Coffee Gator Cold Brew Coffee Maker Review

Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Coffee Gator Cold Brew Coffee Maker Review
Coffee Maker type: Cold Brew

Overall Verdict

8.2
Overall Score
  • Performance (50%)
    7.2/10
  • Usability (35%)
    9.2/10
  • Design (15%)
    8.9/10

Coffee Gator is a good value cold brew coffee maker. It comes with a personalized message and an extended warranty with discounts on future purchases upon registration. The airtight lid is well-designed for easy pouring and the silicone funnel and measuring spoon make all the difference with brewing. The carafe is a good fit for any kind of refrigerator door, but the plastic-framed filter may not be for everyone. The brew itself is strong enough to drink as it is but lacks complexity and character. All in all, it’s an average-ranking brewer, but the extras are nice.

Things We Like

  • Quality of glass carafe
  • Additional spoon and funnel
  • Neat and clever lid
  • Twist to pour lid
  • Personalized extras

Things We Don’t Like

  • Grip and length of handle
  • Brew rather average

Coffee Gator is a small coffee brand that manufactures other manual coffee brewers including French press and pour-over coffee makers. They also have an espresso machine and a range of coffee paraphernalia.

Brew Quality

How We Tested
7.2
Performance Scores
  • Bouquet (10%)
    7.0/10
  • Drinkability (70%)
    7.0/10
  • Sediment (20%)
    8.0/10

The brew quality of the Coffee Gator was fairly average and much in line with other immersion brewers with a similar ratio. The brew lacked complexity overall but was drinkable enough without dilution. Hot blooming may be an option, but many people prefer a stainless steel filter for this.

7.0

Bouquet

Play video
Coffee Gator Bouquet video

The bouquet of the coffee gator was of a slightly medium strength. We detected a mild roasted note, as well as a definite woodiness. There was a slight hint of caramel. This suggested that the extraction was either average or a little under par.

7.0

Drinkability

Coffee Gator Drinkability

The Coffee Gator produced a mild to medium strength brew. It had a dominant roasted flavor, but no real complexity. The aftertaste had a very slight sourness with a watery finish. It’s a nice enough brew especially if you prefer a little sweetness added. We don’t recommend diluting it, but the addition of a little milk or mixed as a smoothie or protein drink would work fine. You may want to brew for longer than 18 hours.

8.0

Sediment

Coffee Gator Sediment

After decanting the brew, there was a moderate amount of fine granular sediment remaining. This was typical for the type of brewer and filter, or as good as one could expect. If you prefer, you can decant the brew a second time, but there is no grittiness to the final drink.

8.9
design Scores
  • Stopper / Lid (30%)
    10/10
  • Filter (40%)
    8.0/10
  • Build Quality (30%)
    9.0/10

The overall design of the Coffee Gator is simple and practical. The way the lid works is particularly nice, but the handle needs rethinking. The stainless steel measuring spoon and silicone funnel are also quite versatile in and of themselves.

In the Box

Coffee Gator in the Box
  • Box WDH: 7 x 5.1 x 12.2 inches
  • Borosilicate glass jug brewer
  • Stainless steel measuring spoon
  • Silicone funnel
  • Instruction and message card

Our first impressions of the Coffee Gator cold brew setup were very positive. The carafe has a solid look and feel, the black and white design is very catchy, and it’s not heavy to lift. The stainless steel spoon is something you won’t get with other brewers, and the silicone funnel for pouring in grounds was very thoughtful. 

We liked the personalized message card and instruction card too. The box had a seal saying ‘This product is not dishwasher safe’. The box also says if you register for a Platinum Membership, you get an additional year’s warranty, priority access to new products, discount codes, and coffee masterclass brew videos. They have full social media profiles and you can view their videos on Youtube.

Decanter

Coffee Gator Decanter
  • Heightwith Stopper Lid:
    10.2 in (260 mm)
  • Base Diameter:
    3.9 in (100 mm)
  • Width:
    6.7 in (170 mm)
  • Weight:
    19.3 oz (548 g)
  • Material:
     borosilicate glass

The decanter is of excellent quality and the glass is quite thick, but not heavy. The full capacity is 1.2 liters. The plastic neck handle screws on tightly and the only fault is the handle. It’s a little short and uncomfortable while the grip is not so secure.

10

Stopper / Lid

Coffee Gator Stopper / Lid
  • Diameter:
    4.3 in (110 mm)
  • Material:
    BPA-free plastic
  • Additional Features:
    2 white silicone gaskets

We loved the design of the Coffee Gator lid. It’s made of clear see-through plastic with a silicone gasket around the inner rim. It fits very neatly into the hole of the screw-on handle rim. The rim handle has an additional silicone gasket for proper air-tight sealing. If you turn the lid slightly to one side, the spout opens up to pour.

The lid design is very practical,  however, it’s practically identical to that of the Coffee Bear. Upon reaching out, we confirmed that there is no relationship between the two coffee brands.

8.0

Filter

Coffee Gator Filter
  • Length:
    7.8 in (200 mm)
  • Diameter:
    2.5 in (65 mm)
  • Material:
    White plastic & nylon mesh
  • Additional Features:
     Detachable base

We loved the refreshing white design of the filter, and how it clips securely into the rim. The base of the filter unscrews and comes off for cleaning. Since the brew ratio is only 1:14, and the filter had a fair amount of solid plastic, we wondered how well it would actually brew. The mesh filter seemed porous enough on first inspection.

9.0

Build Quality

Coffee Gator Build Quality

The overall build quality is really good. The carafe is solid and the lid an excellent design. On the downside, the handle lacks a solid grip and feels uncomfortable. The silicone gaskets seem good quality, and the stainless steel measuring spoon and silicone funnel add excellent value to the product.

Ease-of-Use

How We Rated
9.2
usability Scores
  • Brewing (45%)
    9.5/10
  • Decanting (35%)
    9.0/10
  • Cleaning and Storage (20%)
    9.0/10

Coffee Gator is exceptionally easy to use because of the included measuring spoon and silicone pouring funnel. The filter attaches securely and effortlessly, and the lid design is most practical. Hand cleaning is also no issue.

9.5

Brewing

Play video
Coffee Gator Brewing video
Coffee Gator Brewing

The addition of the silicone funnel and the measuring spoon made brewing practically effortless. The recommended amount of grounds is 75 g or 2.6 oz, however, we put in eight spoons to top off some of the space. One level spoon is 11 g, so the total weight was 88 g or 3.1 oz. 

The silicone funnel was also perfect for pouring water around the edges so the flow was more gentle and gradual. If you pour too fast, liquid and grounds will move up the funnel, so be careful when you take the funnel out. You can use a teaspoon to push any grounds around the edges into the filter. The lid also made for a perfect air-tight fit.

9.0

Decanting

Play video
Coffee Gator Decanting video

Like any immersion filter brew, decanting was effortless. All you need to do is pop off the lid and carefully twist loose the neck ring. We detached the filter immediately and left it to rest in a jar to collect the last few drips. After rinsing the screw-on neck ring, we immediately resealed the carafe to protect the flavor and aroma. We returned the brew to the refrigerator to await our brew score testing.

9.0

Cleaning and Storage

Play video
Coffee Gator Cleaning and Storage video

To clean the filter, you need to rinse out the grounds and then gently clean with a bottle brush and a small amount of liquid soap. We noticed a fair amount of coffee oil that required soap for cleaning. Also, the filter lost its pearly white appeal after the first brew. However, you can see the residue oil to wash off more easily than with a black-colored filter.

The carafe itself also cleans easily. We had no problem getting our hands inside, but larger hands may be a problem. You can put the glass carafe in a dishwasher, but Coffee Gator recommends hand washing.