Kitchellence 3-Stage Manual - Knife Sharpener Review

Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Review
Sharpener type: manual
Sharpening Stage: 3

Verdict

8.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    8.1/10
  • Ease of Use (35%)
    9.1/10
  • Design (15%)
    9.2/10

The Kitchellence has high-quality abrasives and sharpening rods that are better-made than any other we’ve tested. It’s well-built, easy to use, and can touch up your knives for most cutting tasks within seconds.

The sharpener comes without any major flaws. We don’t like how it tapers at its base and handle, but Kitchellence has a way to ensure stability in spite of that.

Things We Like

  • It really sharpens
  • Easy to use, intuitive design
  • Soft, comfortable finish
  • Extra weight near the base for stability
  • Affordable price
  • Included glove for added safety

Things We Don’t Like

  • Tapered base 
  • Awkward base pad

The Kitchellence enjoys over 20,000 reviews on Amazon, a majority of them praises. It looks very similar to many other pull-through sharpeners on the market, so we had to test it and find out what sets it apart. 

The device didn’t disappoint. Of the many that have gone through our lab, the Kitchellence has impressed us the most both in testing and everyday use.

Performance

How We Tested
8.1
Performance Scores
  • Sharpening Time to Reach Serviceable Sharpness (35%)
    7.5/10
  • Maximum Sharpness Achievable (20%)
    8.6/10
  • Edge Smoothness (20%)
    7.7/10
  • Material Retention (25%)
    9.0/10

The Kitchellence had an plausible performance in our sharpness and edge tests. Though not standing out in any particular aspects, the device offers some of the best and most consistent results.

7.5

Sharpening Time to Reach Serviceable Sharpness

Play video
Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Sharpening Time
  • Sharpening Time: 1 minute 53 seconds
  • Cutting Feel: Swift and smooth

We spent an average of 114 seconds or 2 minutes with the Kitchellence to bring a knife from uselessly dull to being able to cut through a lemon in one single draw. The cut was effortless and required no noticeable hand pressure — you should be able to cut most foods in the kitchen with decent precision at this level. 

This is not particularly impressive if compared to one-stage sharpeners, but among the multi-stage devices, 2 minutes is our best record so far.

Note that we blunted the knife for the test. Most cooks don’t and shouldn’t wait until it becomes so dull. If you maintain your knives properly, it would take only 30 - 45 seconds on this device to become serviceable again.

8.6

Maximum Sharpness Achievable

Play video
Kitchellence 3-Stage Maximum Sharpness
Play video
Kitchellence Maximum Sharpness
  • Sharpening Time: 6 minutes
  • Sharpness Level: 8 - (chicken breast, 2 swipes)

After sharpening on the Kitchellence for 6 minutes, the knife slid through a ripe tomato effortlessly, so we went on to try it on raw chicken breast with skin. To our delight, it went through the chicken breast in two slices.

And that was its plateau. The knife never fully reached Level 9 — cutting through beef tendon — no matter how many times we pulled it through all the slots. 

To be fair, it was at Level 8 when brand new, so it’s safe to say the Kitchellence almost brought it back to its factory level. That’s definitely more than we usually expect from a pull-through sharpener.

7.7

Edge Smoothness

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Edge Smoothness

The Kitchellence produces some of the smoothest edges among pull-through devices we tested. Thanks to its stability and the thickness of the sharpening rods, it was easier to keep the pull force stable through each draw. As a result, the edge is smooth and even from tip to heel. 

We could find no remaining burrs or metal flakes on the edge. The ceramic rods in the final stage did a good job straightening the edge and shredding small particles off it.

9.0

Material Retention

Kitchellence 3-Stage Material Retention
Kitchellence Material Retention
  • Sharpening Time: 1 minute

The Kitchellence’s substantial sharpening rods and blades are braced tightly together so they sharpen very well, but don’t remove much material from the knife edge at a time. The ‘swarf’ is more fine dust than chips, hinting at a fine edge.

This is mostly thanks to the design of the tungsten carbide blades themselves. However, the Kitchellence is also one of the rare cases where the bulky diamond rods really work to ‘prepare’ the edge for the peeler slot.

9.2
design Scores
  • Build Quality (75%)
    9.3/10
  • Grip (25%)
    9.0/10

We fell in love with the Kitchellence the moment we had it in our hands: It’s neat, simple, and strikes an excellent balance between aesthetics and functionality. We could tell the maker of it paid attention to every detail.

Weight & Dimensions

Kitchellence 3-Stage Dimensions
  • Length:
    8.1" (20.6 cm)
  • Width:
    1.8" (4.6 cm)
  • Height
    :
    3.0" (7.6 cm)
  • Weight:
    1.8 lbs (0.8 kg)

9.3

Build Quality

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Build Quality

We’ve had our hands on a few others that look very similar to the Kitchellence, and they were all lightweight and shoddy. So it was a nice surprise how well-built the Kitchellence is.

The device is made of high-quality ABS with a nice finish. It’s solid, sturdy, weighted, and every part fits together tightly and seamlessly. It didn’t create the rattling sound heard on many others as we shook it or used excessive force to sharpen. 

The only thing we didn’t like about the build is the tiny and somewhat flimsy silicone pad underneath the grip.

In the Box

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener In the Box
  • The Kitchellence sharpener
  • 1 x user’s guide
  • 1 x safety glove

The Kitchellence comes in one piece, with a solid ABS plastic body. It has a distinctive matte finish that’s very soft and comfortable to touch. 

The package includes a glove and a user’s manual that offers instructions on how to sharpen metal and ceramic blades.

Working Section

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Working Section
  • Levels of Sharpening:
    Coarse, Medium, Fine
  • Abrasive:
    Diamond rods, tungsten carbide blades, ceramic rods
  • Mechanism:
    Pull-through
  • Sharpening Angle:
    20 degrees

The Kitchellence sports three stages of sharpening, marked with the numbers 1, 2, and 3. The Coarse slot (1) removes larger burrs and straightens the edge, the Medium slot (2) removes material and refines the edge, and the Fine ceramic rods (3) hone the edge. 

Though the working section is easily removable, it’s not sold separately. So once the rods have worn out and the tungsten blades are no longer keen, the whole device will have to go to the trash bin. That being said, with its thick rods and quality build, we suspect it will last for years.

The sharpening rods on the Kitchellence are also larger than on other pull-through sharpeners, such as the Cubikook or Wamery. They feel firmer and more sturdy, and the larger size also means they may last longer.

Base

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Base
  • Material:
    ABS plastic
  • Feet Type:
    non-slip rubber base

The device tapers at the base and has a patterned pad underneath it. The pad is soft, thin, and doesn’t help much with keeping the device stable.

9.0

Grip

Kitchellence Knife Sharpener Grip
  • Material:
    ABS plastic

Among all the devices we tested, the Kitchellence offers the best grip. It has an ergonomic handle with finger nubs. The cover is a special kind of ABS plastic that feels like a matte silicone — it’s so comfortable on the skin a lot of the time we just skipped using the glove altogether.

Ease of Use

How We Rated
9.1
usability Scores
  • Slot Arrangement (20%)
    10/10
  • Insertion (20%)
    9.0/10
  • Pulling Through (10%)
    9.5/10
  • Stability on a Clean Surface (40%)
    9.0/10
  • Stability on a Wet and Dirty Surface (10%)
    7.5/10

Its weight and design makes the Kitchellence a breeze to use: if you know how to use a knife, you will have no problem working with this device. The only mild problem is when you try to sharpen on a wet surface — but hey, it’s not hard to give your countertop a quick wipe, right?

10

Slot Arrangement

Kitchellence 3-Stage Slot Arrangement

The Kitchellence has a very intuitive design, with the slots arranged in a progressive order. There are numbers engraved on the stainless steel cover on each slot, and on both sides too, so it’s more difficult to get it wrong than right. You won’t need other visual cues or instructions.

9.0

Insertion

Kitchellence Manual Sharpener Insertion

The slot openings are not the widest among those we tested, but they have reasonable width and depth. Insertion was effortless and didn’t require much anticipation or forethought.

9.5

Pulling Through

Play video
Kitchellence 3-Stage Pulling Through

We like that the sharpening rods are larger on this device than most others of its type. They created a firmer, touter brace of the knife edge as we pulled the knife through. Unlike some other devices, this brace hasn’t loosen up after six months of heavy-duty use.

The U-shaped holder stays clear of the working section, so we never once cut into it even when we deliberately increased speed and lowered the knife tip at the end.

9.0

Stability on a Clean Surface

Kitchellence 3-Stage Stability on a Clean Surface

Despite its small and tapered base, the Kitchellence is stable when working on a clean surface. This is thanks to its solid structure and an additional piece of metal placed underneath the working section for increased weight and a lower center of gravity.

7.5

Stability on a Wet and Dirty Surface

Kitchellence Stability on a Wet and Dirty Surface

Facing the slippery countertop challenge, the thin and small rubber feet showed their weaknesses. The working section’s location high above the base didn’t help either. As a result, the device slid and wobbled a little.

The solution is easy: keep your countertop clean and the device will be safe to use. If you have shaky hands and want to be extra safe, however, the Cubikook may be a better choice.