Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker Review

Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker Review
Coffee Maker type: Cold Brew

Overall Verdict

8.3
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    7.8/10
  • Usability (35%)
    8.8/10
  • Design (15%)
    8.9/10

The Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker is an affordable brewer, especially for larger volumes. We love how the completely air-tight design can lay on its side in the refrigerator. It’s easy to use and produces a medium to strong brew. However, our testing revealed the Takeya brew is not as full bodied and robust as some cold brews. That said, our vigorous testing will help you decide if the Takeya is the best cold brew coffee maker for you.

Things We Like

  • Air tight brew decanter
  • Cold or hot (tea) brewing
  • BPA-free
  • Dishwasher safe
  • Durable & light weight
  • 1 and 2 quart sizes
  • Color choice

Things We Don’t Like

  • Inadequate packaging
  • Included instructions inadequate
  • Filter cleaning

The Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker uses an immersion polyester filter. The cold brewing method differs somewhat from others, because it’s recommended to shake the brewer periodically. We put the Takeya brewing method to the test using their 2-quart brewer, and brewed according to our testing procedure.

Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker In-depth Review

Brew Quality

How We Tested
7.8
Performance Scores
  •  Bouquet (10%)
    8.5/10
  • Drinkability (70%)
    8.0/10
  • Sediment (20%)
    7.0/10

We found that the Takeya produced a medium-strength brew of reasonable quality, which could be expected from its brew ratio of around 1:9. While the brew was quite smooth to drink, it wasn’t particularly robust. We feel it’s a good brew to mix with a milk base. The filter, however, is not so well constructed and can give varying results.

8.5

 Bouquet

Play video
Takeya Cold Brew Bouquet video

The Takeya cold brew coffee maker produced a moderately strong bouquet and one of the better ones we’ve sampled. Crisper and sweeter notes were present, but somewhat subdued. Earthy notes, with acidic overtones, tended to be more prominent.

8.0

Drinkability

Takeya Cold Brew Drinkability

We diluted the Takeya concentrate 1:1 with filtered water. While the Takeya had a complex flavor profile, it was more medium-bodied. Deep earthy or chocolatey flavors came through the most with a strong roasted flavor. A tinge of sweetness made for a light aftertaste and overall it was smooth and enjoyable to drink. Adding cream to the water dilution resulted in a more finished taste.

7.0

Sediment

Takeya Cold Brew Sediment

With repeated testing, we found that the Takeya has a tendency to produce quite a bit of sediment depending on how you handle it. You have to screw the filter tightly into the lid, and avoid shaking too vigorously. Though you can technically brew with the Takeya on its side, it’s probably best to brew standing up. We allowed the concentrate to settle, decanted into another container, and discarded the sediment left behind.

8.9
design Scores
  • Stopper / Lid (30%)
    10/10
  • Filter (40%)
    8.0/10
  • Build Quality (30%)
    9.0/10

The Takeya was shipped to us in just a plastic sleeve in a parcel package. It’s a very durable product, so some may not mind the minimal packaging. However, a proper box would look nicer and might also be good for long term storage or moving.

In the ‘Box’

Takeya Cold Brew In the ‘Box’
  • Assembled brew decanter
  • Inlay leaflet
  • User guide

The Takeya Cold Brew Coffee Maker comes fully assembled. Both the inlay leaflet and the user guide are placed in the brew decanter. The User Guide has a product description, brewing instructions, five suggested drink recipes, and a 1-Year Limited Warranty notification.

Decanter

Takeya Cold Brew Decanter
  • Heightwith Stopper Lid:
    12.2 in (310 mm)
  • Base Diameter:
    4.3 x 3.7 in oblong (110 x 95 mm)
  • Width:
    5.9 in (150 mm)
  • Weight:
    12 oz (345 g)
  • Material:
    BPA-free Tritan plastic

The Takeya has a slightly oblong base which tapers up to a round top. It therefore tends to fit most refrigerator doors. The brew decanter has a screw-on frame with a handle and a screwable lid that also attaches to the filter. The high-quality Tritan plastic looks very clean and is also stain, odor, and shatter resistant. The decanter is made in the USA while the filter is made in China.

10

Stopper / Lid

Takeya Cold Brew Stopper / Lid
  • Diameter:
    6.3 in with handle (160 mm)
  • Material:
    Tritan plastic
  • Additional Features:
    silicone gasket

We tested the decanter vessel and were happy to find it did not leak. The product is very secure and tight. The lid partially unscrews for pouring, and then further unscrews to remove completely. The container can also hold hot liquids, but you should not fully seal the lid while still hot.

8.0

Filter

Takeya Cold Brew Filter
  • Length:
    0.4 in (265 mm)
  • Diameter:
    2.7 in (70 mm)
  • Material:
    nylon & polypropylene
  • Additional Features:
    detachable extender

A key feature of the Takeya cold coffee brewer seems to be the full-length filter that maximizes contact with grounds. The grounds fill the filter and go part way up into the extender.

It comes in two parts, and the upper extender detaches for easy cleaning, which seems to be its key function. However, we found it a bit cumbersome to attach the extender to the filter. The filter is a porous nylon polyester and allows for a relatively good brew to develop. A filter replacement is also available as a separate purchase.

9.0

Build Quality

Takeya Cold Brew Build Quality

9The Tritan plastic brew decanter is a high-class piece of equipment and the airtight screw top is well-designed. The long filter, however, requires more effort for cleaning. The way the filter assembles is also a little cumbersome. Additionally, the sediment test shows that the filter is not so effective if you’re careless when putting it together or if you shake the vessel too vigorously. While overall of good quality, there are more parts than we’d prefer.

Ease-of-Use

How We Rated
8.8
usability Scores
  • Brewing (45%)
    8.5/10
  • Decanting (35%)
    9.5/10
  • Cleaning and Storage (20%)
    8.0/10

A key highlight of the Takeya is how easy brewing and decanting was. The overall design is quite practical, but the filter could be fitted better. Cleaning also required a little more attention than we initially anticipated.

8.5

Brewing

Takeya Cold Brew Brewing

The Takeya cold brew coffee maker doesn’t require any gradual wetting of the grounds. Just put 170g of grounds in the filter (it should come to 2 inches from the extender rim) and you’re ready to go. 

Then, you screw on the lid and immerse it into the pitcher with 7 cups of cold water. If you prefer metric, that’s roughly 1,680 ml — about an inch from the top of the vessel. 

After inserting the filter with the grounds, we shook the container and let it sit for 10 minutes. The brewer was shaken thoroughly once again before going into the refrigerator on its side. We shook the container periodically another four times over the 18 hours of brewing. This device therefore takes a little more attention than other methods, but overall it’s quite straightforward.

A key selling point for this brewer is its airtight seal. This means coffee odors will not contaminate your refrigerator while brewing. There is also less oxidative stress, so you can store your coffee longer.

9.5

Decanting

Takeya Cold Brew Decanting

Decanting the Takeya simply means unscrewing the lid and taking out the attached filter. Next, unscrew the filter from the lid and then screw the air-tight lid back onto the pitcher.In this sense, it’s one of the most convenient immersion brewer designs. 

After removing the filter, the manufacturer recommends you place it in a tall glass for 45 min to catch remaining concentrate. You should also clean the lid of any grounds before screwing it back onto the decanter. These tips are only found on the product homepage.

As pointed out, if you fail to attach the filter extender securely, or shake the vessel too vigorously, you may have to decant the contents a second time.

When you need to decant some coffee to drink, partially unscrew the lid to align the gap to the spout. It’s safe to pick up the container by the lid handle because the lid ring remains securely attached.

8.0

Cleaning and Storage

Play video
Takeya Cold Brew Cleaning and Storage video

In total, the Takeya separates into seven cleanable parts. The online instructions state that all parts, including the filter, are dishwasher safe. We presume, however, that it would be better to not put the rubber gasket for the screwable lid into the dishwasher. For hand washing, it’s very easy to reach inside the brew vessel.

The filter itself is quite long, and was difficult to clean without a bottle brush. Without proper cleaning, over time coffee oils can clog the fine holes and produce a stale smell. For deep cleaning, you should soak in a 50/50 solution of water and white vinegar. 

Cleaning was not as straightforward as it seemed like it should be. The handle has a nice silicone sleeve for comfortable gripping. It took a little effort to remove that for cleaning and to replace it again.

Storage is easy enough because all parts screw together and you are unlikely to misplace any parts if you reassemble properly. Replacement filters can also be purchased online.