, so we gave them another 4.5/10 for texture.

Fortunately, the fries were cooked through and not soggy, so our chef could give them a 4.5/10 for taste and not a zero.

5.3 Design: Standard

The Mueller has a standard design for a small oven which further highlights its detachable crumb tray. Its quartz heating elements can be another factor worth considering if you’re into energy efficiency.

In the Box

A box, the Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven, a recipe booklet, a baking pan, an oven rack, a user manual, and a brochure.
  • Model: MT-175
  • Warranty: 1 year
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan

The Mueller toaster oven came in a basic packaging and positioned with two foam pads. The included accessories were simply duct-taped to the oven. Inside the box are also a user manual and a simple recipe booklet.

5.0 Exterior

A closed front of the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
A closed front of the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven with exterior measurements on a white background.
Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven ExteriorThe front of a closed stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven has a control panel and the right has holes.
The back and left sides of the Instant Omni Plus 18L have air ventilation holes. The back has a power cord and two buffers.
The top, front, and right sides of the Black+Decker TO1760SS 4-Slice Natural Convection Toaster Oven on a white background.
On a white background, the bottom of the Mueller MT-175 Toaster Oven has a detachable crumb tray, four stands, and holes.
The detached crumb tray of the stainless steel Black+Decker TO1760SS 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven on a white background.
Weight
9.0 lbs (4.1 kg)
Length
15.0" (38.0 cm)
Width
11.6" (29.5 cm)
Height
8.9" (22.5 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Color
Gray
Door Handle
Cool-touch
Tray Indicators
No
Crumb Tray
Detachable

As simple as it is, the Mueller has all the standard exterior features of a small toaster oven but also something more. The bottom of the oven acts as a detachable crumb tray which not only makes it easy to remove the falling bits and crumbs but also to clean the entire interior.

The oven has a cool-touch door handle and back buffers to prevent it from being too close to the wall. Unfortunately, it has no cord storage or carrying handles.

Our measurements of the oven’s footprint were 14.96" x 11.61" x 8.86" which pretty much coincided with the manufacturer’s 14.84" x 11.85" x 8.86". However, the weight of the oven by itself was already 9 lbs whereas the label said the entire box was 7.63 lbs.

Control Panel

The control panel of the Black+Decker TO1760SS 4-Slice Toaster Oven has 3 control knobs for temperature, function, and timer.
Type
3 control knobs
Temperature
150°F - 450°F
Timer
1 minute - 30 minutes + stay-on
Indicator Light
Yes
Status Bar
No
Light Toggle
No
Convection Toggle
No
Rotation Toggle
No
Automatic Preheat
No
Audio Cues
No

The Mueller has a basic analog control panel with three dials for temperature, function, and time. The time dial has a stay-on setting to help with its short range, similar to many other small toaster ovens. Interestingly, while the max temperature setting was 450°F, we actually recorded the internal temperature of the oven reaching 500°F on the said setting.

Cooking Functions

The function dial of the Black+Decker TO1760SS 4-Slice Toaster Oven has 3 cooking functions including Bake, Broil, and Toast.
  • Toast
  • Bake
  • Broil
  • Keep warm

Different from most other toaster ovens, the Mueller’s Bake function only uses the lower heating elements as opposed to lower and upper. The Broil function still uses only the upper heating elements.

The Toast function is where both the lower and upper heating elements work. Nonetheless, the oven still provides all the basic functions for its intended purposes.

1.0 Interior

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven InteriorThe Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven’s cooking chamber has 2 quartz heating elements with guards and 2 guide rails.
Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven InteriorThe Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven’s cooking chamber has 2 quartz heating elements with guards and 2 guide rails.
The Mueller MT-175 Oven has 1 bottom heating element with a guard and 2 guide rails on its right cooking chamber wall.
Heating Elements
2 quartz
Convection Fan
No
Lighting
No
Tray Levels
2
Rotisserie
No
Safety Hook
No

Similar to many other small toaster ovens, including the Comfee CFO-BB101, the Mueller lacks a convection fan and an interior light. In addition, it only has two heating elements which can usually lead to uneven heat distribution compared to four or more heating elements.

These heating elements are made of quartz which uses infrared light to cook foods faster than the more common nichrome counterparts. Quartz heating elements also cool down faster, are more energy-efficient and easier to clean but not as durable.

However, if grease splashes onto the heating elements while cooking, it’ll leave permanent stains. This is why they usually have guards which this oven also has.

Capacity

An opened front of the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Toaster Oven with interior measurements on a white background.
Length
10.6" (27.0 cm)
Width
9.8" (25.0 cm)
Height
7.5" (19.0 cm)

We could fit four slices of toast, a 9-inch pizza but we could barely fit a 3 lb chicken inside the Mueller, unlike the same-sized Breville BOV450XL. We measured the cooking chamber volume to be around 12.81 liters, slightly different than the manufacturer’s provided capacity of 11.67 liters. However, it could just be a difference in measuring standards.

Power Cord

A two-pronged plug power cord. In the background is the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven.
Length
30.7" (78.0 cm)
Type
2-prong plug
Power
1100 W
Rated Output
120 V ~ 60 Hz

The power cord is 30.7 inches long, suitable for household use. Unfortunately, the oven doesn’t have any storage space for it.

Accessories: Baking Rack

A stainless steel baking rack of the Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven on a white background.
Length
10.5" (26.7 cm)
Width
8.8" (22.4 cm)
Height
0.5" (1.3 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The two sides of the baking rack have slight curves upward at an angle to keep the baking pan in place. It fits perfectly with the guide to help prevent accidents when placing your food in the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

A grooved silver baking pan of the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven on a white background.
Length
10.2" (25.8 cm)
Width
7.9" (20.0 cm)
Height
0.6" (1.5 cm)
Material
Stainless steel
Dishwasher Safe
Yes

The baking pan doesn’t fit into the guide rails and has to on top of the rack. This may prevent the full use of the oven’s capacity and lead to some inconveniences during cooking.

On the bright side, the pan has ridges and grooves to give your food attractive roasting marks and catch the dripping better. It has a coating but is not completely non-stick so you may need to watch out for some stubborn stains after a hefty roast.

8.0 Build Quality

The front of an opened stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven with an oven rack and baking pan.

For a simple small toaster oven, build quality is all about how durable it is and if it works properly. The Mueller accomplishes that with a sturdy stainless steel casing and smooth-turning dials.

5.2 Usability: Easy but Not Convenient to Use

Similar to most small toaster ovens, the Mueller is easy to operate but not the most convenient to use. For instance, the control panel has a lot of room for errors and the oven’s interior doesn’t have a non-stick coating for easy cleaning.

6.0 User Control

Even though the Mueller only has three simple control dials, there are a few things to keep in mind. For the timer knob, when setting it to less than 10 minutes, always rotate past 10 minutes and then rotate back to the desired time.

It’s always tricky to precisely adjust time and temperature for an analog-control toaster oven and this one is no different. Nonetheless, you can use an external timer and an oven thermometer to get more accurate readings.

If you frequently use the stay-on feature, you can turn off the oven by rotating the function dial to Off instead of the timer.

4.0 Ease of Use

What’s convenient about 100% analog toaster ovens is that it’s very simple to adjust time and temperature during cooking. When the timer runs out, a bell will sound and the oven will shut off. Afterward, you can freely leave it plugged in and not worry about power consumption as it has no digital display.

The door can open at any angle < 50° to let food cool down inside the oven. However, keep in mind that opening the door doesn’t stop the oven. The exterior shell isn’t very thick, so it gets hot to the touch quite quickly during cooking.

7.0 Cleanability

Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven CleanabilityPermanent stains on the left cooking chamber’s ceiling and the upper heating element’s guard of the Mueller MT-175 Oven.
Mueller 4 Slice Toaster Oven CleanabilityPermanent stains on the left cooking chamber’s ceiling and the upper heating element’s guard of the Mueller MT-175 Oven.
Permanent stains on the right cooking chamber’s ceiling and the upper heating element’s guard of the Mueller MT-175 Oven.
The cleaned grooved silver baking pan of the stainless steel Mueller MT-175 4-Slice Countertop Toaster Oven.

We clean the stainless steel exterior with no problem. However, after the chicken test, there were burnt bits stuck to the upper heating element’s guard and grease on the cooking chamber’s ceiling. There was ample space between the ceiling and the upper heating element, so we proceed to try every cleaning method possible.

Unfortunately, we could only scrub off the bits. Due to the interior not having a non-stick coating, there were some permanent stains on the cooking chamber’s ceiling and the upper heating element’s guard.

Luckily, the heating element itself was intact. Also, we were able to remove the stubborn stains on the baking pan by brushing them with a paste of baking soda and water.

You have 3/3 full reviews left

To access unlimited full product reviews, product prices and other exclusive site features Become a Member