Breville BOV450XL Toaster Oven Review

Alan Nguyen
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Breville BOV450XL Toaster Oven Review
Power: 1800W

Overall Verdict

6.5
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    6.8/10
  • Usability (25%)
    6.2/10
  • Design (25%)
    6.4/10

The brushed stainless steel Breville BOV450XL is a good choice if you’re looking for a small-sized smart countertop toaster oven. It also has a well-constructed outer shell and control panel. In addition, the interior coating makes cleaning easy.

Its cooking performance could be improved though. The high wattage plus quartz heating elements are partially negated by the lack of a convection system. Also, the oven’s smart heating algorithms sometimes lead to inconsistent heat distribution.

Things We Like

  • Unique feature buttons
  • Non-stick interior
  • High-contrast digital display
  • Sturdy construction
  • Cool-touch door handle
  • Easy-to-clean stainless steel exterior
  • Convenient slide-out crumb tray

Things We Don’t Like

  • No interior lighting
  • No convection fan
  • Inconsistent heating elements

The brushed stainless steel Breville BOV450XL Mini Smart Countertop Toaster Oven is well-constructed throughout, from the outer shell, to the control panel, to its non-stick interior coating. For $151.99 (at the time of writing), its unique features, good accessories, and interesting cooking functions make it a decent – if imperfect – oven.

We hope our comprehensive toaster oven preview can help with your purchase decision. We try to be as objective as possible in our assessments. Along the way, we’ll share some tips on what you should and shouldn’t do to get the most out of this oven.

Breville BOV450XL Toaster Oven In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
6.8
Performance Scores
  • Toast (40%)
    7.8/10
  • Pizza (25%)
    5.5/10
  • Whole Roasted Chicken (25%)
    6.6/10
  • Baked French Fries (10%)
    6.5/10

The Breville BOV450XL produced great toast and adequate results when roasting a whole chicken and baking french fries. However, it left a lot to be desired when we tried a pizza. We suspect this was due to the inconsistent heating of the oven.

7.8

Toast

Breville BOV450XL Toast
On the left: Level 3; In the middle: Level 4; On the right: Level 5
Breville BOV450XL Toast 1
Best level: Level 4
Breville BOV450XL Toast 2
The first batch vs the second batch
Taste Test: 8
50% * 8 = 4.0
Even Surface Color: 8
20% * 8 = 1.6
Consecutive Usability: 7.5
30% * 7.5 = 2.3
  • Function: Toast
  • Number Of Slices: 4
  • Toast Level: 4/7
  • Cooking Time: 3m (fixed)
  • Second Batch: 2m 36s (auto)
  • Convection: No

After following our Toast test procedures, we determined that this oven’s toasting level 4 was the best option, giving it a score of 7.9/10. At level 3, the bread was very lightly toasted and at 5 was darker than ideal and had a more uneven surface color. Thanks to its high wattage, this oven has the fastest cooking time for toast among the toaster ovens we’ve tested thus far.

Even Surface Color

At toast level 4, the Breville produced 4 pieces with mottled light golden to golden-brown color which looked quite appetizing. The color was not evenly distributed due to the oven’s lack of a convection system, though, so we gave it an 8/10.

Taste

The first batch of toast was nicely crispy outside while still soft and moist inside, deserving an 8/10 score for flavor. Our head chef, Tuyet Pham, determined they would go well with pretty much anything including an omelet, eggs benedict, and particularly sandwiches. The second set we cooked was more suitable for soup since it was crispier.

Consecutive Usability

Even though this oven has an automatic toast time adjustment feature, the color of the second batch was a bit darker. Also, the second batch was crispier than the first, so reduce the heat by one level if you want the same result. Overall, it’s a 7.5/10 for consecutive usability.

5.5

Pizza

Breville BOV450XL Pizza
Breville BOV450XL Pizza 1
Breville BOV450XL Pizza 2
Cooking Time: 0
20% * 0 = 0.0
Crust: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Toppings: 6.5
30% * 6.5 = 1.9
Taste Test: 7
30% * 7 = 2.1
  • Function:  Bake
  • Temperature: 450°F
  • Cooking Time: 10m 30s
  • Convection: No

The Breville oven did not agree with the 9-inch thick-crust meat pizza we tried to bake. We gave it a score of only 5.5/10.

Cooking Time

This oven took 10m 30s to bake the pizza which was only slightly longer than the recommended 10 minutes on the label. However, 10 minutes was the time limit of our Pizza test, so it failed the cooking time section.

Crust

The crust had a nice golden color but was soft and dry — a possible consequence of the long cooking time. Therefore, we could only give it a 7/10.

Toppings

The toppings were mostly dry with uneven color. Plus, the cheese wasn’t well melted, so it received a 6.5/10.

Taste

After tasting, our chef gave the pizza a 7/10.

6.6

Whole Roasted Chicken

Breville BOV450XL Roasted Whole Chicken
Breville BOV450XL Roasted Whole Chicken 1
Breville BOV450XL Roasted Whole Chicken 2
Breville BOV450XL Roasted Whole Chicken 3
Breville BOV450XL Roasted Whole Chicken 4
Cooking Time: 7.5
20% * 7.5 = 1.5
Skin: 5.5
20% * 5.5 = 1.1
Doneness: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Taste Test: 6.5
40% * 6.5 = 2.6
  • Function: Rotisserie
  • Temperature Range: 350°F.
  • Cooking Time: 1h 5m
  • Convection: No

The Breville could barely fit the 3 lb chicken for our Whole Roasted Chicken test and scored a 6.6/10. The chicken grazed the safety guards that protect the upper heating elements while we were putting it in. During the roasting, quite a bit of grease splashed inside the oven and caused the heating elements to smoke a little.

Cooking Time

The oven took 1h 5m to cook the chicken which was just 5 minutes longer than what we consider standard, so it got a 7.5/10.

Skin

Even after roasting, the skin took on only a yellow color – almost like it was steamed – and remained very soft. We only awarded it a 5.5/10. In addition, the skin on the back got stuck to the baking pan during roasting.

Doneness

The chicken’s internal temperature was 168-171°F which was very close to the USDA recommendation. However, there were a few pink spots near the bone, so we gave it a 7/10.

Taste

Even though the meat was juicy, the unappetizing chicken skin was enough that our chef lowered the score to 6.5/10 for taste.

6.5

Baked French Fries

Breville BOV450XL Baked French Fries
Breville BOV450XL Baked French Fries 1
Breville BOV450XL Baked French Fries 2
Cooking Time: 5
20% * 5 = 1.0
Color: 7
20% * 7 = 1.4
Texture: 6.5
20% * 6.5 = 1.3
Taste Test: 7
40% * 7 = 2.8
  • Function: Bake
  • Temperature: 400°F.
  • Cooking Time: 25 m
  • Convection: No

The Breville did an acceptable job of baking 12 oz of french fries, scoring a 6.5/10.

Cooking Time

It took 25 minutes, the limit of our Baked French Fries test, so this oven got a 5/10.

Color

Except for a few golden pieces, the fries mostly lacked color. They only deserved a score of  7/10.

Texture

The fries had a variety of textures, none of which were good. The golden fries were dry and yet only slightly crispy. Also, the ones that lacked color were really soft, so it was only a 6.5/10.

Taste

Our chef gave the fries a 7/10 for taste.

6.4
design Scores
  • Exterior (20%)
    6.0/10
  • Interior (30%)
    4.0/10
  • Build Quality (50%)
    8.0/10

The Breville BOV450XL has a good capacity for a small oven. However, while it has a high wattage and quartz heating elements, it lacks a convection system, so the fancy heating elements don’t improve performance much. And as a kicker, the interior is black and contains no internal lights.

In the Box

Breville BOV450XL In the Box
  • Model: BOV450XL
  • Warranty: 1-year limited
  • User Manual
  • Baking Rack
  • Baking Pan

On the packaging were some illustrations and basic information, and the oven was couched nicely between two foam pads. Breville’s user manual explains in detail how each oven function works. 

The default accessories, a baking rack and baking pan, were packaged in a fitted carton box. You can opt to buy a separate 11” pizza pan and/or a broiling rack to cover more cooking methods.

6.0

Exterior

Breville BOV450XL Exterior
Breville BOV450XL Exterior 1
Breville BOV450XL Exterior 2
Breville BOV450XL Exterior 3
Breville BOV450XL Exterior 4
  • Weight:
    10 lbs (4.55 kg)
  • Length:
    15.74 inches (40 cm)
  • Width:
    14.17 inches (36 cm)
  • Height:
    8.46 inches (21.5 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Color:
    Silver
  • Door Handle:
    cool-touch
  • Tray Level Indicators:
    Yes
  • Removable Bottom Tray:
    Slide-out

The small size didn’t stop Breville from designing a sturdy stainless steel outer shell. The shape of the back buffers makes it easy to wrap the power cord around them once things have cooled.

Also, the tray-level indicators on the glass door and the slide-out crumb tray are always nice touches. However, the oven’s exterior doesn’t provide good grip points to carry the oven.

Control Panel

Breville BOV450XL Control Panel
  • Type:
     LCD display + 1 control dial + 8 buttons
  • Temperature Setting:
    120°F - 450°F
  • Timer:
    1 minute - 2 hours
  • On Indicator Light:
     No
  • Cooking Status Bar:
    No
  • Light Toggle:
    No
  • Convection Toggle:
    No
  • Rotation Toggle:
    No
  • Automatic Oven Preheat:
    Yes
  • Audio Reminder To Turn Food:
    No

The control panel consists of 1 control knob for 8 functions and 4 buttons to set the time, temperature, and/or toasting mode. The digital display and the Start/Cancel button both shine blue when the oven’s plugged in and red when it’s cooking.

Beyond the standard stuff, you’ll find 3 unique buttons: Temperature Conversion (°F-°C), Frozen Foods, and A Bit More. The latter adds a specific amount of time depending on the cooking function.

The LCD screen will display ‘E01’ or ‘E02’ when there is a non-resettable issue with the appliance. When this happens, immediately unplug the cord from the wall outlet and call the Breville Customer Service Center.

The ‘E03’ shows up when the oven temperature exceeds its design limit. Should this occur, unplug your oven, allow it to cool for 15 minutes, then plug it back in.

The ‘E04’ appears when the room temperature is below the set minimum. If this happens, unplug the oven and move it to a warmer area.

Cooking Functions

Play video
Breville BOV450XL Cooking Functions Video
  • Toast (7 levels, 4 slices maximum)
  • Bagel (7 levels, 4 slices maximum)
  • Bake (1h 30m maximum)
  • Broil (High and Low levels, 20 minutes maximum)
  • Pizza (55 minutes maximum)
  • Roast (1h 30m maximum)
  • Cookies (55 minutes maximum)
  • Reheat (370°F maximum)

For safety reasons, all cooking functions have a predetermined timer limit after which the oven stops cooking. If you want to continue cooking, simply operate the oven in standard mode. The High setting of the Broil function does the job faster than Low and you’ll need to experiment with it to learn how quickly it cooks.

4.0

Interior

Breville BOV450XL Interior
Breville BOV450XL Interior 1
  • Number Of Heating Elements:
    4 quartz
  • Convection Fan:
    No
  • Lighting:
    No
  • Tray Levels:
    3
  • Rotisserie Socket And Bracket:
    No
  • Safety Hook:
    No

Capacity: 12.74 liters - 4 slices of toast - 11-inch pizza

The Breville’s interior has a non-stick coating, 4 heating elements, and 3 tray levels (quite rare for its size). However, it has no internal lighting or convection system.

The oven uses 4 quartz heating elements, each with its own safety guard to prevent direct contact with baking pans and food. Unlike the more common nichrome style, these don’t heat the air in the oven, but rather radiate the infrared heat directly to the food or pan.

Overall, they produce more heat and cool down faster than nichrome. In addition, they’re easier to clean and are more energy-efficient but not as durable.

Power Cord

Breville BOV450XL Power Cord
  • Length:
    40.94 inches (104 cm)
  • Type
    :
    3-prong plug
  • Power:
    1800 W
  • Rated Output:
    110 V - 120 V ~ 60 Hz

The power cord has plenty of length for household use and can be wrapped around the back buffers for storage. The plug also has a nice little handle which makes it easier to grab.

Accessories: Baking Rack

Breville BOV450XL Accessories: Baking Rack
  • Length:
    11.49 inches (29.2 cm)
  • Width:
    10.35 inches (26.3 cm)
  • Height:
    0.27 inches (0.7 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The rack fits perfectly on the guide rails, which helps prevent accidents when placing your food in the oven.

Accessories: Baking Pan

Breville BOV450XL Accessories: Baking Pan
  • Length:
    10.62 inches (27 cm)
  • Width:
    10.62 inches (27 cm)
  • Height:
    1.18 inches (3 cm)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel with enamel coating
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Not advisable

Although the baking pan is a bit smaller than the rack, it still has more than enough space for a 3 lb chicken. Thus, it keeps most of the mess off the heating elements. 

However, even with the enamel coating, the chicken skin still stuck to the pan during our roasting test. Also worth noting is that the dishwasher can damage this coating.

8.0

Build Quality

Breville BOV450XL Build Quality

The Breville is well-constructed and durable with a high power rating of 1800 W. All of its parts fit nicely and work smoothly, especially the LCD display and the buttons.

Usability

How We Rated
6.2
usability Scores
  • User Control (30%)
    8.0/10
  • Ease of Use (50%)
    4.0/10
  • Cleanability (20%)
    9.0/10

The Breville BOV450XL is simple to use and to clean. Unfortunately, most of its unique features aren’t useful. Its smart heating algorithms also didn’t add much to the test dishes we cooked.

8.0

User Control

Play video
Breville BOV450XL User Control Video

The Temperature Conversion button is a nice touch for international users. The cooking time can be adjusted in increments of 1 minute and the temperature in increments of 5°F. For some reason, this differs from what the user manual states.

The manual says that the FROZEN FOODS button adds the right amount of additional time needed to defrost the target foods in the Toast, Bagel, Pizza, Cookies, and Bake functions. However, we didn’t find it very useful since cooking time depends heavily on the food quantity and personal preference.

The A BIT MORE button, where each press adds a pre-set amount of time to each function, has a similar problem. It only seemed useful when the oven was still cold and we wanted to skip the preheating phase.

4.0

Ease of Use

Play video
Breville BOV450XL Ease of Use Video

The Breville has an automatic preheating phase that lasts 1m 45s. Our tests saw it reaching around 180°F in that time. The temperature alert will sound when the oven reaches your selected temperature. Then, it will sound three times at the end of the cooking cycle.

It’s very easy to adjust cooking settings during use. However, even though this oven doesn’t turn off upon opening the door, the door won’t stay partially open – it’s all or nothing.

According to the manufacturer, the Element iQ System’s smart algorithms focus power where and when it’s most needed, creating ideal cooking conditions every time. However, we didn’t notice a significant difference in performance when comparing it to other ovens of the same size/wattage.

If it’s not actively cooking, the oven will go into STANDBY mode after 10 minutes with no interaction. Although unplugging the oven resets your customized setting, Breville recommends doing so anyway after you finish using it.

9.0

Cleanability

Breville BOV450XL Cleanability
Breville BOV450XL Cleanability 1
Breville BOV450XL Cleanability 2
Breville BOV450XL Cleanability 3

We cleaned the Breville in accordance with our toaster oven cleaning guide. Thanks to the stainless steel exterior and non-stick interior, it was very easy to clean. Removing crumbs was also easy thanks to the slide-out crumb tray, although we still had to tilt the oven to get the last of them out.

The upper heating elements got stained by smoke from splattered grease during our roasted chicken test. Fortunately, we had no problem removing the stains by brushing the elements with a paste of baking soda and water. We were also able to easily scrub the burnt chicken skin off of the baking pan.

Prior to First Time Use

If you’re using the Breville BOV450XL Mini Smart Countertop Toaster Oven for the first time, don’t forget to follow these few pieces of advice:

1. Place the oven on a flat surface with at least 5 inches of space above and around all sides.

2. Make sure your outlet is 110-120 V - 1800 W.

3. Do not operate the Breville on the same circuit with another appliance – it may overload the electrical circuit.

4. Make sure the interior of the oven is dry and clean before use.

5. Burn off the new oven’s smell caused by production materials and protective layering. Do this by setting the temperature to max and allowing it to run for 15 minutes. It’s normal to see smoke during this process for a new oven, but it should not last longer than 15 minutes.

Breville BOV450XL FAQs