KRUPS Belgian Waffle Maker Review

Matthew Lee
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
KRUPS Belgian Waffle Maker Hands-on Review
Power: 0W

Overall Verdict

6.3
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    2.9/10
  • Usability (30%)
    9.6/10
  • Design (20%)
    9.9/10

The KRUPS Belgian waffle maker has a beautiful presentation. Unfortunately, its look belies its performance. In one test, the KRUPS only produced a mediocre waffle. In another, it ultimately failed to make an edible waffle at all.

Being the first (and so far only) waffle maker to fail the performance test, we are hesitant to recommend it to anyone.

Things We Like

  • Solidly built from high-quality materials
  • Able to cook four waffles simultaneously
  • The waffle plates’ non-stick coating works great
  • Controls are straightforward to use
  • Easy to clean

Things We Don’t Like

  • Waffle’s quality is mediocre in the self-mixed recipe test
  • Failed at producing an edible waffle in the test with the Birch Benders mix
  • Power cord is too short

The KRUPS promised to be the perfect waffle maker for families. It has a large set of waffle plates that can cook four square-shaped waffles at once.

When we received the KRUPS waffle maker in our lab, it was evident from the start that it was a reasonably fine-quality product. Thus, we had high expectations of this model. 

Unfortunately, throughout the testing period, the waffle maker didn’t quite reach the level of greatness that we thought would be an easy climb for it. Despite having a solid, premium design, its cooking performance is disappointingly lackluster.

Here’s a more comprehensive report.

KRUPS Belgian Waffle Maker In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
2.9
Performance Scores
  • Self-Mixed Recipe (50%)
    5.8/10
  • Birch Benders Mix (50%)
    0/10

As of June 2022, it is the only waffle maker in our initial series to have failed the performance test. Thus, it ranks last on our list. The KRUPS did a rather mediocre job at cooking our self-made waffle batter. Moreover, it failed to produce an edible waffle using the Birch Benders waffle mix in our second test.

5.8

Self-Mixed Recipe

KRUPS Belgian Self-Mixed Recipe
KRUPS Belgian Self-Mixed Recipe 1
KRUPS Belgian Self-Mixed Recipe 2
KRUPS Belgian Self-Mixed Recipe 3
Color: 6.6
35% * 6.6 = 2.3
Texture: 5
25% * 5 = 1.3
Taste: 5.5
40% * 5.5 = 2.2
  • Heat Level: Between 2 and 3
  • Cooking Time: 7 minutes

While the test score is passable, it is a disappointing result considering the glamorous design and price tag. The coloring is decent but has the lightness of an undercooked waffle. In addition, the texture is underdeveloped and mushy, which translates to an awful tasting experience.

Color (35%) — 6.6

  • Color tone: Very light gold (Both)
  • Color distribution: Even

Though a section of the crust has a dark brown color, most have a very light gold tone. The unusually light color indicated that the waffle still hadn’t finished cooking (indeed, it was undercooked).

Luckily, color distribution is even, which slightly raises its score in this section.

Texture (25%) — 5

  • Texture: Mediocre
  • Aeration level: Low; air bubbles were few as well as being very small in sizes

Even after 7 minutes, the waffle was still uncooked.

The aeration level is low. Bubbles had just begun to form within the waffle. The interior was wet and mushy as a result.

Taste (40%) — 5.5

  • Flavor: Bland; we can taste the egg-like raw flavor of uncooked batter
  • Mouthfeel: Mushy

Due to the mushy texture, the taste is lackluster. Our chef rated it as bland. Worse, our chef could still taste the raw batter within the waffle.

0

Birch Benders Mix

KRUPS Belgian Birch Benders Mix
KRUPS Belgian Birch Benders Mix 1
KRUPS Belgian Birch Benders Mix 2
KRUPS Belgian Birch Benders Mix 3
Color: 0
35% * 0 = 0.0
Texture: 0
25% * 0 = 0.0
Taste: 0
40% * 0 = 0.0
  • Heat Level: Maximum (5)
  • Cooking Time: 10 minutes

Since we never managed to make an edible waffle with the KRUPS in this test, all three score fields are 0. The waffle has a pale, almost-white color of raw batter. The texture is mushy. And since it hasn’t fully cooked just yet, the taste is atrocious.

Color (35%) — 0

  • Color tone: Pale gold (Both)
  • Color distribution: Even

Coloring is unspectacular. We repeated the tests several times, yet the waffle always came out with a sickly pale yellow tone.

Texture (25%) — 0

  • Texture: Bad
  • Aeration level: Low; air bubbles were virtually non-existent

The aeration level is very low. When we cut the waffle, an undercooked interior is exposed. Not only are there next to no air bubbles, but we could still see “fillings” of raw batter in the waffle’s interior.

Texture-wise, it is incredibly mushy to the point of being runny. It almost seemed like the waffle was still in a semi-liquid state.

Taste (40%) — 0

  • Flavor: Cloying taste of raw batter
  • Mouthfeel: Mushy

It was evident from the start that the waffle was inedible. It tasted terrible, with the distinct raw egg-like flavor of uncooked batter.

9.9
design Scores
  • Build Quality (60%)
    10/10
  • Waffle Plates (30%)
    10/10
  • Control Panel (10%)
    9.5/10

Arguably, the highlight of this model is its premium design. Build quality is excellent. Certain parts, such as the top lid made from stainless steel, give the waffle maker a luxurious appearance. The solid weight of the machine also contributes to the moneyed feel.

The KRUPS waffle maker comes with a few extra features that can’t be found in cheaper products, like removable waffle plates and an audible alarm.

In the Box

KRUPS Belgian In The Box
  • The KRUPS waffle maker
  • Instruction manual

The box’s content is fairly basic, containing the waffle maker itself and a user manual. No extra accessory is included.

Weight & Dimensions

KRUPS Belgian Dimensions & Weight
  • Length:
    14.4" (36.6 cm)
  • Width:
    10.2" (25.9 cm)
  • Height
    :
    4.5" (11.4 cm)
  • Weight:
    9.1 lbs (4.1 kg)

Weighing over 9 pounds and having a rectangular shape measuring 14.4 inches long and 10.2 inches wide, the KRUPS is a hulk of a waffle maker. It takes a lot of space on the countertop, so finding enough storage space is always a problem. Plus, its weight makes transport a tiresome chore.

10

Build Quality

KRUPS Belgian Build Quality
Play video
KRUPS Belgian Build Quality video

The build quality of this waffle maker is excellent. Its body is primarily constructed from lightweight plastic, but the top of the lid is made from steel. Typically, durability is a concern if a product is made from plastic. But it’s easy to look past that, considering how the plastic construction saves the waffle maker from being heavier than it already is.

Every part of the waffle maker looks well-built, especially the reinforced lid hinges.

10

Waffle Plates

KRUPS Belgian Waffle Plates
KRUPS Belgian Waffle Plates 1
KRUPS Belgian Waffle Plates 2
Play video
KRUPS Belgian Waffle Plates video
Play video
KRUPS Belgian Waffle Plates video 1
  • Numberof Plates:
    2
  • Grid Pattern:
    Belgian-style
  • Plate Area:
    102.5 inch2
  • Plate Length:
    10 inches
  • Plate Width:
    10.25 inches
  • Material:
    Cast aluminum
  • Non Stick Coating:
    Yes
  • Removable:
    Yes
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The KRUPS waffle maker gets a perfect score in this section. The waffle plates are rectangular and segmented into four quadrants. Each quadrant can make a square-shaped waffle measuring 4.6 inches.

Both plates are coated with a layer of non-stick material. Unfortunately, KRUPS doesn’t disclose what non-stick they used for the plates, but there’s a good chance it’s Teflon. The non-stick layers work well enough and we did not have to deal with many cooking residues besides a few bits of debris.

The plates can be removed for easier cleaning. They can be detached via two red levers on the side. The user manual indicates that the waffle plates are dishwasher-safe. However, there are many reports of the KRUPS waffle maker’s non-stick coating becoming oxidized and worn out after they’re put through the dishwasher. Exercise caution.

9.5

Control Panel

KRUPS Belgian Control Panel
Play video
KRUPS Belgian Control Panel video
  • Indicator Lights:
    Yes
  • Audible Alarm:
    Yes
  • Timer:
    No
  • Browning Control:
    Yes

The control panel sits at the front of the waffle maker.

On the left are two indicator lights. The “ON” red light will light up when you plug it in. When the plates are well heated and ready for use, the green “READY” light will turn on, accompanied by an audible chime.

A small browning level control dial (temperature control) is featured on the right. It turns very smoothly and has five settings.

The only feature missing from the control panel is a built-in timer.

Power Cord

KRUPS Belgian Power Cord
KRUPS Belgian Power Cord 1
  • Plug Style:
     Type A (Flat Blade Attachment Plug)
  • Length:
    25 inches
  • Cable Management:
    Yes

The power cord is only 25 inches long, which is way shorter than average (around 30 inches). So you may have to use an extension cord.

At the bottom of the waffle maker, you will find a grommet that you can wrap the cord around for easier management and storage.

Accessories: N/A

not image
  • Material:
    N/A
  • Removable:
    N/A
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    N/A

The KRUPS waffle maker does not come with any extra accessory.

Ease of Use

How We Rated
9.6
usability Scores
  • Handling (25%)
    9.0/10
  • Safety (40%)
    9.7/10
  • Cleanability (25%)
    10/10
  • Indicator Light Visibility (10%)
    10/10

The company has done a great job at making the waffle maker user-friendly. Features like the straightforward controls and the audible chime make interacting with the waffle maker an ease. We also appreciate design details like the oversized handle and the lid lock, which improve handling.

The KRUPS waffle maker received outstanding scores in both safety and cleanability.

9.0

Handling

KRUPS Belgian Handling
Play video
KRUPS Belgian Handling video

As we mentioned earlier, the waffle maker is straightforward to operate. The lock is situated at the front center of the machine, behind the handle. It is top-actuated, which means you must press the top of the lock instead of the bottom to open the lid. It’s a pretty intelligent design. You can grip the front handle, then work the lock by pushing inward with your knuckles.

When pushed, the lid will lean backward at an angle, preventing it from snapping close unexpectedly.

9.7

Safety

KRUPS Belgian Safety
KRUPS Belgian Safety 1
KRUPS Belgian Safety 2
  • Top Side Temperature:
    176°F
  • Bottom Side Temperature:
    127°F
  • Handle Temperature:
    89°F

After several cooking sessions, the top side becomes very hot. We measured a peak temperature of 176°F.

At 127°F, the bottom side of the KRUPS waffle maker is very warm to the touch.

The handle, separated from the baking chamber, is cool to the touch. Our thermometer registered a temperature of 89°F, which is at room temperature.

10

Cleanability

not image

The waffle maker is easy to clean for most parts. Thanks to the highly effective non-stick coating on the waffle plates, cleaning them was as simple as wiping them down with paper towels. When thoroughness is needed, the plates can be detached and cleaned up separately.

There aren’t any hard-to-reach nooks and crannies on the waffle maker. The material of the waffle maker doesn’t aggressively grip onto the dried batter, either.

10

Indicator Light Visibility

KRUPS Belgian Indicator Light Visibility

The two indicator lights at the front are very bright and can be seen even under studio lighting.