Braun MultiQuick 5 Immersion Blender Review

Tina Pham
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Hands-On Review of the Braun MultiQuick-5
Blender type: immersion
Power: 300W

Overall Verdict

8.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.8/10
  • Usability (30%)
    8.7/10
  • Design (20%)
    8.1/10

There are more excellent hand-held blenders on the market today than ever before, but the Braun MultiQuick-5 is the model we would recommend for every kitchen. It’s the model to turn to for high quality at an affordable price. It’s solidly built, has moderate motor strength, and most importantly it performed admirably in all of our tests.

Things We Like

  • Consistent performance with minimal splashing
  • Nearly as efficient as the higher-priced Vitamix 
  • Ergonomically-designed handle ensures a confident grip
  • Doesn’t get hot even under heavy-duty use
  • A generous set of accessories means greater versatility

Things We Don’t Like

  • The metal blending shaft and whisk may damage non-stick coatings

Although a variety of Braun products have been on the market for more than 70 years, most people think of them as a razor company. However, it would make sense that a company which makes good razors would also make good blenders. To find out if that hunch was correct, we bought a Braun MultiQuick-5 and put it through a series of tests, and we’re sharing our metrics to help you decide whether it’s a good buy.

Braun MultiQuick 5 Immersion Blender In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
8.8
Performance Scores
  • Hot Soup Purée (35%)
    8.5/10
  • Smoothie (30%)
    8.8/10
  • Mayonnaise (15%)
    8.3/10
  • Almond Milk (15%)
    9.3/10
  • Whipped Egg-Whites (5%)
    10/10

After a course of testing, we’re confident to conclude that the Braun MultiQuick 5 is the choice for most people, especially those who want the best bang for their buck. It’s the best mid-range blender that has more than enough power for your daily blending tasks, from frozen fruit smoothies to any recipe involving leafy greens. And with the handy whisk attachment, it saves you from buying a hand mixer for beating egg-whites and emulsifying sauces.

8.5

Hot Soup Purée

The Braun MutiQuick-5 Soup Result
The Braun MutiQuick-5 Soup Result
Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Soup Test
Braun MultiQuick 5 Hot Soup Purée
  • Pureeing Time: 30 seconds
  • Result: Smooth
  • Suction: No
  • Unprocessed Chunks: No

Our hearty soup – packed with carrots, pumpkins, and parsley – wasn’t a challenge for the Braun MultiQuick-5. In the span of one minute, a tw

o-serving pot of chunky soup became soft and creamy, no draining necessary.

Most impressively, the Braun MultiQuick-5 didn’t create suction or cause splattering throughout the test, even at the highest speed setting. Unlike the Mueller Ultra-Stick  and the Cuisinart Smart, it enabled us to start low and smoothly increase the speed as we went instead of being distracted by the spatters.

That said, you should avoid using this blender in any non-stick pots, as the metal blade housing could easily scratch their finish. With other types of cookware, it would be better if you move or stir it around gently.

8.8

Smoothie

The Braun MutiQuick-5 Smoothie Result
Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Smoothie Test
Braun MultiQuick 5 Smoothie 1
  • Blending Time: 1 min
  • Result: Smooth
  • Suction: No
  • Unprocessed Chunks: No

The Braun’s 12,500 RPM motor did a fine job at this test. It even worked as fast as the higher-priced Vitamix, churning out a serving of icy smoothie in only one minute.

Most importantly, of all the blenders we tested, this blender is the only one that blended without too much trouble. With the remaining blenders, some had a hard time blending through the frozen fruits, while others created tight suction that made it pretty difficult for us to lift the blending shaft. The texture and consistency of its smoothie was also better than most. It was nearly as silky as the Vitamix’s, with just a couple tiny chunks of unprocessed mango.

8.3

Mayonnaise

The-Braun-MultiQuick-5-Mayonnaise
The-Braun-MultiQuick-5-Mayonnaise
Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Mayonnaise Test
  • Emulsifying Time: 1 mins 54 secs
  • Result: Smooth
  • Suction: No

Initially, we planned to whisk together three egg yolks and 240ml of oil using either a whisk attachment or the blending shaft, depending on the blender’s accessory set. The Braun’s manual instructs that its whisk attachment should only be used for whipping cream, beating egg whites, making sponge cakes, and ready-mix desserts. This is certainly an unusual specification, as whisks are commonly used for other purposes - such as making mayonnaise.

Regardless, we stuck to our plan and used the whisk to make mayonnaise. As it turned out, it performed about as well as its competitors’ blending shafts in terms of emulsifying time and texture. It was, however, easier to use and clean, since it didn't create a suction to the beaker's bottom like the Cuisinart. And thanks to the wide gaps between the whisk’s loops we didn’t need to stop the blender to unclog it, as we did with the KitchenAid. The mayonnaise was also easier to rinse and scrub off.

9.3

Almond Milk

Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Almond Milk
  • Grinding Time: 45 secs
  • Result: Fine
  • Suction: Tightly

The Braun MultiQuick -5 didn’t perform well in this test, though it blended relatively evenly and took just 47 seconds to produce one serving of creamy almond milk. It suctioned tightly to the vessel’s bottom, causing excessive splatter when we struggled to move it around for an even blend. Furthermore, since this blender couldn’t sustain a good vortex, the liquid overflowed violently when we increased it to a higher speed.

If you’re going to use this blender to make nut milk, we would recommend a taller beaker than the one it comes with.

10

Whipped Egg-Whites

The Braun MultiQuick-5 Speed Whipped Egg-Whites
The Braun MultiQuick-5 Speed Whipped Egg-Whites (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Whipped Egg-Whites Test
The Braun MultiQuick-5 Speed Stiff Peak
  • Beating Time: 1 mins 56 secs
  • Result: Stiff
  • Suction: No

Of the five blenders we tested, only the Braun and the Muller passed this test, as both included whisk attachments ideal for beating egg whites. Using the ordinary blending wand, the remaining blenders couldn’t draw enough air into the egg-whites, which prevented the egg-protein from forming a stable foam.

Compared to the Muller, the Braun MultiQuick-5 was 30 seconds faster at creating an airy, fluffy egg foam. Although there was barely any difference between their outcomes, the speedy whisking process of the Braun MultiQuick-5 did help it avoid overheating, which should make it more reliable.

Even when we had stopped the Muller periodically a couple of times during its extended operation as recommended by the manufacturers, its motor was still overloaded, leaving us with a lot of skepticism towards its safety and durability.

8.1
design Scores
  • Build Quality (60%)
    8.0/10
  • Blending Shaft (30%)
    7.5/10
  • Beaker (5%)
    10/10
  • Power Cord (5%)
    10/10

The Braun MultuQuick-5 has a friendly-user design. Its 300-watt motor powers a removable blending shaft quite efficiently . Depending on the recipe, the motor can also work with the whisk attachment, which is not something you get with most mid-range household blenders. 

It, however, cannot run continuously more than a batch. To avoid being damaged, make sure you let your machine cool down for a couple of minutes between its operations.

Dimension

Braun MultiQuick-5 Dimension
  • Height
    :
    15.0" (38.1 cm)
  • Width:
    2.2" (5.6 cm)
  • Weight:
    1.6 lbs (0.7 kg)
  • Shaft Length:
    6.7" (17.0 cm)

At 1.59 lbs, the Braun is nearly a pound lighter than the Vitamix 5-speed — we tested recently, which felt quite heavy in the hand by comparison. Compact and portable, it has a footprint of 15 by 2.2 inches, and it looks identical to the promotional images.

8.0

Build Quality

Braun MultiQuick-5 Build Quality

The Braun MultiQuick-5 makes a strong visual impression out of the box. As a mid-range blender, it’s only about half the price of the premium ones. Despite that modest price point, it is made of quality materials and seems built to last.

It also feels good to hold regardless of hand size, thanks to its ergonomically-designed handle and BPA-free silicone coating that’s meant to ensure a slip-proof grip.

The interface is very intuitive with only two buttons so we even could figure out how they worked before reading the user manual. As a handy add-on, this blender also features Easy-Click release buttons, which allow for effortless accessories removal.

7.5

Blending Shaft

The Braun MultiQuick-5 Blending Wand
The Braun MultiQuick-5 Blending Wand (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Type:
    Sharp Blade
  • Guard Material:
    Stainless Steel
  • Blade Count:
    2
  • Removable:
    No
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The 2-pronged blade that sits permanently at the bottom of the metal blending shaft is powered by a 300-watt motor. Made of standard stainless steel, it is sturdy and can withstand regular use without compromising on efficiency.

10

Beaker

Braun MultiQuick-5 Beaker
  • Material
    :
    Plastic
  • Capacity
    :
    20-oz
  • Measurements
    :
    Yes
  • Weight:
    0.2 lbs (0.1 kg)
  • Height:
    6.5" (16.5 cm)
  • Suitable For
    :
    Small batches
  • Dishwasher Safe
    :
    Yes
  • Tamper Included
    :
    No

Included as an additional accessory, the beaker is free of harmful chemicals. On the side, there are measurements clearly marked in milliliters and ounces. Due to its small size, this add-on is not suitably used for making hot-liquid-based foods since splattering will possibly occur, causing severe scalding and burns. Instead, you can use it to quickly prepare small batches of soups, sauces, smoothies, and dressings. 

Regarding its durability, since we don’t have any chance to hands-on our beaker, it’s hard to tell at the moment. This accessory had been broken when we took it out of the box, resulting from the long shipping distance.

10

Power Cord

Braun MultiQuick-5 Power Cord
Braun MultiQuick-5 Power Cord
  • Cord Length
    :
    4.9
  • Type
    :
    2-prong plug
  • Detachable
    :
    No

The Braun MultiQuick-5 has a 2-prong, 4.9 feet (1.5 m) power cord that plugs into any standard power supply rated to 120V AC.

Extra Accessories: Whisk Attachment

Braun MultiQuick-5 Extra Accessories
The Braun MultiQuick-5 Stylish Whisk (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
  • Material:
    Stainless steel
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes
  • Removable:
    Yes

The Braun MultiQuick-5 is among a few hand blenders on the market that are shipped with a whisk attachment. This special add-on means to promote greater versatility, saving you from buying a hand mixer for beating egg-whites and emulsifying sauces.

In the Box

The Braun MultiQuick-5  Parts and Accessories
  • Motor body 
  • Blending shaft 
  • Whisk attachment
  • 20-oz beaker 
  • User manual

The Braun MultiQuick-5 set includes 4 pieces: a blender motor body, a blending wand, a whisk attachment, and a 20-ounce beaker. Given more accessories than most other brands do, we supposed Braun is attempting to go head-to-head with its rivals, not just in blending performance, but with the overall versatility.

Speed and Controls

The Braun MultiQuick-5 Speed Settings
The Braun MultiQuick-5 Speed Settings (Cre: Nguyen Ntk/HealthyKitchen101)
  • Control Type:
    Press
  • Min Speed:
    12,200 RPM
  • Max Speed:
    13,700 RPM
  • Presets:
    No
  • Max Noise Level:
    65 dB
  • LED Display:
    No
  • Pulse Turbo Mode:
    Yes

The Braun MultiQuick-5 offers only two speed options: Low and Turbo. This means you have less fine control than with multi-speed blenders, but it’s easier to switch between modes.

To blend, just press and hold the appropriate speed button until the perfect texture is achieved. That said, both the buttons demand a relatively high pressing pressure to activate, which may be trickier for those with weaker hands or long nails.

Usability

How We Rated
8.7
usability Scores
  • Ease of Use (60%)
    8.6/10
  • Blade Assembly (10%)
    9.5/10
  • Handling (20%)
    8.5/10
  • Cleanability (10%)
    9.0/10

This blender is designed to be extremely comfortable to hold and use, even with just one hand. Not only that, but it also doesn’t demand us to use too much elbow grease on food tailings when it comes to cleaning.

8.6

Ease of Use

not image

The Braun MultiQuick-5 may not be any better than certain other models in terms of efficiency and durability, but it could be the easiest to use if its buttons are improved to give a greater sense of control. 

It didn’t take long for us to figure out how the blender worked due to its straightforward construction. Speeding up also wasn’t as complicated as we experienced with the Cuisinart Smart and Muller Ultra-Stick. 

The only drawback is that both the buttons demand a relatively high pressing pressure to activate, which may be trickier for those with weaker hands or long nails. 

Regarding our own using experience, this blender didn’t create suction or cause splattering throughout the soup-making procedure, even at the highest speed setting. As such, it enabled us to start low and smoothly increase the speed as we went instead of being distracted by the spatters. 

However, it somehow suctioned tightly to the vessel’s bottom, causing excessive splatter when we struggled to move it around for an even milk blend. Furthermore, since this blender couldn’t sustain a good vortex, the liquid overflowed violently when we increased it to a higher speed. If you’re going to use this blender to make nut milk, we would recommend a taller beaker than the one it comes with.

We also very appreciate the blender’s blade housing. It’s specially designed to prevent fruits clinging to the blade backsides. Thanks to that, we didn’t have to use a food scraper when making smoothies.

9.5

Blade Assembly

Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Blade Assembly

The Braun MultiQuick 5 has accessory ejection buttons on the motor body — a handy function that even higher-priced models lack. These buttons are very clicky with great sensitivity; as soon as you press them, your blender shaft or whisk attachment will effortlessly push itself out from the motor body. 

It’s very easy to attach the accessories as well, as long as your hands are dry. Simply align the main body with the attachment until they click together.

8.5

Handling

The Braun MultiQuick-5 non-slip Handle

We especially like the silicone layer coating the main body, which offers a comfortable grip, reducing hand tension and slippage. So far, we haven’t haven’t found much to complain about with this design.

9.0

Cleanability

Play video
Braun MultiQuick-5 Cleanability

Although all the removable accessories are dishwasher-safe, we cleaned them manually to prevent discoloration caused by abrasive dishwasher detergents. 

By just holding the blending wand under the running tap, both the soup and smoothie remnants were quickly removed, though we still wiped down the blending wand with dish soap to avoid cross-contamination. Thankfully, it wasn’t so difficult to scrub the backs of the blades. 

Cleaning the whisk attachment was nearly as simple. We had little difficulty wedging soapy sponges between the loops to wipe off the residue.