Wamery 4-Stage Manual - Knife Sharpener Review

Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Wamery Manual Sharpener Review
Sharpener type: manual
Sharpening Stage: 3

Verdict

6.7
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    5.8/10
  • Ease of Use (35%)
    8.0/10
  • Design (15%)
    6.5/10

Incorporating an extra sharpening slot for scissors goes a little way to improving this sharpener’s total value. Other than that additional feature, the Wamery sharpener is your typical handheld tool for straight, smooth-edged kitchen knives.

Admittedly, the overall test result wasn’t very positive, if not subpar in some categories. Nonetheless, this sharpener has certain strengths that some people might find useful in due course.

Things We Like

  • Extra sharpening slot for scissors
  • Easy to use with natural/intuitive slot order
  • Steady base that limits slipping & sliding
  • Inexpensive

Things We Don’t Like

  • Takes forever to work on severely dulled knives
  • Looks shabby and cheaply made of plastic
  • Not compatible with serrated blades

When we first got our hands on the Wamery sharpener, we didn’t really set high expectations for it. The testing process only confirmed that it was an okay purchase at best.

From the get-go, it looks shoddy and feels cheaply made, with little else to offer other than the scissors-sharpening slot. While the knife did indeed get sharper, the time spent on this device was so frustrating that it might make cooks second-guess their decision.

But for what it’s worth, it was one of the bestselling sharpeners on many online retailers (at the time of writing). After all, this device proved easy to use and maintained its balance fairly well even on a slippery surface. And while it didn’t live up to its fame, who knows, maybe you’ll find it worthwhile once you’ve used it long enough.

Performance

How We Tested
5.8
Performance Scores
  • Sharpening Time to Reach Serviceable Level (35%)
    1.0/10
  • Optimal Sharpness (20%)
    7.2/10
  • Edge Smoothness (20%)
    7.3/10
  • Material Retention (25%)
    10/10

The Wamery was one of the bottom-ranked sharpeners in terms of overall performance. For one, it was the slowest to complete the lemon test, followed by average results in other departments. The only good thing going for it was the material retention test.

1.0

Sharpening Time to Reach Serviceable Level

Play video
Wamery Sharpening Time
  • Sharpening Time: 9 minutes 30 seconds
  • Cutting Feel: Light and smooth

To be honest, we didn’t have high hopes for this sharpener from the get-go and our prediction soon became true. As it turned out: it took a whopping 570 seconds of sharpening for our knife to slice through the lemon. Compared to the other pull-through sharpeners we tested earlier, the Wamery was the slowest one to restore the knife’s usability.

It should be noted that the time it took the knife to finish the test far exceeded our grading scale. Therefore, 1 would be the appropriate score.

Re-sharpening our blunted knife with this sharpener was an exhausting and time-consuming experience. In fact, we actually contemplated disqualifying it on multiple occasions but nevertheless kept going at it until the end. And as the result indicated: don’t count on the Wamery sharpener to save your dull knives unless you can afford to spare the time and effort.

7.2

Optimal Sharpness

Play video
Wamery Maximum Sharpness
Play video
Wamery Sharpness Level
  • Sharpening Time: 6 minutes
  • Sharpness Level: 7 - - (tomato, two swipes)

In another separate test, we re-dulled the knife and allotted the Wamery sharpener 6 minutes to work on it. This time, the knife was tested on several other ingredients, starting with tomatoes. As you can already tell from the picture: it didn’t do a very good job finishing the slice in one swift motion. It took two draws, and the result was rather messy.

With this sharpener, we felt there was little to hardly any improvement in the edge’s sharpness. Forget about paper-thin slices: the knife edge was already struggling to slice through a tomato clean-off in one go. If there was any consolation, at least the blade didn’t squash the tomato beyond the point of being inedible.

As such, this sharpener was exempted from any subsequent tests on the other ingredients. Given how the knife struggled with the tomato, it would be fair and reasonable to draw the same conclusion for the slippery chicken breast and the chewy beef tendon.

We should have predicted this result sooner: after all, we spent almost ten minutes preparing the knife for the lemon test. And considering the outcome, it would be safe to assume that the knife had already reached its optimal sharpness. Regardless of how much extra time it would take, it was unlikely that the Wamery could increase the knife’s keenness anymore than it already had.

7.3

Edge Smoothness

Wamery Manual Sharpener Edge Smoothness

When put under the examination of our magnifying lens, the edge turned out to be surprisingly straight and smooth. You may detect some burrs here and there along the edge, but on the whole, there were far fewer burrs compared to those on other knives. And we think everyone can live with that result.

10

Material Retention

Wamery Manual Material Retention
Wamery Material Retention
  • Sharpening Time: 1 minute

The coarse stage did take its toll on the knife’s edge, but not as severely as that of other sharpeners. Indeed, the amount of metal swarf that collected after sharpening was rather minimal. But don’t just take our words for it: you can see the result and be the judge yourself.

Among the handheld sharpeners we put to the test, this is the one that yielded the least amount of metal residue. It was a result we never saw coming, but we had to give credit where it was due.

6.5
design Scores
  • Build Quality (75%)
    6.6/10
  • Grip (25%)
    6.0/10

It’s easy to see how this sharpener didn’t take the opportunity to raise its total  score in the final part. The overall build is mediocre at best, and the grip in particular has several minus points that we cannot turn an blind eye to.

In the Box

Wamery Manual Sharpener In the Box
  • 1 x sharpener

The sharpener comes in a cardboard package with the instruction manual printed on the back. Besides some plastic wrapping, there’s nothing else included with the shipping. All other additional information (return address & warranty policy) can be found on the official website.

Dimensions

Wamery Manual Sharpener Dimensions
  • Length:
    8.8" (22.2 cm)
  • Width:
    1.9" (4.9 cm)
  • Height
    :
    3.1" (7.8 cm)
  • Weight:
    8.9 lbs (4.0 kg)

6.6

Build Quality

Wamery Manual Sharpener Build Quality

Wamery isn’t exactly reputable for its top-notch craftsmanship. Save for the abrasives and working section, the rest of the unit is made of plastic. While the top half looks sleek and shining, the other half is a far cry from there, if not even shabby. Compared to the other handheld sharpeners we experimented with, this sharpener is nowhere near as solid or sturdy.

But considering the price, it makes sense that you need to keep your expectations realistic. It’s fine that you want something cheap, easy to use, and gives you a multifunctional sharpener for the price of one. But at the same time, don’t expect too much from it: after all, it just isn’t meant or built to last.

Working Section

Wamery Manual Sharpener Working Section
  • Levels of Sharpening:
    Coarse, medium, fine
  • Abrasive:
    Stainless steel, diamond rods, ceramic rods
  • Mechanism:
    Pull-through
  • Sharpening Angle:
    Not mentioned

While Wamery claims that the sharpener was designed for a wide variety of knives, it failed to mention the slots’ exact angle. We tried to reach out to the brand for a more conclusive answer but so far have received no response of any kind whatsoever.

Certain knives have unconventional sharpening angles, so putting all of them through the same slots doesn’t seem like a good idea. And on top of that, if the knives you work with have zigzag teeth, the Wamery sharpener isn’t the right tool for them. For those who don’t want to risk damaging the knife’s serration permanently, you need to choose a different sharpener instead.

6.0

Grip

Wamery Manual Sharpener Grip
  • Material:
    Rubber

Can you see the gap from the index finger to the joint where the handle and the working section meet? While the handle feels right and smooth to hold, it’d be a much better fit for those who have large palms. Maybe this is more of a matter of personal preference, but we digress.

Speaking of the handle, it was rather strange that the soft, comfortable rubber padding only covered the top part. We couldn’t help but wonder why the sides and underneath weren’t graced with the same material — those are the very spots where the fingers would clutch on and tighten around the handle.

Base

Wamery Knife Sharpener Base
  • Material:
    Synthetic silicone
  • Feet Type:
    Slip-proof padding

To our surprise, the silicone pads were really effective. Not only did they keep the sharpener secure, steady, and safe, but they also felt smooth and soft to the touch.

Even when positioned on the messy countertop, the pads barely picked up any residue or speck. And they were easy to wipe clean as well.

Ease of Use

How We Rated
8.0
usability Scores
  • Slot Arrangement (10%)
    10/10
  • Insertion (20%)
    8.5/10
  • Pulling Through (10%)
    7.5/10
  • Stability on Clean Surface (40%)
    7.5/10
  • Stability on Dirty Surface (20%)
    7.5/10

The Wamery sharpener scored fairly well in this section in part due to its simple yet convenient design. Without any quirky or unconventional feature to be wary of, this sharpener is straightforward and easy to use. There’s no steep learning curve to master either.

10

Slot Arrangement

Wamery Manual Sharpener Edge Smoothness

Scissors and knives differ not only in terms of design and function but also in terms of sharpening technique. Therefore, it makes sense to reserve the first slot exclusively for scissors and set it aside from the rest of the group. With it out of the way, there really is no way you can get them mixed up.

At the same time, the knife stages progress rightward with increasing grit fineness and are numbered as such. Each number corresponds with the grit level of each stage (coarse, medium, and fine). So it’s only natural to follow through with the intended order, which is pretty much all you have to do.

8.5

Insertion

Play video
Wamery Insertion

During the course of our experiment, there were times when the blade wouldn’t position itself properly in the slots. When you look at the size of the entire sharpener, Wamery has been rather economical with its abrasives slots. They were a little too shallow and narrow to accommodate the entire blade’s length comfortably.

To avoid mishaps, we had to take things slowly and re-calibrate our aim before drawing the knife through the slot. But other than that, we proceeded as normal without much to complain about.

7.5

Pulling Through

Wamery Manual Sharpener Pulling Through

The sharpening rods were solid and secure, although they did show signs of wearing down at times. All three stages felt strangely light even with extra force applied: Each and every draw felt as if there was no resistance or drag.

Somehow, each and every draw felt as if there was no resistance or drag, which was a worrying sign. We couldn’t help but wonder whether the sharpening attempts had finally worn out the abrasives’ effectiveness.

Also, on more than one occasion, we noticed the blade had cut into the slots in a few places (both in the front and back). And it didn’t take a magnifying glass to spot those cuts. They were rather obvious since the black skid mark-like cuts contrasted with the blue hue of the sharpener.

In return, however, those who have weak wrists would appreciate the smooth and near-frictionless draws. It also didn’t hurt that the sharpening noises were more tolerable than those of other models (such as the Smith’s Pull-Thru.)

7.5

Stability on Clean Surface

Wamery Stability on Clean Surface

On a clean and dry surface, this sharpener held its balance and steadiness as well as most other commercial models. The entire thing rests on two thick silicone paddings, which prevent slipping and sliding off the countertop.

Sharpeners with an elevated design are prone to rocking back and forth, even with reinforced pressure on the handle. This was the very problem we encountered with the Smith’s Pull-thru, which shares the same height as the Wamery. However, the Wamery’s underside spreads over a wider surface area, which alleviates the wobbling issue to a greater extent.

7.5

Stability on Dirty Surface

Wamery Manual Sharpener Stability on Dirty Surface

When placed on the slippery countertop, the sharpener managed to hold itself quite well. However, be advised that there was only so much that the slip-proof pads could do. Every once in a while, the sharpener slightly inched back and forth, albeit that was something to be expected.

Save for those occasional rocking motions, there was hardly any shake or other sudden movement. And on the whole, we found this sharpener one of the most stable and reassuring pieces to work with.