Magic Bullet 11 Piece Set Personal Blender Review

Tina Pham
Reviewer
Tuyet Pham
Culinary Consultant
Lap Vo
Test Lead
Nguyen Ntk
Visual Specialist
Updated
Tested Methodology v1.0
Magic Bullet Personal Blender Review
Blender type: personal
Power: 250W

Overall Verdict

4.6
Overall Score
  • Performance (60%)
    2.8/10
  • Usability (15%)
    6.9/10
  • Design (25%)
    7.5/10

There are many things we don’t like about this Magic Bullet, especially when it turned out to be a dissapoting underperformer in all of our tests. The design is practical but somehow doesn’t allow for high-efficiency blending. The blender itself is also not really attractive, if not cheap and substandard. Our conclusion is that although the Magic Bullet may be a perfect fit for your low-budget, it will certainly not be a good bargain.

Things We Like

  • It is easy to use, assemble, and clean. 
  • Stainless steel extractor blades are pretty solid. 
  • BPA-free plastic cups are durable and dishwasher safe. 
  • Extra blending cups are included.

Things We Don’t Like

  • It doesn’t allow for hands-free operation. 
  • It is not suitable for blending frozen fruits or raw nuts. 
  • Motor base jumps around while operating. 
  • Build quality is not good. 
  • Its performance is inconsistent.

The Magic Bullet is a popular low-priced personal blender, but as far as our testing went, we found it isn’t as it seems on paper. Of all the machines we tested, it is the one that surprised us most. Read our hands-on review below to see how it stacks up against others.

Magic Bullet 11 Piece Set Personal Blender In-depth Review

Performance

How We Tested
2.8
Performance Scores
  • Protein Shake (40%)
    3.9/10
  • Frozen Fruit Smoothie (30%)
    0/10
  • Fibrous Greens (20%)
    6.0/10
  • Crushed Ice Cubes (10%)
    0/10

The Magic Bullet sports a 250-watt motor. This low power was not really efficient in our testing, not to mention it limits the blender’s capabilities. But this is a compromise on the inexpensive price and on the bright side, the blender may work well enough for preparing smoothies packed with fresh fruits or soaked nuts.

3.9

Protein Shake

Play video
The Magic Bullet Protein Shake Video
The Magic Bullet Protein Shake 1
Magic Bullet 11 Piece Set Protein Shake
  • Blending Time: 2 mins 10 seconds
  • Result: Very Coarse
  • Unprocessed Chunks: Yes

In this test, we spent two minutes and ten seconds with the Magic Bullet, but eventually got an undrinkable result. While all the oatmeal was broken down pretty well, most of the blueberries and almonds came out completely intact. As a result, the drink was too chunky to sip on. It also lacked the fruity flavor that our recipe prides itself on. If you want to use this blender for protein shake, we recommend just using soft ingredients.

Failed

Frozen Fruit Smoothie

Play video
The Magic Bullet Frozen Fruits Smoothie Video
The Magic Bullet Frozen Fruits Smoothie 1
Magic Bullet 11 Piece Set Frozen Fruits Smoothie
  • Blending Time: 2 minutes
  • Result: Chunky
  • Unprocessed Chunks: Yes

By our 2-minute cutoff point, the Magic Bullet couldn't fully process all the ingredients so we considered it failed the test and awarded it no points. To be fair, though, the final result was not too bad. While this blender still left behind strawberry chunks, it blended through other ingredients pretty evenly. The smoothie came out smooth; our straw didn't get clogged with hard bits after we removed the two partially blended chunks. It was just quite thin since the blending process was so long that the frozen fruit had time to thaw and diluted the overall consistency.

6.0

Fibrous Greens

Play video
The Magic Bullet Fibrous Greens Video
The Magic Bullet Fibrous Greens
The Magic Bullet Fibrous Greens 1
  • Blending Time: 20 seconds
  • Result: Coarse
  • Unprocessed Chunks: Yes

If you’re looking for a personal blender that can incorporate leafy vegetables along with other fiber-filled foods, this Magic Bullet is able to handle this challenge but will not wow you. 

In this test, its mission was to break down kale, spinach, and celery in 20 seconds. Perhaps, you will get a better result if you blend longer, but this time frame is adequate for us to evaluate this blender’s efficiency. To check the result, we drained the completed drink through a mesh strainer. That’s way, we noticed there were still a vast number of leafy chunks remaining unblended. The pulp also looked coarse and nonuniform. Still, this outcome is more impressive than those produced by its low-range counterparts.

Failed

Crushed Ice Cubes

Play video
The Magic Bullet Crushed Ice Cubes Video
The Magic Bullet Crushed Ice Cubes
The Magic Bullet Crushed Ice Cubes 1
  • Ice Fineness: Coarse
  • Amoun Tof Unblended Ice: 83% of 6 oz

Our Magic Bullet couldn’t blend through 6 oz ice cubes thoroughly not only because of its weak motor power but also because its blending cup is also too small to handle such an amount of ice. For the most part, the ice got stuck in the blade and prevented it from turning. Even when we undocked the cup and shaked it, this still couldn’t help much.

7.5
design Scores
  • Build Quality (60%)
    7.0/10
  • Extractor Blade (20%)
    6.5/10
  • Blending Cup (20%)
    10/10

The Magic Bullet has a straightforward design, and this is the only praise we can really give it. On paper, the blender is advertised to be made of high-impact plastic, but in fact, it only took us a glance to criticize its poor quality. There are also several other drawbacks and you may consider those are acceptable trade-offs given its low price. However, in the end, we assure you will certainly get uncomfortable with such limitations.

In the Box

The Magic Bullet In the Box
  • Motor base 
  • Extractor blade
  • Two blending cups 
  • One to-go lids
  • One party mug
  • Two lip rings 
  • Two resealable lids 
  • Recipe guide

Dimension

not image
  • Height
    :
    11.4" (29.0 cm)
  • Width:
    4.5" (11.4 cm)
  • Weight:
    2.0 lbs (0.9 kg)
  • Shaft Length:

The Magic Bullet is twice as small as the traditional countertop blenders so it may fit easily into your cabinet. This compact also avoids overwhelming your counter space. That being said, the whole plastic construction means the blender itself is so lightweight that it will wobble while blending.

7.0

Build Quality

The Magic Bullet Build Quality

All the parts are mostly made of plastic, making the blender look flimsy both inside and outside. Apart from lacking the sturdiness we’re after, the Magic Bullet also has a low resistance to wear and tear. It feels like a sort of thing that is easily scratched or even broken if accidentally dropped. The blade made of standard stainless steel may well grab your attention a bit more, but the issue is that it’s less solid than its competitors at the same price point — to name a few, the KOIOS. So again, the low cost shouldn’t be an excuse for this blender’s shortcomings.

6.5

Extractor Blade

The Magic Bullet Extractor Blade
  • Material:
    Stainless Steel
  • Type:
    Sharp Blade
  • Guard Material:
  • Blade Count:
    4
  • Removable:
    No
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes

The stainless steel blade has 4 prongs. It comes relatively sharp, but looks a bit fragile so it is suggested that you shouldn’t use it for blending hard ingredients without liquid. Otherwise, it may dull or even get permanently damaged.

Motor Base

The Magic Bullet  Motor Base
The Magic Bullet  Motor Base 1
The Magic Bullet  Motor Base 2
  • Rated Voltage:
    120
  • Rated Power:
    250
  • Rated Working Time:
    ≤ 1 minute
  • Automatic Overload Protection:
    Yes
  • Weight:
    1.6 lbs (0.7 kg)
  • Power Cord Length:
    2.2
  • Extra Feature:
    Silicon feet

The motor peaks around 250 watts. It is too weak to be used for ice crushing or dry blending. To make icy drinks, we recommend only using chilled ingredients. Like other personal blenders, it cannot run longer than 1 minute to avoid damages caused by overheating, though there is an internal thermal breaker that shuts off the unit when it overheats. 

The base has four silicone feet to help keep the whole blender in place while operating. However, we don’t think such add-ons are really helpful; our machine walked around on the counter in every test anyway.

10

Blending Cup

not image
  • Material:
    Plastic
  • Capacity:
    12-,16-, and 22-oz
  • Weight:
  • Dishwasher Safe:
    Yes
  • Measurement Marks:
    No
  • Suitable For:
    Small and medium batches
  • Extra Accessories:
    2 lid rings, 3 lids

In this set, you will have three blending cups. They work interchangeably with the extractor blade and two different types of lids. There are also two removable lip rings included so you may find it easier to sip your drink straight from the cup. 

The drawback is that the lids do not seal tightly to the cup. In the smoothie test, we paused several times to give the cup a shake and eventually ended up with a mess. 

Speed and Controls

not image
  • Control Type:
    N/A
  • Min Speed:
  • Max Speed:
  • Presets:
    No
  • Max Noise Level:
  • LED Display:
    No
  • Pulse Turbo Mode:
    No

The Magic Bullet is a single-speed blender working without any physical buttons. To use, you simply place the blending cup and press it down onto the motor base. You can also simulate pulse mode by pressing and releasing the cup in short intervals.

Usability

How We Rated
6.9
usability Scores
  • Hands-Free Operation (60%)
    5.8/10
  • Assembly (20%)
    10/10
  • Cleanability (20%)
    7.2/10

We cannot deny the Magic Bullet user-friendly design, but after hours of experimenting with it, we realized this blender is quite frustrating to use. More often than not, though, cleaning and assembling are effortless.

5.8

Hands-Free Operation

Play video
Magic Bullet 11 Piece Set Hands-Free Operation Video

The Magic Bullet will blend for as long as you press the cup down onto the power base. To stop blending, simply release pressure on the cup, but because of the Lock On Mode, your machine can also blend even when you take your hands off it. However, we recommend not letting it out of your sight. It is because sometimes, solid ingredients like hard nuts and root veggies can stop the blade from turning so you will need to detect and intervene this obstruction as soon as possible. In the smoothie test, we had to shake to unblock the cross blade up to 6 times.

10

Assembly

not image

There's a very shallow learning curve to get accustomed to the assembly process. To blend, you simply line up the tabs on the sealed cup with the tabs on the power base, then press it down until the desired consistency is achieved. 

You can also press down and turn the cup clockwise until the tabs lock under the lip of the power base for hands-free operation. To turn it off, just twist the cup back counter-clockwise and release the cup.

7.2

Cleanability

not image

Cleaning all the pieces is a snap, especially when the cups and lids are top-rack dishwasher safe, but that didn’t save us much cleanup time. Because of leakage, the motor base got dirty after nearly every blend, though we could easily wipe away the gunk with a damp cloth. Not only that, but the blade’s backsides also caused us a hard time for a thorough hand cleaning so we recommend using a straw-cleaning brush.