Vitamix 5-Speed Immersion Blender Review

Tina Pham
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
The Vitamix Immersion Blender Review
Blender type: immersion
Power: 625W

Overall Verdict

8.5
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.6/10
  • Usability (30%)
    8.2/10
  • Design (20%)
    8.8/10

After several days of testing, the Vitamix 5-speed immersion blender received positive reviews from most of our operators, particularly for its practicality, powerful motor, and premium-quality build.

Although it doesn’t have the best weight balance, its versatility allows us to create consistent results.

If you’re willing to spare no expense, this tool is an excellent alternative to a full-sized blender for preparing silky purées, hearty soup, green smoothies, or whatever else your heart desires.

Things We Like

  • A great tool for recipes that involve fibrous or frozen food
  • 4-pronged heavy-duty blade promotes speedy blends and consistent results
  • Intuitive interface makes it easy to switch between speed settings
  • Ergonomically-designed handle offers a secure grip
  • Blade Guard prevents scratching 
  • Stainless steel body ensures optimal durability

Things We Don’t Like

  • Expensive  
  • Relatively heavy

Immersion blenders like this Vitamix unit are a bit different than your standard countertop blender. Rather than a pitcher built around a blender blade, immersion units are just the blades attached to a handheld wand. You immerse the blade into a container of your choice.

For the most part, we’re of the opinion that affordability means little if the machine doesn’t perform well. However, to see whether cost is related to the blender’s efficiency, we tested the Vitamix against four other immersion blenders from different price ranges. This also helped give us a more comprehensive picture of how well the Vitamix performs, how it stands out from the rest, and whether it’s a worthwhile investment.

Vitamix 5-Speed Immersion Blender In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
8.6
Performance Scores
  • Hot Soup Purée (35%)
    9.5/10
  • Smoothie (30%)
    8.8/10
  • Mayonnaise (15%)
    8.3/10
  • Almond Milk (15%)
    9.3/10
  • Whipped Egg-Whites (5%)
    0/10

With 625 watts of power, the Vitamix is more powerful than most hand blenders on the market and does its jobs quickly without involving too much physical effort. Once activated, it draws almost everything toward the blades, creating a homogeneous mixture. Still, you’ll need to move the blending wand around in the ingredients to promote an uniform texture.

9.5

Hot Soup Purée

Vitamix Immersion Blender Soup Purée
Play video
Vitamix Immersion Blender Soup Purée Video
Vitamix Immersion Hot Soup
  • Pureeing Time: 30 seconds
  • Result: Exceptionally smooth
  • Suction: No
  • Unprocessed Chunks: No

Pureeing hot soup wasn't challenging the Vitamix thanks to its powerful motor and razor-sharp blades. Although it wasn’t any faster than its counterparts in pureeing time, it warranted the higher cost by providing us with a nutrient-dense purée of silky smooth texture. It also stood out from the rest with a non-suction performance that helped keep splashing to minimal.  

Indeed, the Vitamix is the most suitable hand blender for preparing restaurant-quality soup at home. It’s a great bargain for any recipes that involve fibrous food, too. If you’re now looking for a tool that can consistently ensure the smoothest blends, we particularly love and recommend this blender.

8.8

Smoothie

Vitamix Immersion Blender Smoothie
The Vitamix Easily Handled Solid Ingredients (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
Play video
Vitamix Immersion Blender Smoothie Video
Vitamix 5-Speed Immersion Smoothie 1
  • Blending Time: 1 min 5 secs
  • Result: Smooth
  • Suction: No
  • Unprocessed Chunks: No

The Vitamix took only 1 minute and 5 seconds to complete this test. By comparison, its counterparts such as the UTALENT 5-in-1 and the Hamilton Beach 59765 required nearly double the time.

Regarding the smoothie’s texture, of all the blenders we tested, only the Vitamix could churn out a thick, creamy smoothie with almost no solids left behind. Plus, despite being longer and heavier, it operated well in our 24-oz blending jar while the BPA-free plastic bell guard helped prevent scratches on the jar’s surfaces.

8.3

Mayonnaise

Vitamix Immersion Blender Mayonnaise
Play video
Vitamix Immersion Blender Mayonnaise
  • Emulsifying Time: 1 mins 40 secs
  • Result: Quite Thick
  • Suction: No

For the mayo whisking test, we initially whisked together two egg yolks and 150ml oil in a 24-oz vessel. Of the five blenders in the test, only the two two units with whisk attachments passed the test. The Vitamix (as well as the other remaining blenders) barely reached the egg yolks and left us with a jumbled mixture before oil was added. Its blending wand wasn’t designed for such a small volume of ingredients. We do suspect, though, that the results might have been better if we used a narrower blending container.  

At that point we decided to modify the recipe to include three egg yolks and 240ml oil. With this amount, all five of the blenders produced acceptable outcomes and only our culinary expert could tell the differences between them.

The Vitamix didn’t have the fastest performance, requiring about one minute and forty seconds to incorporate all the ingredients. This was nearly 30 seconds slower than the winner, the Cuisinart.

This is because when the mayonnaise emulsified and started to thicken, the blending wand generated a suction force, pulling itself against the container’s bottom. That made movement more difficult and slowed the whole process down. We don’t necessarily consider the time to be a deal-breaker. Since the blender itself is quite heavy, though, the longer the process takes, the more it will fatigue your hands. 

In conclusion, despite some drawbacks, the Vitamix is an acceptable alternative to a hand mixer for preparing mayonnaise or other emulsified sauces. Still, it is not the best hand blender for this job and ideal results may require extra effort.

9.3

Almond Milk

Vitamix Immersion Blender Almond Milk
A lot of almond skins lodged in the blade guard (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
Play video
Vitamix Immersion Blender Almond Milk Test
  • Grinding Time: 40 secs
  • Result: Fine
  • Suction: Slightly

Our nut milk was made with two ingredients: raw almonds and warm water. The nuts had been soaked overnight prior to blending, so the Vitamix took just 40 seconds to yield one serving of drinkable almond milk. Although it wasn't the most efficient blender in our testing, it was so good at drawing ingredients toward its blades that we didn't need to move it around much for an even blend.

That said, from start to finish, its crushing process didn’t go very well. The almond skins, along with peeled chunks, became lodged in the blade guard. We had to stop the blender temporarily and use a spatula to dislodge the food, which we didn’t have to do with other models.

Not only that, but because the Vitamix couldn’t create a consistent vortex, everything got close to overflowing when we increased the speed. 

Suction was a problem again as well. As a result, we got some almond spatter when we tried to lift up the wand. Most of the splatter-related issues could probably be avoided, though, if we blended it in a taller or larger jar.

Failed

Whipped Egg-Whites

Vitamix Immersion Blender Whipped Egg-Whites
  • Beating Time: N/A
  • Result: N/A
  • Suction: N/A

The Vitamix could be a great all-around blender if it included a whisk attachment. This is because, in our test, there was no way the immersion blender could beat egg-white with its ordinary blending shaft. Unlike a whisk attachment, the blending shaft can’t force air into the egg whites, which is the way to create an even, bubbly foam. Consequently, the result was a cloudy liquid with two separate layers of bubble film and eggy water. We awarded it no points for this test.

8.8
design Scores
  • Blending Shaft (30%)
    9.5/10
  • Build Quality (60%)
    9.0/10
  • Power Cord (5%)
    10/10
  • Beaker: Not Included (0%)
    0/10

During our testing, we noticed that balde friction from a prolonged operation would cause the motor to overload. That’s why it’s best to avoid using this blender continuously for more than four minutes. The Vitamixt cannot protect itself from overheating, though it is designed to flash a pattern of LEDs to indicate when your motor is over temperature.

Dimensions

Vitamix Immersion Blender Dimension
  • Height
    :
    17.5" (44.5 cm)
  • Width:
    3.0" (7.6 cm)
  • Weight:
    3.2 lbs (1.4 kg)
  • Shaft Length:
    9.2" (23.4 cm)

Compared with others, this blender is quite tall, measuring about 17.5 inches tall, 3 inches wide, and 3 inches deep. That length may allow it to reach the bottom of deep pots more easily. At 3.2 pounds, it is also heavier than most — we were pretty shocked by its weight at first.

9.5

Blending Shaft

Vitamix Immersion Blender Hands-on Blades
Stainless Steel Blade Housing with Plastic Guard (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
Vitamix 5-Speed Immersion Blending Shaft
  • Material:
    Stainless Steel
  • Type:
    Sharp Blade
  • Guard Material:
    BPA-free plastic
  • Blade Count:
    4
  • Removable:
    No
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    No

The Vitamix’s blade is constructed of hardened stainless steel. Featuring 4 prongs, this is a unique blade assembly found exclusively in Vitamix-brand hand blenders. There is also a permanent bell-shaped guard at the end of the blending wand. As advertised by its manufacturer, this blade guard can efficiently reduce suction. Made of BPA-free plastic, the bell’s rim should help protect the interior surfaces of your cookware or blending containers.

9.0

Build Quality

Vitamix Immersion Blender Build Quality

The Vitamix 5-speed is a simple, high-end blender. Mostly made of stainless steel, it is sturdy and appeals to us aesthetically as well. We’re confident when we say it’s among the few hand blenders on the market that provide the right balance of performance, quality, and value. Better built than most, we also believed its exterior is less likely to be damaged or succumb to basic wear and tear over time.

10

Power Cord

Vitamix Immersion Blender Hands-on Power Cord
Vitamix Immersion Blender Hands-on Power Cord
  • Cord Length
    :
    4.9
  • Type
    :
    No
  • Detachable
    :
    2-prong plug

The Vitamix features a polarized power cord whose one pin is slightly wider than the other. As a safety feature, you can only insert its plug into a polarized electrical outlet in one direction. Should the plug doesn’t fit in your receptacle, make sure you will not force it or try to trim down the pins. Instead, you should contact a qualified electrician for a proper solution.

Beaker: Not Included

not image
  • Material
    :
    N/A
  • Capacity
    :
    N/A
  • Measurements
    :
    N/A
  • Weight:
    N/A
  • Height:
    N/A
  • Suitable For
    :
    N/A
  • Dishwasher Safe
    :
    N/A
  • Tamper Included
    :
    N/A

As mentioned above, the Vitamix immersion blender doesn’t come with a particular blending container, but we ensure you can easily buy an optional one of any brand on the market.

Extra Accessories: Not Included

not image
  • Material:
    N/A
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    N/A
  • Removable:
    N/A

There is no additional attachment included. If you want to use blending attachments other than the stainless steel shaft provided with this appliance, make sure they’re recommended or offered separately from the Vitamix’s manufacturers.

In the Box

Vitamix Immersion Blender Hands-on Review
  • Motor body 
  • Blending shaft 
  • User manual

In the package, you will find a handheld motor section, blending wand, and owner’s manual. The lack of additional accessories like a blending jar or a whisk attachment did make us hesitant about the high price. Nevertheless, as soon as we had a hands-on go at this blender, its solid construction proved that it was worth the money.

Speed and Controls

Vitamix Immersion Blender Speed and Controls
Vitamix Immersion Blender Speed and Controls
Vitamix 5-Speed Immersion Speed and Controls
  • Control Type:
    Press
  • Min Speed:
    8,600 RPM
  • Max Speed:
    15,700 RPM
  • Presets:
    No
  • Max Noise Level:
    85 dB
  • LED Display:
    Yes
  • Pulse Turbo Mode:
    No

We particularly like this blender’s intuitive interface. You can get five different speeds out of it but there are only two buttons on the front. You won’t need much practice to operate them smoothly; we figured out how they worked before reading the user manual. As a visual aid, this blender also has an LED display on top indicating the speed.

The Vitamix is also different from others in terms of its acceleration. Its speed steps up gradually rather than the violent torques others create. That went a long way toward preventing messes and should also prolong the motor’s lifespan.

Usability

How We Rated
8.2
usability Scores
  • Ease of Use (60%)
    8.4/10
  • Cleanability (10%)
    7.0/10
  • Handling (20%)
    8.5/10
  • Blade Assembly (10%)
    8.0/10

Initially, we assumed that the Vitamix’s weight would cause it to be less user-friendly. However, after a course of testing, we realized that our assumption was entirely wrong.

8.4

Ease of Use

not image

Despite the relatively heavy-weight, The Vitamix is comfortable to hold. It even allows for one-handed operation since there are only two control buttons. Not only that, but this blender is also different from others in terms of its acceleration. Its speed steps up gradually rather than the violent torques others create. That went a long way toward preventing messes and should also prolong the motor’s lifespan.

That being said, we noticed that this blender can cause spattering when operating at the highest speed setting if the container’s sides are not tall enough. This isn’t the case with all immersion blenders (for example, the Braun MultiQuick 5 — a mid-range blender — allowed us to start low and increase as we went without any risk of spattering). 

On the bright side, the Vitamix doesn’t create as much of a mess as the Cuisinart Smart or the cordless KitchenAid. With the bell guard, it doesn’t suction to the pot’s bottom as much as its counterparts, either. As such, you won’t have to simultaneously lift and stir the wand around. Overall, that meant faster blending times and fewer food splatters.

7.0

Cleanability

Play video
Vitamix Immersion Blender Cleanability

The removable blending wand is not dishwasher-safe, so after each test, we had to clean it by blending water with dish soap and letting the blades clean themselves. Along the way, we noticed a few extra differences between the Vitamix and its competitors which mainly stem from the blending wand design. 

Although both the soup and smoothie tailings rinsed off easily under the tap, the Vitamix was the most difficult to clean after making mayonnaise. As an oil-based substance that is both sticky and insoluble in water, we couldn’t remove mayonnaise by blending in warm soapy water alone. A lot of gunk remained until we resorted to a bottle-cleaning brush and specialized cleanser.

But the real problem was cleaning the blades. It was a real challenge to scrub the backsides of those blades. And since the 4-pronged blade assembly is razor-sharp, we had to clean it with extreme caution. What a time-consuming and frustrating process that was!

8.5

Handling

The Vitamix Handling
The Vitamix Handling 2
The Vitamix Handling 3

We’re really impressed with the Vitamix’s ergonomically designed handle. It’s not just about modern looks; this handle is coated with a rubber layer to ensure a comfortable grip, which makes it practical for processing large batches of soup. It’s nice to have that comfort, especially given how heavy the motor is.

This coating is also very handy when you have sweaty or slippery hands. You can focus on your prep work instead of your grip.

8.0

Blade Assembly

Play video
Vitamix Blade Assembly

Like most immersion blenders, the Vitamix breaks down into two parts that connect with a simple twist. Given how heavy the thing is, though, it may be tougher to get the job done if your hands are greasy.